Disney's Hollywood Studios reviews

Walt Disney World
Reader rating Reader rating 8.5 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.5  
"Best park ever!"
Reviewed on Apr 29, 2013 by Levi M.
Rating: 9  
This park is the best park out of them all. To me this park is even better then Universial down the street. What the park lacks in rides and a solid theme, it makes up for in great detail and beauty. All the rides here are very unique and interesting rides worth riding multiple times. Even the great movie ride is still worth the wait. This is a park that will only get better as it keeps growing and improving! The only reason I do not give it a 10 is because it needs a more solid theme. I think the word studios is used a little loosely. The only thing that fits that is the backlot tour which is probably the only ride not worth waiting for. Once they replace this I think the park will be a little better and be worth a 10!
"Great theme park but ...."
Reviewed on Apr 15, 2012 by 
Rating: 5  
My experience on Friday 13 April 2012 has left 10-year-old grandson saying "Disney is where dreams are shattered". He was desperate to be in the Jedi Knights training. 13 Apr was our last day and we had to be out of the park by 11.30am to catch flight back to London. We looked up the opening time (9am) on the website and arrived much earlier so he could register for the first session at 10.30. But there were already 100s, maybe 1000s of Resort Hotel folk being let in from 8am. We were let in at 9am and rushed to Jedi Knights training registration but when we got there the earliest session he could do was after 12 noon - too late to catch the flight home. There was nothing on the calendar webpage for 13 Apr saying Resort Hotel folk would be let in early. If there had been we wouldn't have got up early & driven for 30 mins only to find it was impossible to register for the only session he could have done to leave in time to catch the flight home. I had one very very disappointed grandson as a result of this experience. Why didn't the opening time calendar entry for 13 Apr state very clearly that Hotel folk would be allowed in 1 hour before the general opening at 9am? However, we did spend all day on Wed 11 April in the park and thoroughly enjoyed it. Grandson didn't do Jedi Knight training then because we realized too late in the day you had to register in advance, unlike when we last visited 4 years ago when children were picked out of the crowd for the training. That's why we decided to try and squeeze in a session on our last day before flying home. He will never have the opportunity to do this again because we will never again be able to afford to bring all of our kids and grandchildren to Florida.
"Always Fun!!"
Reviewed on Feb 22, 2012 by GoBeavs
Rating: 10  
Hollywood Studios is my favorite of the parks at WDW. Tower of Terror and the Great Movie Ride will keep bringing me back!
"Always Fun!!"
Reviewed on Feb 22, 2012 by GoBeavs
Rating: 10  
Hollywood Studios is my favorite of the parks at WDW. Tower of Terror and the Great Movie Ride will keep bringing me back!
"Always Fun!!"
Reviewed on Feb 22, 2012 by GoBeavs
Rating: 10  
Hollywood Studios is my favorite of the parks at WDW. Tower of Terror and the Great Movie Ride will keep bringing me back!
"Always Fun!!"
Reviewed on Feb 22, 2012 by GoBeavs
Rating: 10  
Hollywood Studios is my favorite of the parks at WDW. Tower of Terror and the Great Movie Ride will keep bringing me back!
"A Fun Time But"
Reviewed on Feb 08, 2012 by slbarker1
Rating: 5  
I sure wish this was a real working studio again. it was so fun back in the day to go and see a production in progress and the chance to be a walk on extra was always a possibility. There are fun rides and attractions but in order to call yourself studio it would be nice to actually be one again. Maybe just Disney's Hollywood Adventure is a better name for this park.
"AWESOME"
Reviewed on Dec 19, 2011 by sstile
Rating: 9  
Park is a lot of fun to go there and spend a day or couple! Fantasmic really gives it a grand ending however I did minus a star because it's a little unorganized, despite that it's a heck load of fun!!!
"The best"
Reviewed on Feb 02, 2011 by elw316
Rating: 10  
Don't sleep on Hollywood Studios!!! The best rides with Rock'n'roll a coster, tower of terror, toy storymania. Cool shows. Great things to do and see. Good food. With special things like ESPN the weekend. So much fun!!!!
