Finding Nemo - The Musical reviews

DinoLand U.S.A., Disney's Animal Kingdom
Reader rating Reader rating 9.0 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 9.0  
"great show"
Reviewed on Oct 14, 2010 by NewJersey22
Rating: 10  
Put this on your list of things to do first
"love this"
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2010 by rustysgirl
Rating: 10  
love the big puppets and extra effects like the bubbles haha. amazing show...condensed version of the movie..love the fact that they bring the show into the audience, the energetic performers and at the end the birds that say "mine mine mine" tell u "bye bye bye" =)
"Broadway level musical"
Reviewed on Apr 12, 2009 by leafs fan
Rating: 10  
If you're a fan at all of musical theatre, this is a must do. I was blown away by this, this could be easily be on Broadway once they expand the screenplay and add more songs. Spectacular!!!
"Finding Nemo - The Musical Review"
Reviewed on Dec 18, 2008 by Stunnerr22
Rating: 8  
It really is amazing the amount of thought and effort that Disney puts into each and every attraction. This is the best visual show that Disney has ever put on at a theme park. The sets, the costumes, and puppets are absolutely wonderful.
"Fantastic!"
Reviewed on Nov 30, 2008 by hoke2007
Rating: 10  
Wow. What a great show. I saw it for the first time over Christmas and it was absolutely amazing. By far the best show I've ever seen at Disney. It's a must-see for me!
"Excellent Theme Park Show, but not Broadway"
Reviewed on Jul 14, 2008 by ears2u
Rating: 8  
The best show I ever saw in any theme park was "The Hunchback of Notre Dame" at the Studios park. The show was closed about 4 years ago supposedly to make room for the Motorcars stunt show - which is expensive trash.

"Hunchback" was superior in every technical and performance aspect. Staging, story, scenery, costuming, and especially the music were close to perfection; but more importantly, the story as presented was uplifting and important. It was the most human and powerful message I have received in any theatre venue, and the highlight of my WDW visit every time (8 in five years).

Those who saw "Hunchback" know this is not an exaggeration. I was touched and entertained during every performance I saw, and was moved to reflect on the miracle of our shared humanity. Walt would have been very proud of "Hunchback". Without a doubt, If he were alive today, it would still be running.

No other show at Disney has come close. "Festival of The Lion King" is excellent. "Nemo" is excellent, also. "Beauty and the Beast" is okay like Six Flags shows are okay. "Indiana Jones" is amusing, but tired. "Motorcars" is a giant effort to fill space and time by blowing things up. It is 40 minutes lost from your life that you'll never get back.

Finding Nemo is excellent entertainment for a wide range of audiences. It is big, clever, expensive, well conceived and produced. Get thee (and all those you love) to the theatre on your next visit!

I sincerely hope there will always be room for this form of entertainment in the Disney mix. I have just learned that the "Pocahontas" show is being closed. Even this simple show had value and worth and communicated an important conservation message that Animal Kingdom claims as its own.

I am confused as to why the shows can grow old and shopworn in the eyes of Disney management, while classic rides just require refurbishing.

Even the venerable and fun Diamond/Golden Horseshoe Revue was dumped. We got nothing for its loss, except a place to purchase Wonderbread sandwiches and potato chips. Sheesh!

Here's hoping robots don't replace humans everywhere in our lives.







"Average, at best"
Reviewed on Jun 05, 2008 by juscet
Rating: 5  
After hearing all of the hype I was really looking forward to this show. Unfortunately I left thinking that the show was OK, but not great. What it really comes down to is that the music was not all that great. The costuming and puppets were all very well done, but a musical show is only as good as its material.
"Best Show Ever!"
Reviewed on May 18, 2008 by ZooGuy
Rating: 10  
I loved Nemo and thought it was very well done. Like in the broadwat musical, Avenue Q, the puppeteers aren't hidden from the audience and it is really neat to see them working. I actually found my eyes drifting to the puppets most of the time though.
The set was well done and the music is very catchy. In my opinion it beats the Lion King show because you actually get the feeling that you are seeing the characters and not just acrobats and dancers. This show has all of the magic I expect from disney.
"a +"
Reviewed on Apr 24, 2008 by mro415
Rating: 8  
love the show, it is absolutely amazing. I still feel like I enjoy festival of the lion king much more. Nemo is wonderful for kids and the puppets and effects are beautiful!

much much much better than tarzan rocks!
"Great"
Reviewed on Apr 15, 2008 by NicNac0404
Rating: 10  
Amazing Show!!!!!

Much better than tarzan
"Excellent Show"
Reviewed on Mar 17, 2008 by dizniz6
Rating: 10  
I absolutly love this show. It is in my opinion the best show on disney property. The actors, puppets, songs, and scenery were stunning. I cannot wait to see it again!
"Two "Fins" up!"
Reviewed on Mar 10, 2008 by ranDISle
Rating: 10  
This show is completely amazing and will keep your kids in awe! While visiting WDW last time, I went and saw the show 3 times.

