Gran Fiesta Tour Starring The Three Caballeros reviews

World Showcase, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 6.2 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 6.2  
"I used to really like this ride"
Reviewed on Jul 17, 2013 by Fairybuzz (Sarah)
Rating: 5  
Why do they always change these things? Theres plenty of room in the park make new things instead of ruining the old. I like the 3 Caballeros but I miss the old song it was catchy and my grandma (RIP) used to sing it to me all the time. I also miss the hilarious spot on "Trying to sell you stuff" scene. The girl in it was cute too lol! but anywho, I still like the ride although the begining scene makes no sense now. Why couldnt they leave it the same and just be like having them take over the tour instead of just random unconnected events it could have been educational and funny. maybe have ponchito (sp?) telling about villages and the day of the dead and things like that then talking about cancun etc later on. Also its a lazy update because they didnt really do ANYTHING. Just switched the films. lazy lazy lazy!
"Great Ride"
Reviewed on Feb 19, 2012 by sstile
Rating: 10  
Relaxing and great theme! Has a couple good laughs and overall a perfect fun adventure.
"FUN!"
Reviewed on Dec 04, 2011 by DisneyloverJMH
Rating: 10  
All though el rio del tiempo was a lot more calm and informational it made kids bored. in the new version with the Three Caballeros kids seem more excited to go on and it is more whimsical and just feels more like Disney. Hint: on hot Florida days it is a good ride to do because it is inside and air conditioned An all around good ride.
"The former "El Rio Del Tiempo" was nicer."
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2011 by WondersOfLife
Rating: 4  
In all reviews, I would love to say that it's a nice, slow, relaxing ride. Like the former ride it replaced. Unfortunately, the loud sound of Donald and his two companions are filled through the whole ride. You're hearing Donald Duck all over the place and it's just so hectic in sound. The sound is just bunched up in the whole attraction.
"Nice slow ride."
Reviewed on Jul 03, 2011 by 
Rating: 7  
This ride is a nice slow break in the air conditioning. I was a fan of the Three Caballeros as a kid so I might enjoy it more than most.
"its a slow world."
Reviewed on Jul 28, 2010 by Birdflu
Rating: 4  
mexico pavilion is pretty great... some of the best food in all of the parks.. but this ride is one of the most boring things I have ever experienced.
"Downgrading Mexico"
Reviewed on Jun 23, 2010 by mandstaft
Rating: 2  
El Rio del Tiempo, the previous incarnation, was elegant and understated. Hits of mystery, high on charm. This tooned redo is a mistake- although it is still pleasant to drift along the front of the indoor pyramid in the moonlight.
"Slightly better than the original"
Reviewed on Jul 07, 2009 by Jasonflz
Rating: 7  
Here is my review:

Pros)
1. Queue looks slightly better than it did before.
2. Colorful Ride.
3. Great Music.
4. Cool Animation.
5. Creative.
6. Entertaining

Cons)
1. Lacking Mexican feel. Doesn't really focis on Mexico like it should.
2. Lacking set pieces.
3. Somewhat lackluster finale.
4. Over doing characters.
5. Not as catchy as El Rio De Tiempo.
6. Missing mysterious feel in tunnel at beginning.
7. Bumpy return to dock, still not fixed.

7.4/10 stars
"Better Than The Original"
Reviewed on Jun 08, 2009 by Random Vids Inc
Rating: 8  
I like it a lot. Very enjoyable. The only things the old ride offered I liked more was the market scene.

I also like that The Three Caballeros are finally getting used!
"Great ride!"
Reviewed on Dec 01, 2008 by hoke2007
Rating: 9  
I was very pleased with this ride. I never really liked the original ride, but this new and improved version is great! It's now on my must-see attractions in Epcot. Great for the little ones and enjoyable for all of the older ones.
"The Only Reason..."
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 9  
...That I'd re-visit WS. And only to go to the Mexico Pavalion and on this ride! Very well done...we loved it! It was hillarious!
"Love it!"
Reviewed on Jul 18, 2008 by DisneyNut2007
Rating: 10  
I love this ride. I tihnk they did an excellent job in taking a rather tired and dated attraction (El Rio del Tiempo) and injecting some much-needed new life into it, while reviving characters from one of the more obscure "Walt-era" animated features and reintroducing them to new audiences at the same time.