"Amazing ambiance, but lacking in some respects"
Reviewed on Nov 03, 2010 by CrescentLake
Rating: 7  
Disney's Hollywood Studios is my favorite afternoon park. Since we generally stay in the Epcot Resorts, after a long day at the MK, AK, or Epcot, it is nice to unwind in the pool and then head over here. I have two problems with the Studios though: one, is that it really does lack in the attraction department, and two, is that the theme seems to diminish as you get further and further back. I do love the dynamic atmosphere of the park, as Sunset Boulevard seems to come alive at night, but there really needs to be more attractions. Sure, Toy Story Midway Mania, Tower of Terror, Star Tours, and RnRC are all rides we do multiple times, but the others are one and done, which makes for a half day park. I'm sure that once they add the rumored rides that they are supposed to, the Studios will become an all day adventure. It's getting there, for sure. Now if only they would work on Animal Kingdom...
"i love hollywood!!"
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2010 by rustysgirl
Rating: 8  
this park is mostly watching shows instead of riding rides..the biggies as far as rides go here are the great movie ride, toy story mania, tower of terror & rock n roller coaster. but the shows are amazing! and if u love hollywood its just even more amazing! love this park!
"Great park"
Reviewed on Nov 29, 2009 by Studios Fan
Rating: 10  
A great park with some of the best attractions in Disney. My only complaint is that there needs to be more rides for families to do and it needs to expand.
"Tied with Epcot for #2 Park."
Reviewed on Nov 19, 2009 by jtizzle1023
Rating: 10  
I think this park has come a long way but it missing something. They need another thrill ride. Possibly a coaster. It needs something that will help spread out the crowds. Has a few amazing rides but i needs something that will make me spend an entire day there.
"please add something new"
Reviewed on Jul 25, 2009 by rustysgirl
Rating: 7  
so this park is pretty decent. i love the hollywood theme, & my favorite things to see/do here are basically just the movie ride & fantasmic. the rest of the place is kinda boring for adults. (not counting the 2 thrill rides that i'm not into) the rest of the park just kinda caters to small kids with all the shows and everything. Its not so great for 20 something year olds. hopefully they will add something better than just shows like playhouse disney and such. If you're older Epcot & Magic Kingdom are way better. Next time i come to Orlando i will go here only for Fantasmic, & probably combine this park with Animal Kingdom.
"Not the favorite"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 7  
Not our favorite, but we had fun nonetheless. Next time, we can probably combine this park with another, like AK.
"fun"
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
Great may to be in the movies lol. rides are amazing and the attention to retail is amazing. shopping great, 50s prime time cafe and the italian rest. is some of the best on property
"Movies!"
Reviewed on Sep 27, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 10  
MGM or Hollywood studios is the smallest park and styled a bit different. It sort of has a center point (Great movie ride and hat), but there are streets that wrap around each other almost into an oval of ball shape. Tower of Terror and Rock n Roller coaster are both in the top 5 rides in all of WDW. The movie theme is an exciting subject and attracts people to the park. It has a huge amount of shows as well.
"Best Rides, Not the Best Park"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2007 by kytoaltoky
Rating: 8  
My favorite ride is the Rock 'N' Roller Coaster, bar none. None of the other WDW parks have anything close (although I will ride Expedition Everest for the first time this fall). Tower of Terror is fun with really great theming, probably the second greatest ride in WDW, in my humble opinion. MuppetVision 3D and Star Tours are the only other attractions I really care for in the park. Great Movie Ride is much like the Jungle Cruise with its cheesy, though thoroughly Disney, interactivity. I can't wait to see all of these attractions updated to current standards.

Disney Studios could easily be doubled in size (though not cheaply) and become a real competitor to Universal Studios. The Magic Kingdom is still what draws people to Walt Disney World, especially families. Adding more family-friendly attractions and updating the more intense thrill rides would definitely make Disney Studios the real money maker of WDW.
"Least Favorite Park"
Reviewed on Jan 27, 2007 by Computer Magic
Rating: 7  
Out of the four parks, this is now our least favorite. It wasn't always that way, but the rides haven't been updated in years.

A park we used to spend all day in now only gets a half day from us.
"Fab"
Reviewed on Feb 18, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
Now then, as a Theme Park freak, I have always completed this park in half a day and then spent an evening here. Get here early, ride Tower of Terror (totally amazing in every way...detailed, terrifying, gut wrenching, awe-inspiring) and the Rockin' Rollercoaster (brilliant acceleration and all round buzz).