I suggest you get there early, if you don't mind taking the time to wait in line for a long time. That way you will get a front seat on either side of the walkways. It really pulls you in to the show being that close. But, I don't think you can have a bad seat in the house!

The colors and costumes in this show are really imaginitive. I get the chills multiple times throughout the show because the music is so great. Everything about it has been done so amazingly you'll be in awe each time you go!

This is a must see, at least once, if not many more times!!
"asomely asome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Reviewed on Feb 29, 2008 by chris chris
Rating: 10  
advice-never ride a ride that gets you soaked then sit in the way back then watch the show! ITS FREEZING!!!
my second time i sat in the front row didn't ride a wet ride and was in awe the whole show! agin, it was asomely asome
"Breathtaking"
Reviewed on Feb 23, 2008 by hack2112
Rating: 10  
Finding Nemo: The Musical has become one of the things I do multiple times on a trip to Walt Disney World. The sets are breathtaking, the actors are incredible, and the songs are pure magic. The show itself is better than many Broadway and West End shows I have seen.

There are people who say that the actors should be hidden. These people most likely understand the style that the Lopez team uses. They were the creators of Avenue Q, which is a hit Broadway show that is basically an adult version of Sesame Street. Because they puppets themselves cannot convey much emotion, the actors have to fill that role. The same applies to their adaptation of Finding Nemo.

This is one of my favorite shows I have ever seen and will be for some time.
"Incredible - worth waiting for"
Reviewed on Dec 13, 2007 by jws25
Rating: 10  
I agree with the previous poster, seeing the costumes and faces of the puppeteers who were actually dancing and performing the songs live was a surreal, beautiful experience. It only added to the experience, since the actors' expressions could be clearly seen and enhanced the performance. Instead of seeing a human person and a large fish puppet, I found myself seeing the two as a weird, united being. Like I said, surreal. Unlike any other theatre production I've seen, on or off Broadway. Technical effects are indescribable. I sincerely hope that this becomes a Broadway show.
"Great show!"
Reviewed on Dec 07, 2007 by Ragtime109
Rating: 10  
I loved this show - thought it was very professionally produced and had Broadway quality performers. I hate when people say they don't want to see the actor's faces....that is the whole POINT....it is in reality a HUMAN story...get it? Also - why higher such good singer/actors if you are going to hide them. If you cover up the actors, then you could just have pupeteers do it to pre-recorded singing and acting. Bravo to Disney for using high quality performers!!!!
"Just didn't do it for me"
Reviewed on Nov 30, 2007 by donvincenzo
Rating: 4  
When I went down this past September I was looking forward to doing the new attractions and shows that weren't there my previous trip (2005). This was one that I was highly looking forward. But I must say I left disappointed. I just didn't like it. I'm not saying it was cheaply made or poorly produced or anything like that, and I'm not knocking anybody who likes it. But personally I couldn't get past seeing the actors faces. I wish there were a way this was done more in line with VotLM, where you know the guys are there holding the puppets, but it is difficult to see. I really liked the movie, but I didn't like seeing it transformed into a musical.
"i love Nemo"
Reviewed on Nov 26, 2007 by tiggerzgirl83
Rating: 10  
I loved the show, it took alittle while for the staff to get everyone in and the show started but other than that it was an awsome show. Crushes part was the best! The kids loved it...
"Fishy fun!"
Reviewed on Nov 12, 2007 by Nemofan852
Rating: 8  
Queue- Boring, nothing but a line.

Preshow- Nothing, but occasionally Nemo floats in one of the video bubbles, which is fun for kids.

Show itself- Fantastic! A great musical show with stellar numbers. In the end, not as good as Lion King, also in Ak
"Fishy fun!"
Reviewed on Nov 12, 2007 by Nemofan852
Rating: 8  
Queue- Boring, nothing but a line.

Preshow- Nothing, but occasionally Nemo floats in one of the video bubbles, which is fun for kids.

Show itself- Fantastic! A great musical show with stellar numbers. In the end, not as good as Lion King, also in Ak
"Not bad the first time, but wouldn't do it again"
Reviewed on Sep 23, 2007 by Sushishang
Rating: 6  
I don't know, after all of the hype, was pretty excited to see this one on the last visit in March 07. We're returning on December 6 and probably will skip this..for me, I saw it once, great but there wasn't anything spectacular about it that would have me waiting in line for it again.
"Fantastic - one certainly not to be missed!"
Reviewed on Sep 10, 2007 by Duffield1
Rating: 10  
We squeezed into the back row to watch the show as we were late getting off another ride, but it was definitely worth it! Even from the back, the show was brillian, with amazing colours, breathtaking puppetry and some of the most enjoyable music I can think of.

My four year old absolutely loved it, and my wife's comment was "I wish they'd remake the film with all of those songs in it!"

