Journey into Imagination with Figment reviews

Future World, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 5.6 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 5.6  
"Original Version was way better than this awful replacement!"
Reviewed on Jan 12, 2014 by Noah
Rating: 1  
The original version of this ride was great! It had beautiful animatronics, scenery, and music. The characters were lovable and memorable. And the ride overall was brilliant! Now it sucks!! The current version of his ride is boring, dark as short! Barely any animatronics, barely any scenery, and a boring theme! Dr. Nigel Channing is a HORRIBLE replacement for Dreamfinder and the ride is now about the senses! What?! Isn't it supposed to be about Imagination?! Disney made a huge mistake in changing this ride! I hope Disney brings back the original version of this ride soon because this version is a disgrace to Figment fans worldwide! What a horrendous replacement! Watch a video of the original version and then ride the new version! You'll see exactly what I'm talking about! I suggest to please go to customer relations and to tell them how much this version sucks and how much you'd like the original version back.
"Just plain bad."
Reviewed on Aug 05, 2013 by Dan
Rating: 3  
It is just a very bad ride, the worst dark ride on WDW property. First off it is boring. Figment is not funny and quite irritable. There is a very disgusting and unneeded skunk smell. And finally it is a shadow of the original Imagination ride which had the Dreamfinder.
"my opinion"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2013 by Steve
Rating: 7  
Well I'm giving this a 7/10. I do love Figment a lot but after watching the original 80s version. I feel like that today Disney should do something to make it back to the 80s version once again. From what I heard in the original ride, the way that the track was set with the cars settings seemed a bit off and had technical difficulties causing it to be renovated (again I don't know, I just heard about it) so if that was the case, I can see Disney trying to solve it now and days since this is the future with broader technology and possibly many people to figure this out. If they do bring the original back hopefully, I guaranteed there will be more positive feedback on the ride as well over hundreds to thousands of people REALLY want it back to its original version. I would love to ride on the original version, seeing the murals on the walls of Figment while waiting on the line and especially meeting Dreamfinder and Figment together at the end of the ride, even going through the original imageworks and venture around there. I am sure just seeing all that will bring a huge chunk of the audience back wanting to ride it twice as much. So in conclusion, today's ride is alright but not as good as the 80s version. Disney if you could listen to me and as well as several hundred to thousands of others... Please bring the original version back. This is what the audience want back, Dreamfinder and how the ride used to be from back then. Back in the 80s it showed everyone of imagination a lot better than its current version today.
"Not much imagination in this downgrade of it's original"
Reviewed on May 09, 2013 by Chrissy
Rating: 3  
I don't understand why Disney got rid of such a wonderful ride. I was disappointed at a returning trip to epcot to see they got ride of the original ride in imagination for a dull, almost cheap seeming replacement.
"Fun once for kids. "
Reviewed on Nov 27, 2012 by Crutnacker
Rating: 6  
Figment is a rather unimaginative trip into the imagination starring Eric Idle. The preshow actually seems to have more creativity than the rather lame setup of this ride, which has a dragonlike character named Figment ruining the creative labs of Eric Idle's character. Like many rides we've seen this go around at Disney, there is some obvious aging and wear that needs to be addressed. The first thing you notice here is a completely faded picture of Idle and Figment that looks like it's been hanging there since 1985. It's cute, but slight.
"Figment"
Reviewed on Jan 24, 2012 by Silver Figment
Rating: 9  
Although i'd love to give this ride a 10/10 i can't. I feel like it could be so much more and when you compare it too the original it looks even worse. The ride isn't all bad though. It has a little charm and contains a wonderful Disney character who isn't known well enough. Figment is probably the only reason i give this ride a 9/10.
"FIGMENT !"
Reviewed on Dec 04, 2011 by DisneyloverJMH
Rating: 8  
It is a great ride for young kids there is usually about a 5 to 10 minute wait at peak season mabye about a 20 min wait. figment is a great disney charachter but isn't well known he is super funny.
"Must Do At Least Once"
Reviewed on Jul 25, 2011 by HakunaMatata11
Rating: 6  
Though I would never classify it as a masterpiece, it is something to do at least once.

Young children tend to like it and find it amusing. And even I enjoy riding it as least once.

The song can get stuck in your head long after you have gotten off the ride. And there is nothing overly exciting about the ride itself.

Yet, it is a fun and enjoyable ride that is air conditioned. If you are planning your trip during the hot summer months and need a ride to keep you cool, it is a good choice.

After the ride there is a interactive fun zone that the kids and even adults can enjoy. And a great place to stay out of the heat and the rain.

