Grand Prix Raceway reviews

Tomorrowland, Magic Kingdom
Reader rating Reader rating 7.3 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 7.3  
"DD Got To Drive!"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 8  
Which she absolutely loved! She made me go on it twice with her, which I was more than happy to do. 2nd ride we got a car with Steelers colors!

I do think that the cars could maybe be re-themed a la the Cars movie. And they do move awfully slow, but I understand that with the kids driving.
"It's a kids ride"
Reviewed on Aug 01, 2008 by Olijimcha
Rating: 8  
I never got the chance to visit the world when I was a kid so although I’ve been to MK a few times as an adult I’ve never been on the tomorrow land version - but I used to love the same type of ride at the park we visited when I was a kid. So don’t be too down on this one, for it is a kids ride, not an adults. Personally I think it should stay, I for one can’t wait for my kids to have a go next month when we visit :)
"slow"
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 6  
It's a decent attraction for most standards, but Disney could make something much better than this with the space it takes up. The lines strech endlessly for this ride on top of everything. Many lower class amusement parks have something comparable to this. Tomorrowland theming isn't bad though.
"Great for kids"
Reviewed on Nov 18, 2005 by crxbrett
Rating: Not rated  
The main purpose for the Magic Kingdom is to have fun as a kid or as an adult. As a kid, the Raceway is totally fun. As an adult, it's pretty uneventful.

With that being said, I think it's almost unfair to blast this ride as adults. If you surveyed kids under the age of 11, I bet this ride gets a huge thumbs up. I for one am glad Disney chooses to maintain and keep this ride. Sometimes we adults forget that some of these attractions were designed for kids. I remember the Autopia at Disneyland being one of my favorite rides when I was a little kid. And yes, the ride lost a lot of excitement when I learned to drive a real car; and even moreso after I got a real job out of high school and found out what commuting means. BUT!!!----It would be a shame to bulldoze this ride and put in something that only adults can ride. WDW is one of the most special places to take a kid and this ride only makes it more special.

So, as an adult I give it a bad rating. But you know what, I'm going to give the ride the rating I would have given it when I was 10, since that's the age most riders are.
"Not a must-see"
Reviewed on Dec 31, 2004 by DDuckFan130
Rating: Not rated  
For kids, this is a must-see. It is also something to look forward to as a youngster to be tall enough to drive one of those cars by yourself. However, as you grow older, you realize just how slow the cars really are. Nevertheless, it is still fun sometimes to ride with the family and "race" each other. It's just something we don't go out of our way to see.
"Kids Can Drive"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2004 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
The height restrictions are somewhat relaxed, in that if you're under the limit, you can still sit in the driver's seat with an adult in the passenger seat. My 5, 7, and 9 year old boys enjoyed this ride. The guard rail got quite a workout with the 5 and 7 year olds, but they loved the ride, anyway. My wife and I, their unfortunate passengers, were not as enthused.
"Good for 4-9 yr olds"
Reviewed on Nov 15, 2003 by DVCMommy
Rating: Not rated  
Time to update this one. I feel for the castmembers who have to keep this old horse running. I haven't been on it in years, but I hear the same thing; kids 4-9 will love the thrill of 'driving', but those who are too young will scrape the rail, and those who are older will be bored to tears. (unless they're with their 4-9 yr old)
"A Great Ride!"
Reviewed on Jul 15, 2003 by mraw
Rating: Not rated  
I am giving this attraction all 5's because I work at the Speedway occasionally and I know what we Cast Members have to endure to keep the attraction up and going. Thanks to all of the wonderful guests that make our job much easier!!!
"Stupid Track Guard"
Reviewed on Sep 13, 2002 by christopher
Rating: Not rated  
This would be fun if there was not a track that your car was connected to. But there is.
"Fun for Kids"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
This ride isn't the best in the Magic Kingdom, but for the younger set, it's a must-see. Little cars wind through Tommorowland and Toontown giving kids a chance to be in the driver's seat. Theming is not spectacular, but from the looks on their faces, I think most kids could care less how much theming there is here. I think it's a cute ride, but I think it should be either a tad more futuristic or just go ahead and retheme it to Toontown.
"SKIP IT"
Reviewed on Sep 04, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
SEEMS LIKE EVERY THEME PARK HAS SOMETHING LIKE IT. OK FOR REAL SMALL KIDS OR GREAT TO TELL KIDS ABOVE THE AGE OF 5 I TOLD YOU SO.
"Stupid Garbage"
Reviewed on Sep 04, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
Grand Prix Raceway (known now as Tomorrowland Speedway) is a lousy car race ride lame even by children's standards. You can walk faster than the cars run, and this attraction has no business being in Tomorrowland, let alone WDW at all. It's a waste of time. Let the poor saps who wait in line for it while you are able to get on the better rides in the area.
"I love this ride!"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by Wilson
Rating: Not rated  
Why? Because with it's slow loading time, and incredibly long lines, it keeps tons of people out of my way when I want to ride other, more exciting, things. I loved this when I was a kid, but I haven't ridden in years. If you have little kids, ride with them and let them drive. They will probably have a ball. If you don't have kids, follow me. I'm headed elsewhere.
"Fun for the kids"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by WDW-Imagineer
Rating: Not rated  
Grand Prix Raceway is perfect for the under 16 kids who don't have their license. Although I think it is long over-due for a major overhaul to change the ride to something a bit more exciting. Great for the kids... just pray the line is ridiculously long like it usually is.
"Nice...but themed?"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
This is a great attraction, especially for children! It puts them in the driver's seat of a raceway. Unfortunately, the theme is totally out of Tomorrowland (besides the fact that these will be tomorrow's drivers). I would consider a better futuristic theme...but otherwise, if you're not with children, I wouldn't worry about putting this in your schedule.
"The Kids Love It!"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by gjpjtj
Rating: Not rated  
I found the queue area dull, and the wait time awful. Maybe it was just a busy day. However my son loved it, (and watching him enjoy driving was thrilling for me as well). All in all it was worth the wait.
"Fun for kids"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by wdwcrazy
Rating: Not rated  
This isn't one of the better attraction in Tommrowland. For kids this ride is a blast. It's not everyday that kids get to drive. They love driving, crashing and just having control of the car. For anybody 13+, this is boring and a waste of time.
Grand Prix Raceway
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site