it's a small world reviews

Fantasyland, Magic Kingdom
Reader rating Reader rating 7.4 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 7.4  
"Small World"
Reviewed on Feb 15, 2014 by Kids best ride
Rating: 6  
Even though the song is repeated over and over, the song is put into different languages, so you don't listen to the same thing every time. It's also a really relaxing place if you just want to explore the worlds wonders in minutes. One of my kids got really scared at the "Hefelumps and Woosles" part of the Many Adventure of Winnie the Pooh. She was breathing really fast. But when we got to this ride, she almost fell asleep.
"Crappy Compared to the Disneyland Version"
Reviewed on Jan 13, 2014 by Michael Benami Doyle
Rating: 2  
The original version at Disneyland Park in California is much better. The scenes are grander and in better shape, and the flow and transitions from room to room are more effective. Magic Kingdom's version, which isn't a direct copy, is shorter, has really abrupt transitions into and out of the ride building, and has lots of places (due to maintenance) where you can see wires, broken show elements, and bad paint jobs. The final room is particularly awful, with blinking rope lights and a ferris wheel that for some reason runs backwards. A huge disappointment if you're familiar with the California version.
"Fun for kids and classic for adults"
Reviewed on Oct 22, 2013 by Puppies
Rating: 9  
Small Word is one of the most famous Disney rides.But the song is annoying and the dolls are a little creepy.But it's 2 year old paradise. There was a little girl in front of me that was dancing and was looking all around in awe!Even though I'm not 2 I still like it.
"Really is the Happiest Cruise that Ever Sailed!"
Reviewed on Jul 19, 2013 by Marc Gil
Rating: 8  
We all know the song, and it never gets of out our dang brain once we ride it! But enough criticism on the song, I happen to love and cherish it! It's a small world debuted in the 1964-1965 World's Fair in Queens New York and it was an instant hit! It's been entertaining guests for almost 50 years and it still has that irresistible charm that you remember! So get ready, clear up your throat, and start singin' along! You know the words!
"It's annoying but I always go back."
Reviewed on Jul 03, 2011 by zacopeland18
Rating: 6  
We always seem to ride this ride even though we don't really enjoy it. Not sure how it has it's hooks in us.
"A Disney Classic!"
Reviewed on Feb 22, 2011 by VDisneyFan18
Rating: 8  
This is an amazing ride! It has vibrant colors and beautiful scenery. The only bad thing is that the song glues to your mind for the rest of your life!!!!!!!
"Repetitive and annoying"
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2010 by 2Simple
Rating: 6  
Small World is fun the very first time you go it, usually when you're a kid. By the time you're in your 20's, like me, however, it is tedious and extremely annoying. It's basically a very slow boat ride past dolls that sing the same song over and over and over again.
On a trivia note, my ex-boyfriend helped build the Aztec volcano. He was stuck in there for hours working on it and learned the song in Spanish!!
Only ride if you have kids. No, wait. Even with kids, don't ride this. Go on something better, like Peter Pan.
"You will never get this song out of your head"
Reviewed on May 11, 2010 by MBAlwaysDisney
Rating: 9  
This is a Disney Classic! A must do! The little ones will love this ride because of the wonderful scenery and music. This is a good place to cool off after a long day walking around in the park. But that song will be stuck in your head all day so be prepared :p
"LOVED IT"
Reviewed on Nov 19, 2009 by 
Rating: 7  
Every time I have came to WDW i always ride this ride. Now I have kids and my son didnt like this ride..for one he has Autism and he has sensory problems. We didnt think it would bother him at all but it was the low tones of the music that got him. So he was miserable. :[ but we are going to try again in 4 days when we come back and see how it goes. :] We have been watching the Disney Sing along DVDs and hes actually been singing along with it. SO MAYBE he wont cry the whole time and hide under his blanket.
"its a small world after all"
Reviewed on Jul 25, 2009 by rustysgirl
Rating: 9  
this ride, well song, gets made fun of all the time but theres no way you could miss this ride. Its a very relaxing way to get off your feet. You take your little boat and visit all the dolls of the countries...I love it.
"Get this song out of my head!!!!"