Ride it... but maybe only once.
"My wife likes it."
Reviewed on Jul 03, 2011 by zacopeland18
Rating: 5  
The song is really annoying. Figment the dragon is really annoying, but my wife likes it so we go.
"A forgotten gem"
Reviewed on May 19, 2011 by Par4jh
Rating: 8  
This ride no matter what the time is almays has a little to no wait. You start your journey off a science lap where a professor teaches you all about your senses. Your ride then ets hijacked by a science experament. He tells you what your "REAL SENSES" are. Great ride with a song almost as catchy as its a small world. Good ride to get out of the florida sun.
"I like ti think if the ride as a saga"
Reviewed on Nov 02, 2010 by themeparkpioner
Rating: 10  
I still like to pay figment a visit. I like think of Imagination as a saga. Dreamfinder does his job by telling Figment what the imagination is all about then they pass their separate ways and dreamfinder passes on his legacy.
"I like ti think if the ride as a saga"
Reviewed on Nov 02, 2010 by themeparkpioner
Rating: 10  
I still like to pay figment a visit. I like think of Imagination as a saga. Dreamfinder does his job by telling Figment what the imagination is all about then they pass their separate ways and dreamfinder passes on his legacy.
"Just a Waste of Space"
Reviewed on Jun 23, 2010 by mandstaft
Rating: 1  
Version 2 was not worth the time and a waste of a beutiful and original concept from the opening of the park. Version three is slightly better. Time for version number 4.
"Extremely terrible update(s) of an already perfect original. "
Reviewed on Nov 10, 2009 by 
Rating: 1  
Warning: this is a rant.

Change is good? I have never agreed with that. If it isn't pristine fields and forests being cut down and plowed over to throw up another nature-eating housing or business development, it's Disney ripping out one of the best and most colorful and fun rides they ever created to replace it with not one, but two colossal failures!! I truly liken it to what it would have been like with them replacing every familiar scene in Pirates of the Carribean with a completely lame movie-tie in with jack sparrow everywhere. Could you imagine that? How gut-wrenchingly sad that would be? They already tampered with Pirates to get Jack in the scenes, and truly ruined The River Of Time in Mexico by cramming Donald and the birds in there for a pointless blast of noise and color. That ride was a historical learning experience about the culture of Mexico...not a kid's ride anyway. People go back to Disney for the nostalgia of what they saw as a child...not to see everything they loved changed and rehashed for today's tweens.

Anyway, Journey into Imagination was never as famous or popular as Pirates, but it was as good as for it's theme. I cannot believe how both the second and third iteration of this ride not only got thought of by an Imagineer, but got passed by the board. Or for that matter, why the Disney Powers That Be decided this charming and colorful ride needed to be changed in the first place. (I guess that stink cloud that blasts you was a ride-representation of the one that affected the designer's brain)

If ever Disney needed to undo the damage they have done, this ride is first in line.

(On a rare Good Change note: Spaceship Earth changed, but in a rare GOOD way...the entire ride was left intact, except for the addition of interactive computers on the seats with a VERY fun and innovative point to them, and the exit room of the ride is awesome! This is a great addition to an already perfect ride.)
"interesting ride"
Reviewed on Nov 05, 2009 by 24601
Rating: 8  
I find it to be interesting and fun. the upside down open house is awesome and figment is a reall cool little dinosaur thing! I would recomend this ride to otheres :-)
"ahh its upside down!"
Reviewed on Jul 24, 2009 by rustysgirl
Rating: 10  
Figment is so cute. the upside down part is a cute idea, & i like the senses part. although getting to the touch sense i was afraid something was gonna come out and touch me haha. But this ride doesnt last very long which i dont like, that being my only gripe its a cute ride to experience. also i like when you're walking through before u get to the ride itself, the doors with the flubber & honey i shrunk the kids movies. those ideas were pretty cool. plus when u get off the ride, the little walkthrough area is entertaining. we took a silly picture on one of their little machines and sent it to our email address to show our family back home. A MUST SEE ATTRACTION IN ALL!
"Journey Into Imagination With Figment... okay"
Reviewed on Feb 17, 2009 by Jasonflz
Rating: 7  
I have never experienced the original version so I did not have any low expectations with this ride. After riding a few times I came to the conclusion that it was an okay ride. Families will have alot to enjoy as JIWF has an adorable character and a fun tune. Otherwise, this attraction is very short and not as interesting once you have rode it a few times already. The lines are usually short so anytime is a good time, mostly when you are waiting for another attraction with Fastpass.
Overall: 7.8/10 stars
"Horrible"
Reviewed on Nov 03, 2008 by BrownDerby07
Rating: 1  
Figment is a rather obnoxious character and this ride was boring. I miss the old one with Dreamfinder.
"Disney's Best Sleeper Attraction"
Reviewed on Oct 16, 2008 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 9  
And no, by sleeper I don't mean it will make you fall asleep. I mean it is laid back.

