El Rio del Tiempo reviews

World Showcase, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 6.3 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 6.3  
""The river of Time""
Reviewed on Aug 18, 2008 by MEEE
Rating: 8  
El Rio del Tiempo was a great boat ride exploring the culture of Mexico. The song was very catchy and the ride resembles It's a Small World. Not a huge amount of people rode it so I used to be able to stay in the boat and keep riding it. Very relaxing and well done. It was better than it's replacement The 3 Caballeros.

Viva el rio del tiempo!
"Very Enjoyable/Relaxing"
Reviewed on May 13, 2008 by friendnc
Rating: 9  
My family and I love this ride. A really nice, beautiful way to cool off and take it easy.
"my brother and I loved the original"
Reviewed on Mar 23, 2008 by pelham304
Rating: 10  
I could care less what others say, I loved this ride!

My brother and I would always say, let's ride Mexico! It was all part of the Disney experience!
"Great for rests"
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 1  
boreing, but a nice ride to do when there is no line and when you want to take a break
"Oh no!"
Reviewed on Feb 19, 2008 by alilance
Rating: 5  
I was a huge fan of this ride! I loved the fact that it hadn't been changed since basically Epcot opened, but this year they changed it! Now it has Donald Duck and his friends and it just doesn't have the same ambiance it once had. It is great for kids, but not so much for adults anymore :( Too bad!
"Relaxing"
Reviewed on Feb 14, 2007 by Madam Leota
Rating: 5  
My husband and I really enjoy this ride. We always go on the boat and then get a margarita afterwards at one of the outdoor cafes.

Yes the ride is slow and not for everyone. I really like the fireworks and the crazy lady trying to sell me stuff.

If your looking for something relaxing and somewhere cool to take a rest, then I recommend this ride. Its really not that bad.
"It\'s a boat ride!"
Reviewed on Jun 30, 2006 by chazezez
Rating: Not rated  
I just really like being on a boat inside. It\'s really cool to go through the court yard at the foot of the temple and go through the mist and into the tunnel.

Not a great thrill, but I\'ll ride this on my first and last days there, it\'s just quintessential Disney.
"A quickie to Mexico"
Reviewed on Jan 29, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
I recommend a meal at the Mexican restaurant and then heading onto the Rio for a short queue and an enjoyable, if not slightly underwhelming, boat trip through Mexico.

Ok, it's not exciting, it's a poor replica of boat rides, but it has a certian charm and I am always happy to spend 10 mins of my day chilling out on this.

The Aztec temple is rather beautiful as is the illusion of the sky. Pretty.
""Come and join the fun!""
Reviewed on Dec 17, 2005 by crxbrett
Rating: Not rated  
Queuing Time-Excellent-I have honestly never waited more than maybe 5 minutes to ride this attraction.

Audio/Music-Good-The first half of the ride has very ambient, tribal music that is very good and adds to the mystique. However, the second half has a redundant and rather annoying song that will drive you silly. Although it sticks in your head for hours. Over the years it actually has grown on me.

PreShow/Queuing Area-Excellent-No Preshow. The queue area is inside the temple near the plaza and restaurant.

Thrills-Very Poor-None whatsoever. It's relaxing, not thrilling.

Duration-Good-It's probably a little too long. But-if the song at the end wasn't so goofy it might not seem that way.

Kid Friendly-Excellent-This ride is perfect for anybody. It's like a poor man's version of 'It's A Small World".

Overall-Average-I think this quiet and very relaxing boat ride is a bit underrated. It's nice to escape the heat and just sit back and enjoy the sights. I think the Mexico pavilion is great and although the ride is slightly hokey at the end, it's still fun to ride. Go on this ride expecting a quiet boat ride and you'll enjoy it tremendously.
"relaxing, charming"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
I've read enough negative reviews of this ride on various travel guides, that when I actually rode it, it wasn't that bad. Guess I was set up to expect much worse. I think everyone'e problem with it is that from the opening scene past the temple and restaurant, it looks like you might get something in the spirit of Pirates of the Carribean. But you don't get that. What you do get are some uneventfully pleasant scenes that amount to a tour book of Mexico. I don't mind riding this at all when there are no lines.
"Great way to Relax"
Reviewed on Jan 03, 2005 by skippy11
Rating: Not rated  
This so-so ride is a great when you need a to relax. Queueing time is excellent as there's never a wait. However, there are no thrills what-so-ever and no story at all. Overall a mildly entertaining boat ride with it's a small world style dolls (uh-oh).
"Relaxing"
Reviewed on Dec 10, 2004 by DDuckFan130
Rating: Not rated  
We always ride this because it's a nice way to get off our feet. The ride is definitely not the best at Epcot, but it's something worth seeing at least once.
"Pleasant, but Forgettable"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2004 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
El Rio del Tiempo is a slow, mildly interesting boat ride. If you like "it's a small world", you'll like this. If you don't, well, you've been warned.
"Heat-Beater & Sleep!"
Reviewed on Jan 19, 2004 by DisneyJoey
Rating: Not rated  
Bland ride - a miniature version of It's a Small World. Queue times have shrunk immensely the past few years, so go on it to beat the heat, or if you just need to relax. At least go inside the Mexico pavillion, it is simply AMAZING.
"Lame, lame, lame!"
Reviewed on Dec 25, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
Mexico's answer to It's a Small World. You float along a track in the pavilion, past a travelogue for Mexico, wishing it was over. It's not even relaxing. But it is sleep inducing. I rode through this thing, kinda stunned by its awfulness, amazed that Disney would have a ride this uninspired and tiresome. Better to have nothing at all.
"RELAX AWHILE"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
THE RIDE IS A MEXICAN STYLE IT'S A SMALL WORLD.LOTS OF MEXICAN STUFF FOR SALE.IT'S GOOD TO GET OUT OF THE HEAT FOR A WHILE.
"Sit back and relax"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by Genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
El Rio del tiempo is a great ride just to sit and relax. The ride doesnt boast any special features but some its a small world characters.El Rio del tiempo shows you some mexican things, retailers, and ends with singing and dancing characters. For kids it may be great, its a great way to rest your legs after walking around the world showcase.Go! relax sit and have a little fun.
"Charming"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
Only one word can describe this journey through Mexican history: charming. While in no way the greatest attraction in EPCOT, it's a plesant trip through somewhat of a dream version of Mexico where volcanos glow under twiligh skies and there is always a fiesta going on. It's romantic for the adults in some sections, almost toy-like in some sections (reminicent of MK's Small World), and there's almost never a line.
"It's Fiesta Time!"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
One of the most charming attractions at EPCOT, this cruise is a mix between the defunct If You Had Wings and It's a Small World at one point. Travel through a river of time from Mexico's ancient history all the way to a fireworks display of today's city. It's a nice boat ride to relax - - - - and the theme song will always follow you home!!!
"Boring"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by wdwcrazy
Rating: Not rated  
This is just a slow and boring ride through some scenes from mexico. It really has no storyline, and no excitment at all. This is a nice relaxing cruise after dinner, but don't go out of your way to ride it.
El Rio del Tiempo
 
Related Photo Galleries
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site