Fantasmic! reviews

Sunset Boulevard, Disney's Hollywood Studios
Reader rating Reader rating 9.0 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 9.0  
"BEST!"
Reviewed on Dec 19, 2011 by sstile
Rating: 10  
Most AMAZING shoiw I have ever scene! Makes you truley believe in magic again just for a second. And it's a pretty long show however it flies by! LOVE IT!!!!!!
"One of the best shows!!"
Reviewed on Mar 18, 2011 by jambk
Rating: 10  
The person who said good but not that good doesn't believe in Disney magic. This is one of the best shows put together by Disney. You should have done the fantastic dinner package this would have saved you the wait.
That's all I have to say.
"Good, but not THAT good"
Reviewed on Mar 18, 2011 by thetony45
Rating: 5  
Fantasmic is a great show, but its worth waiting an hour and a half before show time for. At least with rides the Queue offers some form of entertainment. Even then if the wait is over 20 minutes I move on.
"awesome show!"
Reviewed on Dec 12, 2010 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
This is a great awesome show I think that fantasmic is a excellent show in disney's hollywood studios!I love it!
"Show quality"
Reviewed on Dec 07, 2010 by Leo!
Rating: 8  
Looks like everyone @ WDW goes to DHS just to see the show, that's why in some times, you've to wait more than an hour just to grab a seat (and not a good one).

When I was there recently, the water screen on the left side (side where I was) was not working and the show... loses everything.

Hope to see the show again in normal conditions.
"Awesome!"
Reviewed on Mar 14, 2010 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
This is my favorite night time show in DHS! Fantasmic is awesome! I love it! Mickey Mouse is the Best!
"Amazing!!"
Reviewed on Aug 09, 2009 by prbiker15
Rating: 10  
Have gone 3 times. June/December 2003 and May 2008. A show that will last for a long time!! I recommend seeing it and bring your camera to film your memories!!
"amazing water & fire effects"
Reviewed on Jul 24, 2009 by rustysgirl
Rating: 10  
this show to put it simply, is amazing. i love how they put the images into the bubbles. my favorite parts were that, the villain parts and the boat parts. i dont want to give anything away but it is a definite must see. one of the main reasons we go to hollywood studios =)
"Amazing!!!"
Reviewed on Apr 12, 2009 by leafs fan
Rating: 10  
We arrived late on our flight to Orlando, so this was one of the first things we did. It is truly amazing and one of the most spectacular things I've ever seen. Arrive early, the closer to the stage the better - getting a little wet and feeling the heat of the flames (how did they do that???) adds to the experience.
"Weird, but really cool. "
Reviewed on Mar 03, 2009 by Penguinmom
Rating: 10  
A really strange, eclectic mix of Disney characters with amazing effects. A must-see!
"Great Show"
Reviewed on Oct 19, 2008 by BrownDerby07
Rating: 10  
Even though you need to arrive 45 or so minutes early to get the best seats this show is worth the wait! The fireworks are great, the water and fire effects are great also, the dragon is really amazing! This is an entertaining and top notch show that you can't miss if you visit Disney's Hollywood Studios
"wow"
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2008 by Disneygirl91395
Rating: 10  
this is the best show on property. the lights sound and water affects make an amazing show.
"Very Disappointed"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 2  
Message on our bus said the show was at 9 PM. We get there at 8 PM to find that it started at 8 PM and was standing room only. We were too far away to see anything. Very disappointed.
"fun"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
i think its fun because it has great story line, all the characters, great firework display, what more can i say??
"Not a big fan of this show"
Reviewed on Jun 09, 2008 by cblodg
Rating: 5  
Is it worth it... yes. Some love it, others like me would rather go do ToT or Star Tours than sit and wait for 45 minutes for the show to start.
"Don't Miss This Show"
Reviewed on May 05, 2008 by emba33
Rating: 10  
There are plenty of spectacular shows at Walt Disney World, but Fantasmic is likely the best. Special effects like giant animatronics, burning waters, screens made out of water, fantastic music, characters, fire works, floats --- all at night on a giant set ... it is, in my opinion, worth the price of admission to Disney Hollywood Studios alone.

If you have toddlers, you might want to introduce the music and images to them in advance since the show is quite intense. I took this precaution, and my girls (2 and 4 years old) loved the show.

This show is around 30 minutes and it is worth the wait -- and you can eat food while you wait.

There is room for around 8,000 people ... but it will fill up fast. If you have a stroller, there is a designated parking area. Although this may bottleneck you slightly, you will still be out of the park within 30 minutes ... because Disney knows how to handle the crowds extremely well.

