'It's Tough to be a Bug' reviews

Discovery Island, Disney's Animal Kingdom
Reader rating Reader rating 8.6 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.6  
"HATE it!"
Reviewed on Aug 20, 2012 by BeautifulTomorrow
Rating: 5  
Yes, it's a good show, but I am not one for things jumping out at me or poking me in the back. Plus, I hate bugs. Therefore, if you're like me, avoid this ride!!
"Best 3D/4D show at Disney."
Reviewed on Jul 03, 2011 by zacopeland18
Rating: 9  
Really fun! Sometimes scary! We had a great time. I actually jumped out of my seat at one point!
"Buzz on over"
Reviewed on May 17, 2011 by Hot4Hudgens
Rating: 7  
Always one of the first spot I hit at AK, if not THE first. Never a line, but the shade is never a bad thing in the case that you do have to wait. Fun show to check out, but it may be a bit much for the younger crowd (5-6 & under)
"Best 4D show"
Reviewed on May 27, 2010 by Batphobic
Rating: 10  
I judge every 4D show now against this one. Other venues have 4D. We even went to London recently and they had a "4D" movie you watch before going on the London Eye... and I compared it against the gold standard, Animal Kingdom's Tough to be a bug. Nothing compares. The visuals are stunning, the interplay between on-screen elements and animatronics elements is just awesome. It is a little scary for little ones at times. The first time I went to Animal Kingdom I left thinking this was one of the best attractions in the whole park.
"Hope this helps"
Reviewed on Apr 14, 2009 by Cityman
Rating: 8  
It seems like all parks, Disney or not, are getting into the 3D/4D movie thing. They must be popular or all the parks wouldn't be doing them. I was not going to do any movies at first because that's not why I go to parks but if you can get to this with little or no wait then it will add fun to your time in Animal Kingdom. I don't care that it has no plot or storyline. It really didn't matter. It was still fun and intense. I have since been to most of the 3D/4D movies in all Disney parks and this is tied with my favorite which is Mickey's Philharmagic in the Magic Kingdom. This will be scary for the younger kids but everyone else will enjoy it.
"I love Bug!"
Reviewed on Mar 03, 2009 by Penguinmom
Rating: 10  
THE BEST show of its kind at WDW. Highly entertaining, engaging, and amazing special effects--it's near perfection. So fun!
"Terrifying for young children"
Reviewed on Jan 02, 2009 by Stellyd
Rating: 5  
I am baffled as to why this show was placed in "A Bug's Land" at Disney California Adventure. The area is geared to very young children, but this show was loud, aggressive, and frightening. The warning outside should say that the show is not intended for children under 10, or even 12.

My nieces are 7 and 5 and both were sobbing and hiding before it was halfway over -- and they are not squeamish about bugs. It was just way too intense. The 3D effects are really something, but the show was too scary to be fun. Why couldn't they have used these amazing effects without frightening the children (and adults)?
"It's Tough To Be A Bug Review"
Reviewed on Dec 18, 2008 by Stunnerr22
Rating: 10  
Over the past couple of years, Animal Kingdom has become my favorite Disney park. So many of the shows and attractions are top notch, making it hard to pick a favorite. However, if I had to pick one must-see attraction for the park, this would be it. Nobody does 3-D like Disney does and this is the best 3-D show they've ever done.
"Alert! May be too much for the toddlers."
Reviewed on May 06, 2008 by emba33
Rating: 8  
This is a terrific 3-D movie (and experience) ... in fact, perhaps second only to the Magic Kingdom's Disney Philhamagic (with high resolution super large screen 3D).

This one will likely be intense for younger kids, as the theatre quickly fills with fog at one point ... and the mean bugs look ominous. For the same reasons, this is what makes the attraction so good.

Along with many of the current shows, Animal Kingdom may be the best park of them all.

/\/\/\/\ Emba 33 /\/\/\/\
"Great Show"
Reviewed on Mar 17, 2008 by dizniz6
Rating: 10  
I really like this show. I think it is Disney's best 3D show on property. Great effects, humor, and theming make for a very entertaining show.
"Even now...wow..."
Reviewed on Jan 07, 2008 by Spaceship_Rob
Rating: 10  
10 years after the movie "A Bug's Life" was released and 10 years after It's Tough to be a Bug opened at Animal Kingdom, this attraction still draws the crowds. The combination of animitronics, effects and a pretty darn good 3-D movie still has the impact it did when this attraction opened on April 22, 1998.

Parts of it are dark and scary for the young ones. We love it all, and go back multiple times each time we visit Animal Kingdom.