This attraction is charming, playful, and has one of Disney's most memorable, adorable characters: Figment. You are on a tour through the Imagination Institute. The stuffy scientist is trying to demonstrate how imagination ought to be controlled, but "Figment of the Imagination" is dedicated to proving that imagination should be set free!

Yes it's corny, but that's the point. Get in the Disney spririt and enjoy the catchy song, simple yet intriguing technology, and childish theme.
"Meh."
Reviewed on Jul 29, 2008 by monorail_silver
Rating: 2  
Pros : No lines.

Cons : Everything else.

They really ruined this pavillion, it used to be such a cute ride with dreamfinder and figment. Ok so it's slightly better then when there was no figment at all on the ride, but come on. If you have extra time and little ones head over to the Imagination Institute.
"Oh come on, it's not THAT bad."
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2007 by Miss Stitch
Rating: 8  
When you compare this to the other ride, of course it will seem bad..but you have to think about the people coming to Disney for the first time, or those that didn't get to see the original.

In which case, it's a very fun ride, no lines, and a great rest for your feet. Pretty humorous, the kids will love it. :) And afterwards, there's a fun play place that everyone can enjoy.
"Okay at the start but just stupid now!"
Reviewed on Jun 30, 2007 by starwood
Rating: 2  
The ride was good when we first saw it, but now it's just stupid. Definitly better than the 2nd version of the ride, but we need the dreamfinder and the old ride back!
"old version back please "
Reviewed on Apr 23, 2007 by xx_lilo_xx
Rating: 7  
i loved the old version on figment and was told it was not going to that much diffrent than that one when i was being redone, but was disapoited at the new on and the less amount of toys to play with after it, BRING BACK fingment!!!!
"no title"
Reviewed on Apr 17, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 7  
True, it isn't nearly what the original was, but this is defenatly way better than the one it replaced. Figment is good, but what happened to that dreamfinder guy? Overall this verision of Imagination is good though, we ride it a few times every visit.
"Disapointment "
Reviewed on Apr 07, 2007 by epcot12
Rating: 4  
The original jiiwf was ausome but now ........ well the ride scares small children and me
"I want the Orig Figment!"
Reviewed on Apr 26, 2006 by hokielutz
Rating: Not rated  
Overall I really didn\'t like this version of JII. Call me selfish, but I longed for the original attraction of my youth. There was one time on the ride back in the 80\'s that everything shut down before we were evacuated, but it didn\'t stop me from riding it again in the future.
Anyway, Kids of today may like it or may find it is a little likeable and a bit boring. I feel none of the two rehabs they did holds a candle to their original Imagineering design. If they only tweaked some of the original effects and sets... Oh well ... just selfish dreaming on my part
"mediocre"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
Never been on the original or 2nd version, only the 3rd. It's cheap looking, a bit noisy at one point, but occasionally cute. I like Eric Idle as Nigel Channing both here and in the 3D movie next door. I don't have much of an attachment to Figment, and with no point of reference to how bad the 2nd version of this ride supposedly was, I can only say that on the whole, this is a mediocre ride at best.
"Nice ride"
Reviewed on Dec 10, 2004 by DDuckFan130
Rating: Not rated  
I loved the original, and I love this version. There's plenty of Figment, and he makes it more enjoyable. There's never a line, so if you have a chance, check it out.
"Nothing compared to the 1"
Reviewed on Feb 10, 2004 by HyperKC
Rating: Not rated  
I have to say the ride it self is a lot better than the second version. I am glad that they brought figment back, but it still does ot even come close to the first. The post area is the worst thing ever though. It used to be my favorite thing to do in Epcot when i was little. Now it is boring. They NEED to bring back everything from the first one, they could update it and it would be great again.
"good but not great"
Reviewed on Jan 15, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
I miss the original, though this version is better than the 2nd. it is a good concept for a ride, but it replaces something that I used to love as one of my favorite rides. kids will love it, though they never knew the original, and the post show is pretty cool. I do miss the rainbow room. once I put the nostalgic feelings aside, I am ok and I like the ride.
"A nice surprise"
Reviewed on Nov 15, 2003 by imagineer boy
Rating: Not rated  
This is definately an improvement over the last version, but not as good as the original. I thought it was very funny, and the only time I though Figment was a bit too obnoxiouse was when he smells Nigel Channing's Armpits and licks him on the cheek. Like somone else said, its about trying to let your imagination soar instead of controling it. It laughed out loud when Figment said "Imagination is such a blast!" BANG!!!!!!!!!!!! I do think they could've done more with all the extra space, but that's for another time.
"Lack of Imagination"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2003 by foxfire
Rating: Not rated  
Ugh. Sorry to be so blunt, but if possible, I consider this worse than the interim ride through the Imagination Institute. I tend to agree with others--Figment was rude & obnoxious...no "Dash of childish delight" this time around. I would gladly front Disney the money to restore this ride to its original form. Personally, this stunk more than the skunk scent in the Smell Lab.