Reviewed on May 17, 2009 by Jasonflz
Rating: 8  
It's a Small World is undisputedly Disney's ultimate classic and most well known ride. Kids will love the dolls and colors, teens will love the oppurtunity to listen (and hopefully crank up) their iPods, Adults will love the chance to relax, and everybody will hate the song.
"We Did Enjoy It.."
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 8  
...But...it seemed so long! It just went on and on and on. It was neat, but at about the half-way point, I'm thinking it'll be over just around the bend. And then, we'd come into another huge room. And it'd go and on and on some more.

It was worth riding, but way too long.
"A Disney Original"
Reviewed on May 06, 2008 by emba33
Rating: 7  
This is quintessential Disney ... and judging by the lines ... it is still very popular. If you get the previledge to ride with people who have never visited before ... they are impressed with the size ... the scope ... the simplicity. It's proof that rides should not all be made to meet the approval of "too cool" teens -- and the latest special effects are not required to make a delightful ride.

/\/\/\/\ Emba 33 /\/\/\/\
"Not to be missed"
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
no matter how annoying the song is, or how many times the boats bop each other... no trip is complete with this ride. I especially like takeing pictures with my nationalites
"Dun, duh, dun duh, dun ,duh da, get out of my head"
Reviewed on Oct 14, 2007 by Nemofan852
Rating: 10  
A full classic, so stop with all the whining its perfect
"The Cherry on Top"
Reviewed on Sep 12, 2007 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 8  
Let's face it: no matter how much we hate that infernal song and we think WDI is using it to brainwash us, no Disney trip is complete without the Parade of Nations. Deep down, it is dear to all of us who insisted on riding it nine times when we four-and-a-half. Although it isn't gonna make college guys get up and dance, it can do no harm and is adorable.
"It's a small world after all..."
Reviewed on Sep 10, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 7  
It isn't the most exicting ride ever, but it's full of audio animontronics singing the song. All of the different country scenes are an interesting way to view the world as well. The happiest cruise that ever sailed ws on of my favorites when I was little, but is still okay now.
"the song that never ends.."
Reviewed on Apr 23, 2007 by xx_lilo_xx
Rating: 6  
in you head that is, turst me try going on it in the morring first thing and you'll never stop singing it. it a must do thought. and a easy one you sit and a boat and listen to doll sing, the doll are based on pepole from all over the world, and the song is sung in diffrent lagnuges!
"It's a very small world"
Reviewed on Feb 13, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
Well, you know, if you like dolls, or irritating tunes (albeit in a funny way), a gentle boat ride or a famous attraction, you have to ride this. You have to ride this whatever actually...because it's like an institution, although you might want it to be institutionalised once getting off! Or you might be institutionalised if you can't stop singing "it's a small world after all" an hour after the ride came to a stop...
"good copy of the classic"
Reviewed on Oct 15, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
Although so many folks find the song irritating by virtue of it's repetition, the song itself cannot be denied it's classic status not only amongst Disney songs, but within the world of music in general. While the Magic Kingdom's version is not quite as effective as the Disneyland version, this is an effective copy.
"it is a classic but....."
Reviewed on Jan 15, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
So my dad tells me that I used to torture him with this ride. he now REFUSES to take his great nieces and nephews (and some day grandchildren) on this ride. dad and I now sit up in the food place andwatch down, making the husband and cousins go on it. I did like it at one time. but after that one trip, where I took my cousin (who was 20 at the time) on it for his first time, we got stuck in the 'white' room for nearly 35 minutes due to mechanical problems. and that was the end of it. no more of the d**n song. but great for kids, and those who are deaf and/or willing to take them on it.
"Great for little 1s"
Reviewed on Nov 15, 2003 by DVCMommy
Rating: Not rated  
This is the perfect ride for kids under 9 yrs old, and people who are old enough to remember the original Disney Magic. Definately not for teens, since there's really no 'thrills' to it, but a must for the families with small ones.
"A classic and must see"
Reviewed on Aug 05, 2003 by miamimickey72
Rating: Not rated  
Okay...yes its old....yes its the same as the last time you got on it....so why do it again????? Same reason we do Dumbo and Peter Pan and even Snow White....cause they are classics. FantasyLand is all about cute little "FANTASY" rides. This one is just cute. Relaxing. Nice cold A/C and again a classic. A trip to MK should include this classic.
"Wretched!"