Bravo, Mr. Mouse!
"Intense"
Reviewed on Sep 20, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 9  
Deep in the of Life lies AK's best show. It combines the Bug's Life theme with the classic Disney 3D show. The effects are great. When the bugs do things to the guests, it really feels like the real thing. Truly a masperpiece and a must see. Maybe a bit intense for small children though.
"Great"
Reviewed on Feb 07, 2007 by DisneyFaNatic1
Rating: 9  
I love every part of it except the spiders!
"Good Times!"
Reviewed on May 10, 2006 by Disneian
Rating: Not rated  
This was my favorite show! We had such a good time! We used the fast pass and waited for no more than 5 minutes!
"GREAT!"
Reviewed on May 07, 2006 by chape19714
Rating: Not rated  
A bit scary for some, but a great show! Sit on the left if you have doubts, so you can exit quickly.
"One big Fart joke"
Reviewed on Mar 21, 2006 by brianfuchs
Rating: Not rated  
Can someone please tell me WHY Disney feels the need to insert poop, fart, vomit, and snot jokes into every single \"4D\" show they have ever presented? Come on, guys, kids are a lot smarter than you\'re giving them credit for. You don\'t need bug farts and chili-dog breath to entertain little ones. You really think Walt would have green-lighted such elements, even in 2006?

Aside from the potty stuff, it is an entertaining show (especially the surprise at the end).
"eeeeek!"
Reviewed on Jan 29, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
I don't want to spoil this 3D show for you. Suffice to say that it is one of the best you will see. The line is detailed (winding its way around the Tree of Life) and you rarely have to wait long. The show is incredible...you will laugh, gasp, hold your breath, shriek and jump out of your skin. Kids also love it, but younger ones may be way too freaked out!!

"Family fun!"
Reviewed on Dec 22, 2005 by WDWFantasmic
Rating: Not rated  
I enjoyed this show very much but I wouldn't recommend it for very little kids. Some parts can be quite intense like the wasp stings that hit you from the back. When the spiders drop from the ceiling, it can scare children so use your best judgement. The queue for this is always short so no need for Fastpass. Overall, it was an excellent show and one of the best 4-D shows ever. I prefer this over the DCA one because this one takes place under a tree just like in the "A Bug's Life" movie.
"It's OK"
Reviewed on Sep 28, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
As this is the most recent 3D show built @ WDW, it has the best effects. Hopper is an animatronic wonder to behold. The theming is pretty well done, and the attraction posters in the lobby are clever.

Although the other reviewers here all gave "excellent" ratings for storyline, I found the storyline lacking. It's meant to be a variety show, so it's a bunch of individual segments loosely strung together. In this way, the show seems like a big excuse to throw a bunch of 3D and other effects in your face. I suppose that's the point of 3D. But compared to something like Honey I Shrunk the Audience where each segment builds onto the next and the effects are an extension of the story, you don't notice the effects for the effects themselves. In Bug however, the 1st 2 bugs (stink bug, acid bug) are simply there to showcase the effect and build towards pretty much nothing later. Maybe I'm thinking too much, it's just a show, but that was my initial gut response the 1st time I saw it.

It's also worth mentioning that a couple kids were crying due to the intensity, one of them left the theater during the show.
"It really is "TTBAB"!"
Reviewed on Mar 01, 2005 by BeachClub1
Rating: Not rated  
"Please let all the bettles, bugs, and cochroaches safely exit the theater."