We bought the soundtrack, which I took home - when my daughter was listening to it, 'Go with the flow' actually made her cry with happiness! The other songs are great, too - especially 'Big Blue World' (which we had come to know well after eight trips on the Finding Nemo ride in Epcot!).

An amazing production with inspirational music and lyrics. Well done to the Disney team - outstanding!
"Condensed Review"
Reviewed on Aug 06, 2007 by makc
Rating: 9  
This is a condensed review, so...
Dude...focus, dude.
The show is colorful with excellent effects, solid performers and good, not great, music (the exception is Go With The Flow, which is righteous).
Festival of the Lion is still King, but you need to see Finding Nemo nevertheless.
"LOVED IT!!!!!"
Reviewed on Jun 28, 2007 by raven
Rating: 10  
I absolutely LOVED Nemo the Musical! Since I do technical special effects and lighting for theatre locally I am a very hard critic but this show blew me away. The first time I saw it I sat in the front row next to the thrust stage and noticed some unique lighting tracks that were used in the show that I've never seen anywhere else before. The fixtures were at the back of the stage above the actors and actually moves back and forth on a track to keep everything lit when moving. This is very technical for any theatre to do and I was so overwhelmed with the effects that I forgot to watch the actors! So, I went back again and sat in the rear of the theatre and focused on the show and it was like a whole different production. Wow!
"Much Better than Tarzan!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Reviewed on Jun 18, 2007 by starwood
Rating: 10  
The show was very well done. The music was great and had the original cast playing! If they want to change it I say DO NOT CHANGE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"Best Show Around!"
Reviewed on Apr 19, 2007 by mickeymouse2818
Rating: 10  
I just got back from seeing the musical for the first time and I absolutely loved it! The songs are so lovely that you wonder why they weren't in the movie to begin with. You will have a difficult time getting "Big Blue World" and "Go with the Flow" out of your head by the time the show is over. The puppeteers are beyond excellent in portraying these characters and the beautiful design of the puppets only enhances the experience. This is probably my favorite stage show and I was thrilled to know that it is produced by the same people who brought Twice Charmed and Aladdin (two of my other favorite stage shows) but Nemo tops them both. This is a must see for everyone!
"Broadway Worthy; a great replacement for Tarzan Rocks"
Reviewed on Apr 12, 2007 by yeti
Rating: 8  
With a few more songs and plot twists, I think this show would play sucessfully on Broadway. The songs, I found, were surprisingly very good not to mention the amazing puppeteering. This show actually makes some sense, unlike the truely dissapointing Trazan Rocks, the incredibly stupid, fake and atmosphere -desturbing predicessor to the Theater of the Wild. Improvement to this show could include more changes within the plot and more scenes with the hilarious seagulls. Other than that, a very impressive production by disney.
"Good show"
Reviewed on Feb 10, 2007 by ASJHLJ
Rating: 9  
Very well done musical. Better than average songs, nice puppetry, some cute jokes, and the occasional snippet of the type of visual stunnery that you can only experience at Disney World. The only reason you wouldn't check this out is if you don't like Nemo or musicals at all. Soon, there will be a great debate. Is the best live show at Disney World FOTLK or FNTM?
"Very cute"
Reviewed on Feb 07, 2007 by DisneyFaNatic1
Rating: 9  
The new songs are impressive. The decorations and puppets are astonishing. The theater is huge! I loved Tarzan Rocks, which this show replaced, but Nemo is great too. Go see it for sure!
"Finding Nemo, The Musical is top quality entertainment"
Reviewed on Feb 03, 2007 by imamouse
Rating: 10  
I admit that I was skeptical at first about a feature-length animated movie that did not originally include songs being converted into a 30-minute musical. It all sounded a little fishy to me. However, seeing is believing and I can not say enough good things about the results.

From the amazing puppets by Michael Curry, to the clever lyrics and complex music by the husband and wife team of Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez, to the brilliant stage direction by Peter Brosius - Finding Nemo, The Musical is worthy of Broadway.

Although the performers are within sight, it does not detract from the performance. Since the puppets have very limited facial movement, it's up to the performer to convey emotion. It all works amazing well and I was captivated from the overture to the final curtain calls. My only complaint is that Finding Nemo, The Musical is so popular, that it's hard to get in.

Currently, the line snakes into Dinoland USA, crossing the main pathway and wrapping all the way to Triceratops Spin. Better queue management is needed, and I'm sure that WDW will make adjustments soon.

Once inside, don’t sit in the lower sections, closer to the stage. Several of the performers appear on the walk-way between the upper and lower seating areas, as well is the center ramp. Sitting to close to the stage will limit sight of these performers.

Favorite moments include the use of wires to give the appearance of swimming, creative sets, including video in the ‘bubbles’ that flank the stage, and the song, Big, Blue World.

As a bonus, the beautiful and lyrically Big, Blue World, is also featured at the end of the new omni-mover attraction at the renamed, The Seas with Nemo & Friends pavilion at Epcot.

Go sea it!
Finding Nemo - The Musical
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site