Japan (Pavilion) reviews

World Showcase, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 8.3 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.3  
"FUN!!!!"
Reviewed on Feb 22, 2011 by 
Rating: 9  
I reccomend going into the giftshop in Japan. There is a place where you can open oyster and get a pearl. I did that and it was sooooo fun. You can keep a pearl by itself or you can get a ring, necklace, etc. It is a great souvenir
"Pearl Fun"
Reviewed on Feb 22, 2011 by VDisneyFan18
Rating: 7  
I reccomend going into the toystore. It is sort of hidden but its worth finding. I opened an oyster and recieved a pearl. You get to keep it. It can be left the way it is or you can put it on a bracelet, necklace, ect. It is a great souvenir with a great story!!!!!!!! I really reccomend it.
"great"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
great food, shops, and beautiful set up makes it ideal to sit and relax. also there is a lady who sculpts candy with her bare hands!!! beautifully done, and is a must watch, you can even recieve one!!!
"Japan"
Reviewed on Mar 17, 2008 by MEEE
Rating: 8  
The Japenese structures look great but there aren't a lot of attractions in Japan. A ride or show would improve the place a lot.
"Gardens Are Divine!"
Reviewed on Nov 16, 2007 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 8  
The gardens here are the best and the only one in World Showcase in which EVERY SINGLE plant is native to Japan. The rest of the pavilion has no big negatives and the architecture is an Imagineers dream - lots of forced perspective and landscaping effects.
"Excellent!!!"
Reviewed on May 10, 2007 by KevGuy
Rating: 8  
Great theming and the food was also great. Had sushi for the first time ever and boy that wasabi sure is hot lol!! Kirin beer was also surprisingly good. But I had a little too much saki lol.
"Beautiful"
Reviewed on Mar 03, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
The attention to detail here is great. Just such a beautiful area to walk around and some great food too.
"Japanese pop"
Reviewed on Oct 09, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
While I wish that every pavilion had a ride or show, I guess I don't mind it when they don't. Japan was supposed to get Meet the World for a while, then they were supposed to get a Mt. Fuji roller coaster, but that rumor's been around for years. Oh well.

One of the things I really appreciate is that the exhibits here aren't just historical. The last one we saw was about Japanese toys, and someone else mentioned the one about baseball. I think it's great they do things on the fascinating world of Japanese pop culture. It used to be that all things American were a huge influence on Japanese pop culture, but these days the reverse is slowly happening where it's Japan having an influence on American youth -- increasing anime style cartoons, Japanese baseball players, fashion (think Gwen Stefani's song Harjuku Girls), etc. I even heard a song the other day on the local top 40 station that was sung entirely in Japanese.
"peace"
Reviewed on Jan 15, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
I love stepping into Japan, and the merch, food, and atmosphere is wonderful. I love the pond by the yakatori house!
"Very pretty"
Reviewed on Jul 04, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
The Japan pavilion has lovely gardens and a very serene atmosphere. They have drummers who perform, so don't miss them if you have the chance to watch. I really like the Mitsukoshi Department store, there's a wide variety of very interesting Japan themed items like tea sets and snack foods and such. And some very interesting Winnie the Pooh items you can only get there.
"Japanese"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
Not one of my favorite pavillions. The gardens are pretty and restaurants are nice, but the shop doesn't seem to have too much of intrest to westerners, the ehibits are usually on the strange size (it was one on Japanes warriors and baseball when I saw it last), and the enertainment is usually no where neer as interesting as the other pavillions. Worth at least a quick peek.
"OK"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
A LOT OF SUBTLE THINGS TO SEE . BE SURE YOU CHECK OUT EVERYTHING TOWARDS THE BACK IF YOU LIKE THINGS FROM JAPAN
"Not much to do"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
The area is lovely, but there isn't much in the makeup of the pavilion. Originally intended was a carousel theater of Japanese progress, but this was later cut and used in Tokyo Disneyland. A "Screaming" attraction may make it to Japan. Overall, it's a lovely area, but other than the live drum players, much usually doesn't go on here.
Japan (Pavilion)
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site