From then on you can relax a little as none of the other rides are so busy. Definitely try out the Great Movie Ride (really interesting), Star Tours (just the once will suffice though) and Muppets 3D (veeeeery good fun and excellent effects...kids love it and so do the adults!). In terms of shows, I lke the Indiana Jones Stunt Epic and Lights, Motors, Action! but be warned, they do eat up a couple hours each once you have lined for a wee bit and waited for the start. Each show lasts a good 30/40 minutes but are great spectacles. It's at this point I like to go back to the hotel, have a swim, get a late lunch before heading back to see Fantasmic (maybe book a table at the Italian Restaurant beforehand) BUT you really MUST get to the show well in advance otherwise you will either be miles from the stage (as big as it is) or standing at the back. I tried to get in 30 mins in advance but had no success. Try at least 45 mins to an hour in advance, get some popcorn, drinks, ice-cream and chill out. Entertainers are on hand to keep you busy. The show is . well, fantasmic, and to tell you what happens would be a real spoiler. TIP: sitting at the front? You will get wet, and then very very hot!!

Enjoy this great day out!
"Not the best park"
Reviewed on Dec 31, 2005 by WDWFantasmic
Rating: Not rated  
I must say that I did not like this park very much. It is geared towards teens so kids might find it a bit boring here. The shows were not all that good and there were not too many rides for kids. The atmosphere here is hard to take in as it is always so crowded on those streets. My least favorite of the theme parks.
"Welcome to Hollywood"
Reviewed on Aug 17, 2005 by mountainmaster1
Rating: Not rated  
Disney MGM Studios creates the strongest and best atmosphere of any of the parks. It truly immerses you in an amazing environment which is known as, "The Hollywood that nevere was, but always will be." It easily has the two most gut wrenching experiences offered at a Disney park in Rock n Roller Coaster and the Twilight Zone Tower of Terror as well as fun for the little ones with their Playhouse Disney and Voyage of the Little Mermaid shows. It also sports arguably the best of the Disney nightime shows in Fantasmic.
"Disney Studios"
Reviewed on Aug 15, 2005 by Jesusallornone
Rating: Not rated  
This is my personal favorite of the WDW parks, although the magic lies within the Magic Kingdom, Disney MGM Studios is amazing a fun and great place to be, with the two best thrill rides at the Disney parks and the shows are excellent. Disney Studios is also the home of the best night time show...FANTASMIC!
"Great!"
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
this is my favorite park, only because of the whole movie thing. I love the movies, and anything with production of them. I love the work that MGM does with their rides, and ROck N Roller coaster and the tower of terror keep the thrill level high. the great movie ride (especially the end movie part) is great, and the muppets always put me in a good mood. the resteraunts are fun here, and the street performers are great.
"The most promising park."
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2003 by Walter
Rating: Not rated  
I have to say that this is the only park out of the four that has gotten better since it's opening. Don't get me wrong, I love all of the parks, but, recently, they've been replacing excellent attractrions with mediocre ones, and MGM hasn't seemed to have been doing this. Come during Christmas time!
"A Relaxing Day"
Reviewed on Jun 22, 2003 by trendymagic
Rating: Not rated  
This is one of the WDW parks that I consider a 'half-day' park. If you plan it right you can see the entire park by the time lunch is over. The better of the trill rides are located here and are the most popular attractions of the park, see them early in the day or just before the park closes. This is also the easiest park to navigate. Small is size and fairly flat.
"The Best But Needs Work"
Reviewed on Mar 08, 2003 by MickeyMoose15
Rating: Not rated  
The Disney MGM Studios, or as I like to call it Walt Disney Studios Florida, is my favorite theme park for the moment though I really want the honor to go to Epcot. If only they do some updating there. Oh well!! Back to the Studios park. Disney Studios suffers from the same problem as Epcot: a lack of updating. But the Studios park has been updated enough to keep it interesting. The Good: The Rock 'n' Roller Coaster (Best Attraction at WDW), the Twlight Zone: Tower of Terror, Fantasmic! (one of the best shows at WDW), Mupper-Vision 3-D, Walt Disney: One Man's Dream, Osborne Spectacle of Lights (only for Christmas), 50's Prime Time Dine In restaurant. The Bad: The Great Movie Ride (really needs an update after 10 years), Star Tours (needs serious update), Backlot Tour (a new script and maybe an update), Sci-Fi Dine In (maybe some new old movie clips and some actual good food), Sorcerery in the Sky (why don't they just get rid of this?)