A reaaly exciting and intense 3-D show with the stars of A BUG"S LIFE that will have you jumping off your seat, literaly!
"Funny"
Reviewed on Dec 08, 2004 by DDuckFan130
Rating: Not rated  
Not one of my favorite 3-D shows. However, it is cute and a lot of fun, especially when you get poked in the back lol. Could scare little kids so beware...oh and beware the stink bug lol.
"The Best 3D There Is!"
Reviewed on May 13, 2004 by disney2002
Rating: Not rated  
First off, this isn't an attraction for young children. It seems to scare everyone under the age of 5 with ease. I've yet to experience the attraction without hysterical crying filling the theatre. However, this is a GREAT film. In my opinion, Disney perfected the immersive 3D movie form with this attraction. The use of some very impressive animatronics, along with a crisp 3D film an countless other effects (not just the simple squirts of water anymore!), make this a real treat. The story is simple to non-existant... but that makes for a higher re-experience value, in my mind. It's just good fun. And the location of the film... the trunk of the tree of life... makes for one of the best cueing experiences there is.
"It's Bugtastic!!"
Reviewed on Jan 21, 2004 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
The posters in the pre-show area are an absolute riot. The show itself is a lot of fun with phenomenal in-theater effects. I particularly like the announcements at the start ("During the performance, please refrain from buzzing, stinging, or pollinating" HAHA!!).
"Awwww!"
Reviewed on Jun 12, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
This is a charming show that may give you second thoughts about killing the next bug you find in your house. A funny, informative 3-D movie featuring the characters from "A Bug's Life" this show provides insights into the vital role that insects play in keeping our world balanced, healthy and cleaned up. The pre-show area has posters of Broadway shows, but all of them are tweaked to fit a bug theme. Keep an eye out for them, they will keep you entertained while you wait to be let in for the show. That said, while most people will enjoy this show, if you are afraid of bugs, you might want to stay away. There are some hair-raising moments for the bug phobic. Also, although this show is based on a popular family movie, it may be too intense for younger children. There are some scary moments with spiders and a menacing grasshopper. I would think twice about taking a child under five to see this. Even older children have been known to dissolve into frightened tears. But everyone else should have a great time!
"Just Buggy"
Reviewed on Mar 09, 2003 by MickeyMoose15
Rating: Not rated  
It's Tough to be a Bug is one of the best 3-D shows the Walt Disney Company has ever made. Great animation from the wonderful people at Pixar Animation Studios, great voices from the same people who worked on A Bug's Life, and fabulous in-house special effects though the stink bug smell could be taken down a notch. There are some problems with the attraction though. The ride is too short, first of all. It is only eight minutes long so a lot of the elements in the show seem a bit rushed. The second thing is that show is exactly kid friendly. Many kids will get scared by the special effects especially when Hopper first appears in the show. Note!! This show is not for those with a big fear of bugs!!
"We're Pollinators!"
Reviewed on Oct 28, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
Probably my favorite Animal Kingdom attraction, this fresh and exciting look at bugs (Pixar-style) is a must see! The queue area is a blast in itself, listening to bugs croon to Broadway tunes...and take a look at some hilarious posters! The attraction is thrilling, so some children probably won't enjoy certain sections. But the special effects are superb! Just make sure to SIT DOWN and SIT BACK at all times for some great surprises... And, of course, we gain a great appreciation of insects. If it weren't for them, we'd all be dead in 6 months!
"fab."
Reviewed on Oct 08, 2002 by Brooke
Rating: Not rated  
my fav show at disney! just really fun, even though it's best the first time you can do it over and over and it's still fun to see first-timers faces when the surprises happen. everyone always goes out of the theathre laughing on this one. it's really great and the line is fun, with the bugs singing beauty and the beast and annie songs! bugs life fans and even non bugs like fans will love this! (although i was sad that the fat catepilliar wasn't in the show!) :(
"SImply the best"
Reviewed on Oct 02, 2002 by wdwfanatic17
Rating: Not rated  
This is the best 3d show in any of the four parks. It also has fabulou effects. IAnd be prepared for a few surprises when the stink bug visits
"The best 3-D Show"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2002 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
The is the best 3-D Show in the four parks. it has better effects the the others, but it not as kid friendly as the Muppets. It can been scary for small children, especially if they are afraid of the dark.
"Best WDW 4-D Show"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by WDW-Imagineer
Rating: Not rated  
Awesome "4-D" show, easily the best one on property. A must see by people of all ages... although may be too "real" for smaller children. Encourage them to remove their glasses if they get scared.
"Great 3D Experience!"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by Genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
Animal Kingdom may be the biggest park, but its also the newest and has the least rides. Least rides doesnt mean they arent great!!!!Its tough to be a bug is a great valuable edition to the park. Its a 3d actually 4d show about how life is in the bug world. The 3d effects are excellent and the 4d adds a great touch to the show. Its truly a great crowd pleaser and should be seen at every visit to animal kingdom.
"A 4-D experience!!"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by atticus
Rating: Not rated  
This is a step up from other 3-D films such as The Muppets at MGM Studios. Combining 3-D technology, sound, smell, and other advanced techniques, this show is awesome. With many surprises around every corner, you never know what to expect! Lots of fun, don't miss it!
"TOP OF MOUNTIAN"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
THE LATEST AND GREATEST 3-D. THE ENDING LEFT THE WHOLE CROWD SCREAMING. THIS ATTRACTION WILL BE HARD TO TOP BUT DISNEY AND NEW TECH. ALWAYS SEEM TO BE UP TO THE TASK. GO EARLY IN THE DAY TO AVOID LONG WAIT.
"Bugs"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by SJTSmith
Rating: Not rated  
This is one of the best 3-D attractions. It is a most see.
"A 3D Flik"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
This Bugs Life 3D movie is a fun little show and a welcome burt of AC on a hot day at the park. The show has many special efects (many of which make you literally jump out of your seat) and an amazing audio-animatronic Hopper which is one of the most realistic in the Resort. Be sure to keep an eye and ear out in the waiting area to see the posters and songs spoofing many different broadway show including "Beauty and the Bees".
"Awesome Must-See Show"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
With all its various forms of 3-D and physical effects, animatronics and humor...."It's Tough to Be a Bug" is a great show for kids and adults alike. If you're squeamish about bugs, even you can have an enjoyably creepy time here. You'll catch a whiff of a stinkbug, get sprayed with bug spray, and feel the mass exodus of bugs from their lair. It really is a great show, one that should be experienced over and over.
"Best 3-D show"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by wdwcrazy
Rating: Not rated  
This is probably the best 3-D show at WDW. It's Tough to be a Big mixes 3-D and many special effects to great an amazing expericence. The show is smart, funny and will make you squirm in your seat. Some small kids may be a little scared of some parts, but everyone should really have fun, and scream a little. The queue area is beautiful as you work your way around the Tree of Life. Don't miss this show!
"Fun for everyone!"
Reviewed on Aug 20, 2002 by Alberrisford
Rating: Not rated  
This show is great fun for all the family. Using clever animatronice, and 3D vision, it creates a masterpiece. You can get tricket into believing there are things crawling under your seat! The shows duration is just right, not too short, not too long. When I went on, the queue time was about 10minutes. This really is something the whole family can enjoy together :)
'It's Tough to be a Bug'
 
Related Photo Galleries
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site