/\/\/\/\ Emba33 /\/\/\/\
"best show ever"
Reviewed on Apr 24, 2008 by mro415
Rating: 10  
Best show I have ever seen in my life.
I could watch it over and over.
absolutely amazing and breathtaking. something for everyone.
do not miss this!
"Wonderful! Delightful! anyword w/ FUL! "
Reviewed on Sep 10, 2007 by DisneyFan722
Rating: 10  
This is by far my favorite show at Disney World. I love it so much! I found the whole show on YouTube and almost died. I love the way you get excited as soon as Mickey starts with the music!! The fire, the lights, and ESPECIALLY the clips displayed on the water screen!!! It is by far the most entertaining firworks show at WDW!!! =)
"Best show ever"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2007 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
I love Fantasmic!
"Fantasmic is Fantastic!"
Reviewed on Aug 26, 2007 by princessmommy
Rating: 10  
My trip to WDW is not complete without it!!! It is Spectacular!
"Pretty Good"
Reviewed on Jul 23, 2007 by JoeRhode4ever
Rating: 7  
Truely a pretty good show, but the effects are pretty lackluster and dissapointing. I for one enjoy fireworks shows more than shows, and this is my second favorite show... next to Indiana Jones... So this is pretty much a must see if you rumble over to MGM...
"The best nightly show"
Reviewed on Jun 29, 2007 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
Fantasmic is the Best. a Perfect 10.
"sensational"
Reviewed on Mar 05, 2007 by simonandlaura
Rating: 10  
Outstanding. Absolutely mind blowing. We've been 1 1times to WDW and ALWAY go on this at least 3 times. Top Tip - do the meal thing at Mamma Melrose's or another participating restaurant first where you skip the wait and get priority seating also - start a MEXICAN WAVE!!! its amazing to see that many people doing the wave because of you!!
"fantastic fantasmic"
Reviewed on Jan 27, 2006 by magi
Rating: Not rated  
i've been to disney 10 times since fantasmic opened and went every night(of my vacation) to see fantasmic! it's amazing!(just don't come 2 hours b4)
"some losses"
Reviewed on Oct 26, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
This is a decent version of the Disneyland show, though not quite as solid.

1st the bad news; The theater is way too big for it's own good. It probably seemed like a good idea to build the thing since the Disneyland show is so incredibly popular to this day and crowd control is a nightmare. But compared to the Disneyland version where you're never more than 10 standing rows back, here at the Studio version you may be a good 35 seated rows up watching from far away. This has the effect of removing you from the action, and once you've been that close, it's hard not to experience the vastness of the Studio theater as being a bit impersonal.

Also, the WDW version has several changes to it, the most evident is that the Peter Pan battle aboard the moving Columbia has been replaced by a Pocahontas stunt show on a stationary stage. The Disneyland version is far more kinetic, simply because it takes place on a moving ship. Frankly, it's also nice to see 2 Disneyland icons -- the Mark Twain and Columbia -- used to such great effect in the Disneyland show, whereas WDW has completely eliminated the Columbia (probably as a cost-cutting measure) and build a bare bones version of the steamboat.