Reviewed on Apr 14, 2003 by SmithG
Rating: Not rated  
This is quite possibly the worst ride ever conceived in any human beings mind. The fact that its been around so long and so many people like it, point to the degradation of our society. The only reason you should ride this ride is if you want to mentally and quite possibly physically injure the person you would ride it with. I believe Dante perceived "It's a Small World" the ride as the 6th circle of hell. Avoid at all costs. AT ALL COSTS!
"Cute doll ride"
Reviewed on Oct 29, 2002 by animegirllover
Rating: Not rated  
It's an excellent music in Fantasyland!!! They play it all over again just like California, Paris & Tokyo has. I loved the music so much that I couldn't wait to get on it with the music. I loved the dolls in four Disney parks because the dolls were really cute.
"Boring BUT..."
Reviewed on Oct 05, 2002 by Brooke
Rating: Not rated  
Yes this ride is boring. But the line is always short, you always see something different, it's cool inside, the song is fun, and it's just a cute ride. I think it's boring but I still go on it, it's also a good thing to do if you just wanna talk about what you are doing next or something..
"It's a Short Queue"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2002 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
This is a great ride for apprehensive kids. Toddlers and pre-schoolers who seem a bit intimidated by the enormity and surprises of WDW will love this ride. It's gentle, comforting, upbeat, and reassuring. For everyone else, hey, it's a short queue.
"Love to Hate"
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2002 by jabas
Rating: Not rated  
Call me a masochist, but this is a must-see for me...that song is at once irritating and irresistable, especially if you have the [mis]fortune of having a backlog of boats at the unload point.
"A True Disney Classic"
Reviewed on Sep 05, 2002 by Wilson
Rating: Not rated  
Yes, it's old. Yes, it's slow. It's also relaxing, historical, it has plenty to look at, and it has a utopian, "make the world a better place" theme. Dolls representing children of the world coexisting in harmony. I hear a lot of people refering to the song being in their head all day following the ride. I don't know, this never happens to me. To me, the song is fine, I like it, but it stays with ride. Maybe I'm just different. Many find it extremely annoying, which I don't understand. Could be a low tolerance thing. To me, bashing the song has almost become cliche. Lots of people will pass this one by on the way to bigger, flashier, newer rides, but I think this is a necessary part of the Disney experience. If you spend all day on the Mountains, I think you are missing the point of the Magic Kingdom.
"ENOUGH"
Reviewed on Sep 04, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
OLD AND OUT DATED BUT EVERYBODY THAT GOES TO WDW SEES THIS ATTRACTION. THE SONG WILL STAY WITH YOU AT LEAST THE REST OF THE DAY!!!!!!!1
"Cute"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
This classic attraction is a must-see for young children. The ride's catchy theme song is one of Disney's most famous song and is bound to stay in your head the rest of the day. I would recogmend this for families with young children and anyone who needs to sit down for 10 minutes in the AC (and doesn't mind the song).
"some tweaking needed"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by mtaft
Rating: Not rated  
ok- exterior of building is just awful, and the music is not nearly as good as its counterparts. But the inside shines- and the ending carnival is a nice touch. This IS a Disney classic!
"This is a cute ride"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by katherine
Rating: Not rated  
I think this ride is very good for kids cause there is so much to look at and it gives the parents a chance to sit down for a bit. It is a very cute ride. It a complete disney original and it show in the detailing!
"Rate"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by the_ceo_at_wdw
Rating: Not rated  
This is a fun ride if your with your kids. But if you are a teen. Like me.. Then dont waste your time on this attraction.
"Lousy....It Needs To Go"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
The argument about keeping attractions based solely on how long they've been around is weak. It's a Small World is simply boring, pointless, and an incredible waste of time. The song is annoying, the decor of the ride is lame, and everything about this attraction screams "Get rid of me, I need to go!". For those who enjoy interesting attractions that seem to have something of a point to it and don't want their time wasted....do yourself a favor and pass by It's a Small World.
"Great show!"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
Featured in the 1964 World's Fair initially, this smash hit made it to Walt Disney World on its opening. This attraction teaches us the importance of world unition, while hearing the classic Sherman/Sherman scene and excellent sets of "dolls" around the world. This is a must-see to have a glimpse of Walt's originals!
it's a small world
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site