Jim Henson's MuppetVision 3-D reviews

Disney's Hollywood Studios
Reader rating Reader rating 8.1 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.1  
""Classic 3-D Show""
Reviewed on Nov 30, 2012 by A113PoCfan
Rating: 10  
I love the Muppets, so this is always a fun show for me to see! Even if you don't like the Muppets this show will make you laugh! Although it's age is beginning to show, this is one of the Studio's best attractions. Be sure to check out all the cool stuff in the pre-show!
"Disney Magic Closed for Repairs"
Reviewed on Nov 27, 2012 by Crutnacker
Rating: 4  
I have always enjoyed the "4D" attractions at Disney, but it seems as though Disney's maintenance program involves making sure the film is running in the projector. When we saw this today, the water spraying gag was completely gone, the bubble machine appeared to be working only for the left side of the theater, and the entire show seemed rather effectless beyond what was on the screen. This most recent trip to Disney has shown a disappointing lack of attention to detail that used to be the hallmark of Disney World. It's better than it being closed, but still.
"Love it! Needs an overhaul, though."
Reviewed on May 11, 2012 by Easy Rover
Rating: 8  
I've always loved this attraction yet it is outdated and should be updated and revamped, much like Star Tours. Remember, this was the same film from over twenty years ago!
"Hilarious"
Reviewed on Jun 29, 2011 by POTC
Rating: 10  
-Ladies and gentlemen, we have an unexpected suprise. I, have the great honor in introducing, the one, the only, Mr. Mickey Mouse!
-Dah, dah, dah, dah, dah, dada! Hello! Hi there! Welcome to my park! How you doin'? Hello!
-Whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa! You're not Mickey Mouse, you are a rat!
-Rat, shmat! Besides, they're tourists, what do they know?

This show is probably the funniest at Walt Disney World and is a must do during every visit!!!
"good fun"
Reviewed on May 17, 2011 by Hot4Hudgens
Rating: 6  
Like most shows in DHS, this one is a bit dated. It's still fun for just about anyone, but could use some attention. The upcoming movie would be the perfect opportunity to do so as the Muppets would establish themselves with a younger generation of park/movie-goers.
"a classic....."
Reviewed on Oct 14, 2010 by NewJersey22
Rating: 10  
I hope with the new movie coming out soon that this attraction gets more attention. Unlike 20 years ago Disney now owns the Muppets so hopefully there is a big push and an updated show, like they are doing with Star Tours.
"A classic, but..."
Reviewed on Apr 18, 2010 by Orpheus7696
Rating: 8  
I hope this show never leaves because there is not a whole lot up
muppets out there. I think it needs better 3-D and some updating.
"Great show"
Reviewed on Apr 12, 2009 by leafs fan
Rating: 8  
Love the Muppets and I love this show. Wished they used a little more 3D, but the show itself is worth it.
"An all-time favorite"
Reviewed on Mar 03, 2009 by Penguinmom
Rating: 9  
I LOVE the Muppets, and I love this show. Unfortunately, as other reviewers have noted, it seems to be getting a little worse for wear. I really hope that it gets some TLC/spiffed up for the coming years, but it's still a great, entertaining, and hilarious show! Well worth seeing!
"Just to Clear Things Up..."
Reviewed on Oct 16, 2008 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 10  
The reason the rating on this is so low is because many of the reviews are from before there were WDWMagic ratings and thus they are given automatic zeroes.

Hilarious, juvenile, and playful. It will put a smile on your face.
"Hillarious!"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 9  
From the pre-show on, this had us cracking up! DW and I are classic Muppets fans. Me more than her, probably. We loved it. It was a great way to start our day at DHS!
"Best Show in WDW"
Reviewed on May 08, 2008 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 10  
I consider the Muppets to be the best show in Disney and the #2 attraction overall. The array of special effects are dazzling, the preshow is the most creative and the funniest at any theme park, and it's all light-hearted fun. The 3D technology is beginning to show its age, but the experience is so immersive you'll forget that quickly.
"Time for new MuppetVision?"
Reviewed on May 06, 2008 by emba33
Rating: 7  
Hi folks ... I am all for keeping the old standards. I love the theming and I love the muppets. The 3D is okay, but the screen flickers noticably ... there are lines in the film (at times).

The waiting area is cool --- and the idea of a pre-show was great for that time --- but it's not quite as clever or cutting edge of a pre-show like Monsters Inc Laugh Floor. The water didn't even squirt (as expected) ... and the lighting effects for the fireworks etc seem a little dated.