"Terrible, just awful."
Reviewed on Feb 19, 2003 by Walter
Rating: Not rated  
Figment is my very favorite Disney character, and, when I heard that he would be injected back into JII, I couldn't have been happier. Well, it's awful. I rode it the day of the soft opening, and I couldn't have been more upset at this wretched, godawful piece of trash.
"No Magic"
Reviewed on Jan 01, 2003 by Snapper Bean
Rating: Not rated  
I can't say I enjoyed this very much at all. My children are 2 and 5 and frankly, the sudden loud noises and smells scared them. I don't understand the emphasis on eliminating all of the Omnimover rides at Epcot. This was an uneven ride. I have no problem doing the same ride over and over again if it is a pleasant distraction. I had no interest in doing this again. I have no problem with changing rides and improving them. This one was not an improvement.
"Not bad!!!"
Reviewed on Nov 01, 2002 by animegirllover
Rating: Not rated  
Not bad at all, because I love Figment because he appears now because it was retooled & now it's back to the new one!!! I'm back & I'm ready to see Figment!!!
"FORGET"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
THE ORGINAL WAS DATED , THIS WAS DONE ON THE CHEAP AND JUST PLAIN SUCKS.
"One little spark!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by Genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
Figments back, and better then ever.The ride is about figment, a creature that is part of your imagination. You experiment with sight,sound, touch, smell, etc.Figment is a great ride for little kids, and has a very catchy theme.Although figment has changed through the years, this time it seems to be better then the last. A trip to Epcot wouldnt be complete without one little spark of imagination...on Journey to imagination!
"..."
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2002 by robvandam
Rating: Not rated  
not that bad but alot better then JIYI with no figment .. however , dreamfinder would be nice since i dont remember much about him :(
"First is best...."
Reviewed on Aug 26, 2002 by tinkerbell9988
Rating: Not rated  
I miss the ORIGINAL JII... Don't even get me started with this one!!! I'm just glad Figment is back. I think he had some sort of bad attitude adjustment while he was on vacation..... ;)
"A Figment of Imagination"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
Finally a winner! After the disappointing Journey into your Imagination Disney finally has a good ride to fit with the Imagination Institute theme that works so well next door at Honey I Shrunk the Audience. The ride takes you on a tour of the Institute with Nigel Channing and the classic EPCOT character Figment. Throughout the ride they have a clash in their opinions on Imagination, with Figment winning in the end. The ride is cute, the theming is much better than the previous redo and possibly the original (although it might be too close to tell). Definatly worth a look, especially with kids.
"Not too imaginative"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
I miss the original. Even though I prefer this over the Journey into YOUR Imagination, I still am upset with the shortness and Figment's new attitude. I won't get into it...but he's pretty much arrogant this year. I still argue - Figment's NOT back. Sure, you may see a purple Dragon-like creature. But when examining the rascal in this attraction, we notice his self-centerness...pestiness...he almost resembles Bugs Bunny. Therefore, as Figment's spirit has changed (spirit is what creates the character), Figment is not back. Just an opinion... I really prefered the innocent and ambitious original... *sigh* This quick attraction takes us into the Imagination Institute, and is pretty fun. But for the 21st century, it's not very good. As an attraction, it could have been built in the 60s. The original Imagination, now THAT'S 21st Century technology! I am dissappointed at this attraction, and am awaiting the next Imagination change...hopefully a big one...a decade or more from now. The Image Works is a mess now. I even won't get into that.
"Much better!!"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by wdwcrazy
Rating: Not rated  
This suprisingly a very good attraction. This is the second time they've re-done this attraction. The last one was horribly boring. In this attraction Figment causes trouble as Dr.Nigel Channing tries to take you on a tour of the imagination labs. Figment tells you to let your imagtion run free instead of trying to control it. They added new music to the attraction which really adds to it. There are also new Figments audio-anamatronics. Overall this is a very nice attraction, kids will especailly enjoy it.
"Brand New Attraction, No Long Lines???"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2002 by Lance
Rating: Not rated  
Ok, I went into Epcot one day(very early, it was 9:15AM), went straight to Test Track to get my fastpass. After that, I headed for the Imagination pavilion, I thought I'd see what they did with the new JII. I walked right onto JII, my own car, and my own row of the 4 vehicles that go at one time. Now the beginning was probably the best part, cause you get to spin about 90 degrees to watch a movie. Then you go through all the different "labs" of the imagination institute. Their is plenty of Figment, but it just don't feel right.....maybe because I'm no longer 8 years old? I don't know, but I know one thing, I went on it that one time, and I will never have to do it again.
Journey into Imagination with Figment
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site