Despite what some think, El Rio wasn't really that educational or a masterpiece.

The 3 Caballeros and Epcot's Mexico pavilion are a perfect match and something that I think Walt himself would've done.
"I was horrified at first"
Reviewed on Mar 23, 2008 by pelham304
Rating: 8  
When I heart of the changes I was very upset.

I don't think Epcot needs to be infused with the characters as much as it has been!

I wanted the ride to be all about Mexico and its culture. When I rode it, it was not as bad as I had feared.

I do enjoy Donald as a character and it was enjoyable. I liked the old ride better.

Disney has to understand that adding a character does not make an attraction better!
"BOREING, EXCEPT great for relaxing"
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 1  
It is quite boreing unless you want to relax.
"slightly disapointing"
Reviewed on Feb 24, 2008 by MEEE
Rating: 7  
Gran Fiesta Tour is actually a downgrade from previous El Rio de Tiempo. The original ride depicted Mexico's history and things to do in the country as well as give a relaxing boat ride. Most of the layout is the same but the new theme just isn't done well enough to better the former experience.

Screens- The large TV like screens around the ride used to show pictures of Mexican celebrations and history now show Donald Duck and his friends. Some classic pieces have been eliminated.

Animontronics- The It's a Small World like dolls are still there which is good. I'm happy that they kept the music playing skeletons as well.

Overall- The new idea is interesting but it can't top El Rio de Tiempo.
"Unfortunate changes..."
Reviewed on Jan 07, 2008 by Spaceship_Rob
Rating: 2  
As compared to the old ride, we thought the changes were unfotunate. The old ride, while dated, sincerely tried to show the positive attributes of Mexico's different regions...things that left us saying "wow, I'd like to go there and see that!".

The new ride has lost most of that message. Now it's about looking for the missing Amigo while Mexico's gems take a back seat. It's too bad. We'll still visit the pavilion and enjoy the other attractions. The little museum is a gem. Sorry, Mr. Mouse, you've missed the mark with this upgrade.
"A much needed renovation"
Reviewed on Oct 14, 2007 by Nemofan852
Rating: 6  
I enjoyed this a lot more then what was there last
"A Little Better, But ..."
Reviewed on Oct 01, 2007 by GenerationX
Rating: 3  
... still not very entertaining. There is nothing even remotely approaching dazzling here. The Caballeros overlay contributes some fun to what was a dull, lifeless attraction. Not a lot of learning here, either.
"What Did They Even Renovate?"
Reviewed on Sep 12, 2007 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 3  
The renovation did zip for this attraction. It was a new coat of paint on a broken Chevy. Now, instead of us just touring through Mexico, through colorful animated birds do it for us and we follow them along. The audio isn't improved at all and the times I've ridden it, the boats have gotten backed up in the "river."

Disney: give up on this puppy and make the investment to start from scratch.
"what were they thinking?"
Reviewed on Jul 08, 2007 by WRE4ever
Rating: 1  
It doesnt even deserve a 1....the old ride needed updating..yes...but this?...the old one at least respected Mexico and showed you a little bit of the country..this is just a joke....it offends me and im not even an ounce Mexican...
"Good Ride"
Reviewed on Jun 30, 2007 by starwood
Rating: 6  
That's all I can say about it. It can't replace El Rio Del Tiempo, but the only thing that I liked was the opening scene and the finale!
"the best ride"
Reviewed on Jun 23, 2007 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
I love this ride. The ending is so awesome.
"Great update!"
Reviewed on Jun 05, 2007 by ilvdisney
Rating: 8  
I thought that the refurbishment was great! The ride seemed to be much better paced. And... FINALLY a happy ending story for Donald!
"Viva Three Caballeros!"
Reviewed on May 03, 2007 by disneyphilip
Rating: 10  
This is an excellent update that brought in brand-new stuff and maintained sets and elements from El Rio Del Tiempo. The 3 Caballeros and Epcot's Mexico pavilion are a perfect fit.