I love the Muppets ... and would love to see a new MuppetVision presentation --- and no need to add a gimicky computer generated non-muppet who doesn't exactly fit.

I love the guys in the seats and the animatronic Muppet --- I say ... more Swedish Chef ... or at very least ... add a few more effects.

/\/\/\/\ Emba 33 /\/\/\/\
"3D masterpiece"
Reviewed on Sep 23, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 10  
Muppetvision is hilarious from the preshow to the actual theater. THe effects are realistic but sort of old. The storyline is great. The whole thing is a blast. A must see! One of the best 3D show at WDW.
":)"
Reviewed on Feb 07, 2007 by DisneyFaNatic1
Rating: 10  
:)
"Seats are TOO SMALL"
Reviewed on Feb 05, 2007 by Madam Leota
Rating: 1  
I love the muppets. I was so excited as I went into this great theater and then, I got to the seats.

What is up with Disney putting in all these really small seats? Why not just put in long benches like in the Country Bears or Hall of Presidents? You still get the same number of people, maybe even more, instead of these little seats that are so uncomfortable that your more focused on how bad your hips are hurting than the show.

Again, another great show that I won't be going back to because the seats are too small for people that are heavy or have any size to them.
"Fun but no Bugs"
Reviewed on Jan 29, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
Ok, now this really is a good 3D show. Make no mistakes, you will have a ball and kids will bein heaven, but it's no Tough to be a Bug.

One lovely moment...Miss Piggy singing and falling bubbles! One Two Three...ahhhhhhhhhh!