Now the good news; the WDW Fantasmic still does keep the spirit of the Disneyland show. Most of the effects are left intact. It's still an exciting story that utilizes to great effect our familiarity with and love of Disney stories. Try to line up early to sit closer to the front.
"Great Night-time Show!!"
Reviewed on Feb 02, 2005 by Fantasmic!329
Rating: Not rated  
Fantasmic! is a great show to watch after a long day at Disney-MGM Studios!!
"Awesome!"
Reviewed on Mar 22, 2004 by MsSnuzi
Rating: Not rated  
Outstanding show! I could see it over and over and over again!
"Best Show"
Reviewed on May 07, 2003 by trendymagic
Rating: Not rated  
One great show. Presented in a unique way. The use of live action and movies is well done. No need to get there extremely early, sitting in the back give you a quicker exit when the show is over and you are fighting the crowds. I enjoy watching it every time.
"The best in the parks."
Reviewed on Apr 02, 2003 by wdwfreak89
Rating: Not rated  
This is my favorite attraction in all the parks. If I could, i would sit through it all day long.
"One of the Best in WDW"
Reviewed on Mar 09, 2003 by MickeyMoose15
Rating: Not rated  
FANTASMIC! What can I say? Absolutely amazing. When this show opened in 1998 after numerous performances over in Disneyland, I was not surprised to see that the show lived up to its hype. Possibly the best show at Walt Disney World next to Illuminations: Reflections of Earth over at Epcot. Worth the price of admission alone. Very good show though it could have just a little pre-show entertainment instead of absolutely nothing. Note that this attraction is exactly kid-friendly. There are many moments within the show that may be too scary and intense for some small children.
"Fantasmic"
Reviewed on Mar 05, 2003 by Jeany031
Rating: Not rated  
Fantasmic is my favorite fireworks show ever in Disney Studios. But Our Family liked it.
"MUST SEE!!!!!!!"
Reviewed on Dec 10, 2002 by wdw100
Rating: Not rated  
This is a must see attraction....I saw it twice...The lights...the music.....the magic....Disney at its best! I could feel the magic!
"Simply Fantasmic."
Reviewed on Oct 28, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
Probably the best night-time show at Walt Disney World (not including fireworks or parades), this truly inspiring attraction has some of the best special effects and nostalgic moments. The finale is purely magical. It's a great blend of Disney past, present, and dreaming!
"Fantasmic"
Reviewed on Oct 26, 2002 by Elaine
Rating: Not rated  
Music that sticks in your mine for hours,facination for animation shown on water and a great story line. The best thing of all is it's all about MICKEY....he's the man. I think it could be a little frightening for small children because of the impact of those villans. The chose the best and worst of them. The end result is just nothing short of "FANTASMIC' for all.
"Get there early"
Reviewed on Oct 08, 2002 by chris
Rating: Not rated  
This is a very well done show but getting there early enough to guarantee a seat can mean that you cut your park time by at least an hour. The effects are some of the best used in a WDW show and are rivaled only by the new EPCOT show Reflections of Earth.
"One of WDW's Best!"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2002 by DarkImage4
Rating: Not rated  
This show is amazing. From the first time I saw Fantasmic!, I loved it. I feel it is one of Disney's best night-time shows, second ONLY to Illuminations: Reflection of Earth at Epcot.
"My son's favorite"
Reviewed on Oct 06, 2002 by jajo
Rating: Not rated  
Although it can be intense at times, this is a favorite because of all of the characters that come out. I have not seen Fantasmic DL but I am looking forward to it.
"Phenomenal!"
Reviewed on Sep 25, 2002 by Frontierland CM
Rating: Not rated  
This is a must see for every guest! The theming, and the effects are amazing! The best part is towards the end, but I won't spoil it for those who haven't seen it!!!
"What else can i say?"
Reviewed on Sep 22, 2002 by wdwfanatic17
Rating: Not rated  
This show is THE best night time show in all of WDW. The lights lasers and music and to a terrific end at the STudios
"Little Bit of Everything"
Reviewed on Sep 12, 2002 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
Part stage show, part special effects show, part characterfest, part movie, all entertaining. Most certainly a wonderful show, but I wouldn't wait two hours to see it. The Fantasmic! Dinner Package guarantees you a seat (it's on the end, but you can see everything just fine) and minimizes wait time. I recommend doing that.
"Spectacular!!!!!!!!!!!"
Reviewed on Sep 11, 2002 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
This show is spectacular. There is really not a bad seat in the house. This is a must see for everybody. Just make sure you get there early or get the dinner package because it does fill up quick.---and if you do get the dinner package still arrive atleast a half hour before hand. I got there about 15 minutes before the show started and the had opened the "reserved" section to everyone.
"EXCELLENT"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2002 by disneyanna0521
Rating: Not rated  
Don't miss the show!!!!
This is SOOOOOOO incredible, i can't even put into words!!!!!!!!