It's a very fun new attraction that does a pretty good job of showing off the Mexican country and some of its famous landmarks and areas while following a storyline more cohesive than El Rio's, so Epcot's goal of entertaining, informing and inspiring is not lost here.

Great respect was paid to the classic 1945 film with references to it and the idea of mixing of animation with live-action.

I very highly recommend this attraction for anyone who comes to Epcot.

VIVA THREE CABALLEROS!
"A great integration of cartoon characters"
Reviewed on Apr 21, 2007 by Skip
Rating: 8  
I personally thought that this ride was very enjoyable; sure, it now stars three cartoon birds, but it still tours you through Mexico and gives you an idea of the country. The details were great, and the animation was excellent. Good job, Disney!
"Give me back the old ride!"
Reviewed on Apr 16, 2007 by GrumpMarmot
Rating: 1  
What a waste! Granted, the old ride needed some updating, but the new one is just a waste of time. Isn't this in the Mexico pavilion? The old ride at least gave you a taste of that country. Now, it's just a cartoon. I could ride "El Rio de Tiempo" multiple times and still enjoy it. Now, I have one less attraction to see the next time I visit WDW.
"A Great Improvement"
Reviewed on Apr 12, 2007 by IcicleM
Rating: 9  
I thought the ride was beautiful. My mom and I always thought that the ride needed some updates because all of the videos had such an old look to them, and they didn't really pull you in. The new videos are beautiful, and Donald really makes you laugh. Though the new story isn't very solid, it still shows some of the beautiful sights of Mexico.
"Very nice for a cheap upgrade."
Reviewed on Apr 11, 2007 by bluesky
Rating: 8  
I agree with some part of what is being said here as far as this upgrade was done on the cheap. However, in saying that I think that this is a great example of plusing. IMHO I feel that the ride still captures the feel and atmosphere of Mexico, while adding some fun for the kids. As a child I hated this attraction. Only as an adult did I appreciate it. Now I think that both can be had. I cannot wait to take my kids on this ride. The main Disney charcters have been for the most part absent from most Disney attractions. I think that this is a nice way to intergrate "The Duck" in to an existing attraction.
"So So"
Reviewed on Apr 10, 2007 by Brian Skinner
Rating: 2  
The origional ride was good. It was the way I picture Mexico. Now they have taken out all the good details and put in cartoons. The part where in the old ride they were trying to see you goods had very much detail and now its just a cheesy cartoon and some cheap looking baloons.
"Not Very Impressive"
Reviewed on Apr 08, 2007 by DWGIRL
Rating: 5  
There definitely still will not be a wait for this ride. It is basically the same except for the characters. The audio was better and everything was cleaner but it just was not that different. There is no storyline to follow and it the characters make you forget that this ride is supposed to inform you about Mexico. They were just plain distracting to me. I miss the old ride and I never thought I would say that.
"Great Reworking!"
Reviewed on Apr 07, 2007 by BSikor
Rating: 8  
Loved it! Spruced the whole thing up. Gave it a bit more pizzaz! Didn't feel like I was on If You Had Wings on water. Much better than I expected. Here's a link to some photos I have of it on Flickr. http://www.flickr.com/photos/wonderfultime/sets/72157600052819108/
"Gran Fiesta review"
Reviewed on Apr 07, 2007 by MrBoo
Rating: 2  
What Disney has now done is near blasphemous. They have taken a ride that was once dedicated to the culture and arts of old Mexico and turned it into a ridiculous, vapid cartoon romp. It's all about Donald Duck and it's embarrassing and cheap. This obviously didn't set back Disney much money at all. The new real video footage looks great, but then they junk it up with cartoon imagery that has nothing to do with Mexico's past or present. The final room is a let down and the new song pales in comparison to its previous song. What was that tune? If anyone knows please tell me. Now I will surely miss it.
"Donald, Jose, and Ponchito on a hillarious adventure!"
Reviewed on Apr 06, 2007 by Imaginationeer
Rating: 10  
It Was Great
Gran Fiesta Tour Starring The Three Caballeros
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site