"It's the Muppets"
Reviewed on Sep 27, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
Not a great storyline, and I disliked that the camera wasn't stationary. In other words, it didn't look as if the screen were an actual stage like in Honey I Shrunk the Audience and It's Tough To Be A Bug. Nevertheless, I enjoy anything w/ the Muppets, and I try to see this out in Anaheim as much as I can.
SPOILER AHEAD!! -- Favorite line in any attraction;
Waldorf "Hey look at the guy w/ the Goofy mask!"
Stadler "Uh, that's not a mask."
Waldorf "Oh, sorry lady!"
"Cute Show"
Reviewed on Dec 03, 2004 by DDuckFan130
Rating: Not rated  
I just saw this show after I don't know how many years and I forgot how cute it was. The pre-show kept us laughing and the show was also a lot of fun. The only problem I see with it is that it definitely needs some updating or tuning up. Anyhoo, definitely a good show for the entire family.
"Time for a change"
Reviewed on Jun 13, 2004 by WDWFred
Rating: Not rated  
The preshow seems to have aged better than than 3-d movie.If you haven't seen it go but it does get old quickly. Would be nice to be updated to keep up with the newer wdw 3-d's
"FUN!!!"
Reviewed on Apr 11, 2004 by Chape19714
Rating: Not rated  
Comparable to PhilharMagic. Great fun for the whole family!!! The effects and jokes are enough to keep both kids and adults alike happy.
"So funny"
Reviewed on Feb 23, 2004 by BoboJacks
Rating: Not rated  
One of the more enjoyable rides, funny, kid friendly, and great preshow. Not to mention a nice break from the hot sun
"Can't beat the Muppets!"
Reviewed on Dec 03, 2003 by matt88mph
Rating: Not rated  
Hey, all I can say is MuppetVision 3-D is and hopefully always will be my favorite 3-D show in all of WDW. A sad little sidenote: This was one of Jim Henson's last pieces of work with the Muppets. He is missed and will be greatly remembered
"Best Show for Kids"
Reviewed on Nov 13, 2003 by DVCMommy
Rating: Not rated  
This is the best attraction for children of all ages! I highly recommend this as the first stop after Playhouse Disney for parents of young kids.
"MUPPET MAGIC"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2003 by thedisneyfan
Rating: Not rated  
This is one of the best attractions at MGM-Studios! Alright already----please buy the Muppets! This has one of the best pre-show/que areas in all of WDW! You should skip the first available show to look all around the adorable pre-show/que area! The theming, story, and 3D effects are awesome. A must do every visit. I love the Pittsburgh joke!
"Don't Miss IT"
Reviewed on Aug 13, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
If you like (or love) the Muppets, you won't want to miss this. Even if you've never seen a Muppet in your life, you'll enjoy this sweet 3-D show. The whole cast is there, and pitch perfect! Don't miss it!
"GREAT FUN!!!"
Reviewed on Apr 26, 2003 by blackride
Rating: Not rated  
Great fun. This is a ride for the whole family to enjoy....
"Muppet-tational!"
Reviewed on Oct 28, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
This is one of my all-time favorite attractions at the Disney-MGM Studios. The queue area is always entertaining, from the props to the constant TV Preshow. The 3-D presentation is purely entertaining; an orchestra of penguins, the heckling Muppets in the balcony, the mix of AAs and complex SFX, and even the blowing up of the theater. A quality attraction!
"It will make you smile"
Reviewed on Oct 11, 2002 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
This is a great attraction, but with the additions of "It's Tough to be a Bug" and "Honey" the effects already seem outdated. This by far is the most kid friendly. You will definatley leave having a smile on your face, but I believe the other two 3-d shows are better.
"Don't miss this!"
Reviewed on Oct 05, 2002 by EthylCooper
Rating: Not rated  
This is *the* best 3D show on Disney property, and with Honey, I Shrunk the Audience and Tough to be a Bug as competition, that's really saying something. Even non-Muppet-fans will enjoy this, but true Muppet lovers will find themselves in a vast heaven of Muppety silliness. If you have the time, stop and read *everything*. There are fun posters all down and back up the long queuing area on the side, fun doors to read as you go into the preshow area, and tons of crates to read and fun props to look at in the preshow area. Keep going back...you'll keep finding new things. There are lots of little unexpected Muppet touches all over the building, too. This has IMHO the best and most intricately designed preshow and queue areas in all of WDW. And for a hardcore Muppet Show fan, nothing compares to when you step into that theatre for the very first time.
"Hilarious!"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2002 by Brett
Rating: Not rated  
Even with It's Tough to Be A Bug, in my humble opinion, the Muppet's are still kings of the 3D movies. With tons of jokes and memorable characters, these guys put on a great show. The pre-show may be the best part of the whole experience. Try to get there right when the pre-show starts and you'll be entertained and won't even realize you'll still in line for the true attraction. The only thing this ride needs is a possible update. And with the anniversary of the Muppet Show coming up, it would be a great time. Plus, it would great having Pepe in the act.
"Great 3-D Show"
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2002 by SJTSmith
Rating: Not rated  
This is a great 3-D show. If you love the Muppets it is a must see and if you like 3-D shows it is a must see. It is a great show for all ages. There are some loud noises, so if you have kids that don't like loud noises you might want to avoid this attraction.
"Best Pre-Show"
Reviewed on Sep 04, 2002 by Buzz Lightyear
Rating: Not rated  
I give this an overall excellent rating for the pre-show. Very funny. Good show also.
"Never Gets Old"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by WDW-Imagineer
Rating: Not rated  
Very funny and exciting show. You can see it a hundred times and it will never get old. Awesome show and very well done.
"MUPPETS RULE"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
THE PRE-SHOW WAS WORTH THE WAIT.I LOVE 3-D SO I HAVE BEEN BACK SEVERAL TIMES. LET PEOPLE ENTER AHEAD OF YOU SO YOU WILL SET IN THE MIDDLE FOR BEST VIEWING.
"WDW's Best 3-D Movie"
Reviewed on Aug 26, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
This is the oldest and best 3-D movie still playing at Walt Disney World. The effects are spectacular combining not only a wonderful film but plenty of in theater effects, live performers, audio-animatronic characters, and all the zaniness you would expect from the Muppets. The pershow is one of Walt Disney World's best making your wait almost as fun as the actual attratcion.
"Excellent! A Must-See!"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
The combination of Jim Henson's Muppets and Walt Disney World's Disney-MGM Studios makes for one of the best attractions in WDW and one of the best 3-D attractions around. Using various techniques including animatronics, live characters, and 3-D characters the show is a tremendous amount of fun. Don't forget to check out old geezers Statler and Waldorf in the balcony as they insult the program and turn around to see the Swedish Chef as he gets involved in the zany mishaps. Truly a great show.
"I Love the Muppets!"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
Simply put, this is THE funniest attraction in all of WDW. Kermit and the gang provide a humorous pre-show (watch for Rizzo the Rat) and a side-splitting in theater show. Statler and Waldorf join you in the theater (in their classic balcony seats) and add witty commentary along the way.
Jim Henson's MuppetVision 3-D
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site