"Like the name implies..."
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2002 by Bryy2001
Rating: Not rated  
FANTASMIC! is FANTASTIC! It is a tremendous show and is terrifically entertaining.
"A Must See"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by teamdisney
Rating: Not rated  
It is in my view the best night time show that WDW has.
"Loved it so mutch"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by figment1986
Rating: Not rated  
I love this show, Its preshow though is a little boring, Jusdt music, nothing to entertain us really. But once the show begins,It is nonstop thrill, This is alone worth the admission to get into the park. UI love it
"Fantastic Fantasmic!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by WeirdOne
Rating: Not rated  
Fantasmic is one of the best and greatest Disney shows out there. The audio and music are amazing. You can feel immersesd in the soundtrack with no distractions from anyone. The Duration is just perfect, not too short, but just long enought to get the story through and out. The preshow is very bad in my opinion. No real entertainment, other then the occasional bellhop skit which isn't presented all that often. Out of the 5 times I've done Fantasmic! only 2 had the bellhop skit. The storyline is very cleverly done and the themeing totally immerses you in Mickey's imagination. The show is very kid-friendly with all the classic characters and the whole bit. I love Fantasmic! - The WeirdOne
"One of the best"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by meanmice
Rating: Not rated  
This is my favorite fireworks show. I love seeing all of the famous characters together. It's a must see for anyone going to Disney!
"Worth the admission alone"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by tjs-uk
Rating: Not rated  
This is probably the best night time show at WDW (although Illuminations runs it close)? A true do not miss, arguably worth the $50 ticket price alone? Go early, get a central seat and enjoy. Just keep tight hold of the kids on the way out with the other 9999 guests.
"Great Nights Entertainment"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by domboy
Rating: Not rated  
Love this show - great fun for anyone. Whilst not as spectacular as ROE - this is a must see as its on a different scale!
"Great Show"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by christopher
Rating: Not rated  
this is a must see. Enough said
"DO NOT MISS"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
GREAT SHOW, AVOID THE LINE TO GET IN BY EATING IN A REST. THAT GIVES PRORITY SEATING FOR THE SHOW. DETAILS CAN BE HAD AT THE FRONT DESK OF YOUR HOTEL
"A Fantasmic Show"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
Absolutly the best live show on Disney property. Mickey's dreams come to life causing many of the greatest Disney moments from Disney animation including "Pocahontas", "Snow White", "Aladdin", "Sleeping Beauty", "Fantasia", and others. Absolutly a Disney fantasy come true with fireworks, stunts, spectacular effects, and dozens of favorite characters. Definatly be sure to see it.
"DONT MISS!!!"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by DisneyWorldGuru
Rating: Not rated  
MUST SEE!!!! The water screens and pyro are the best of any Disney show.
"Dazzling Special Effects!"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by wdwmagic
Rating: Not rated  
A lot of people have mixed feelings on this show, mainly due to the difficulty in actually getting into the show, and the sheer number of people in the inside the stadium leads to big lines exiting. If you can look beyond the huge crowds (up to 10000 per show), Fantasmic will wow you with the sheer scale and size of the show. Taking place on a huge island surrounding by water, Fantasmic is a precision pyrotehnic, live actor, mutlimedia, laser light and animatronic show. Fantasmic has so many elements, it really does take a lot of viewings to fully appreciate it, and this gives it great repeat value. The audio system deserves a mention. It has probably the best outdoor sound I have ever heard. Rich enveloping multi channel sound adds hugely to the experience!! Now if only the queuing and exiting could be improved, this show would give Reflections of Earth a run for its money!! Be sure to see this show on your next trip!! TIP: Aim for Mickey seating section, or failing that any seating section that is directly infront of one of the 3 water projection screens.
"Great Show!"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by DogsRule!
Rating: Not rated  
The music on this show is excellent, and the dragon/water on fire effect, in itself, would be enough to make a great show...let alone the water screens and pyro! A MUST SEE!
"A Must-See"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by MKCustodial
Rating: Not rated  
It's really a wonderful show, and very beautiful. Some may find a bit long, but the storyline is entertaining enough, and all the Disney favorites are there. My only complaint is that, when brought to WDW from Disneyland, they replaced the Peter Pan bit with a Pocahontas-inspired bit, and I'd rather have the original.
"Fantastic!"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by JLW11Hi
Rating: Not rated  
Fantasmic! is an awesome show. Full of characters, water, fire, anf fireworks, all led by Sorcerer Mickey. The story is that Mickey is having a dream, and a cavalcade of Disney villans try to turn it into a nightmare. Try to get a seat where one of the giant poles holding the lights up isnt right in front of you. If you are lucky, some CMs may entertain the crowd before the show with skits, games, and usually get waves going in the gigantic crowd. Get there early enough to get a good seat!
"Marvelous"
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2002 by disneyprep50321
Rating: Not rated  
Disney never ceases to amaze me. Fantasmic! was great! I've never seen a show project images onto water before! I've heard stories about long lines leading up to the show, but have never actually encountered that myself. If it's playing at the Disney MGM-Studios during your stay, I would check it out! You won't be let down!
"Superb"
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2002 by Alberrisford
Rating: Not rated  
Fantasmic! is a superb show, with an array of pyrotechnics to create the ultimate effects. There is water, music, lights, action, drama.......oh yeah, and a HUGE dragon!!!!! This is in my opinion, arguably one of Disney best shows! Your visit to Walt Disney World is not complete, without watching fantasmic!
"Ignore The Hype"
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2002 by herbie53
Rating: Not rated  
Fantasmic is a decent show, but it gets too much attention. The water screen effect is novel, even if it really only shows rehashed film clips. Personally, the horrible crowd control sticks out in my mind more than the show itself. I felt like I was being herded, and there was a lot of pushing and shoving. This was both entering and exiting the theater. Perhaps the crowds have calmed since my last visit, or perhaps visiting in the off season helps. Cast members advise lining up an hour early because of the shows popularity. I say, ignore the hype and spend your time in EPCOT watching Illuminations: Reflections of Earth.
"Excellent"
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2002 by Fievel
Rating: Not rated  
This show is a definite must see for anybody visiting the Studios. It is a truly unique show that will impress even the most skeptical fans. Depending on the time of year, the pre-show can be non-existant to just barely enough to keep your attention. However, this does not take away from the overall rating of the show, as Disney does not have to entertain us at all, so consider yourselves lucky if you have some kind of pre-show. The music is simply amazing, and you'll find yourself humming it and running to the Fantasmic gift shop the next day (or your hotel gift shop) to buy the soundtrack. Overall, this ranks only 2nd to Reflections of Earth on my "must see shows" list.
Fantasmic!
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site