"standing ovation!"
Reviewed on Feb 24, 2003 by goofyfan13
Rating: Not rated  
I absolutely love this park, which is by far my favorite anywhere! Tower of Terror, Rock 'n' Roller Coaster, Muppet Vision 4D, Star Tours, Indiana Jones, and the list goes on and on. Every trip I spent at least a day and a half at this park. Theming is wonderful, the rides and shows are great. I absolutely love Pizza Planet, and Fantasmic is a must see night show!
"Lights please"
Reviewed on Jan 12, 2003 by historymystery
Rating: Not rated  
Lights Camera, Action! Well when you find yourself in this park you realize you are on the T.V. camera too! Hi Mom! haha. Anyway MGM is great Star Tours and Fantasmic! were great! Unfortunatly I did not get to go through all of any of the parks but what I did I loved. I can not wait to go again! I will be going in eleven months! The park is great, absolutely great. Hint: Don't miss Fantasmic!
"Movies and Thrill Rides"
Reviewed on Oct 09, 2002 by chris
Rating: Not rated  
I could spend all day riding Tower of Terror and Rock n Roller Coaster. Some of the attractions are getting a little long in the tooth. Star Tours needs an update and the movie magic tour (cant remember its official name) suffers from a Pearl Harbor induced refurbishment. The refurbishment to the Honey I Shrunk the Kids Playground is well done and my kids really like it. The Studios is generally one of our best days.
"WDW so called six flags"
Reviewed on Sep 22, 2002 by wdwfanatic17
Rating: Not rated  
This place is the coolest place. I would pay the 50 bucks just to be able to ride RnR coaster and ToT once a piece
"A Mish-Mash of Fun"
Reviewed on Sep 14, 2002 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
This is the least themed of the parks ... by a LONG SHOT. This park is more-or-less a jumbled mix of studio-related attractions. There's no logical grouping to the attractions, and the overall park layout is chaotic. That said, this park has some incredible attractions. I can't say enough about the Twilight Zone Tower of Terror - it's breathtaking. The Muppets, the Rock 'n' Roller Coaster, Fantasmic!: all top-tier attractions that are extremely entertaining. In summary, some individual attractions have great theming, but the park as a whole does not.
"Great park!"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by Disney4648
Rating: Not rated  
The Disney MGM-Studios is the best park at WDW. It has the best rides. The Best attraction is Who Wants to be a Millionaire: Play it! The park is huge and has a lot of shops.
"MGM"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
Overall this is the most enjoyable park!
"Incredible"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by atticus
Rating: Not rated  
I have never found anything wrong with this place. Even when visiting during the summer PEAK season , we were always able to get on all the major rides easily in a day. Obviously check out Tower Of Terror, Rock N Roller Coaster, Great Movie Ride, Animation Tour, Backstage Tour, Star Wars, and The Walt Disney Story! The theming and cast members are great and as long as you plan your day properly and use FASTPASS right, you will have a relaxing time!
"MGM"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by WDW-Imagineer
Rating: Not rated  
MGM is a great park for a half-day trip. Tower of Terror, Backlot Tour, Great Movie Ride, Muppets 3D all should NOT be missed. A great park, although not quite the park to stay an entire day at.
"Three Hour Park"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by Scooter
Rating: Not rated  
If you don't like Live stage shows, you can do this park in 3 hours. Too many shops, not enough bang for your buck. Tower of Terror, RockNRoller coaster, Star Tours, and MuppetVision 3D are must sees. I spend half a day here and then take the ferry boat over to EPCOT's World Showcase and finish the day with Illuminations. I hear Fantasmic is great too but I was too bored to stick around until 8:00 PM to watch it.
"enjoy"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
THIS PARK HAS IT ALL. THRILL RIDES- TOWER OF TERROR,ROCK N ROLLACOASTER OR SHOWS-INDIANNA JONES,HUNCHBACK. KIDS SHOWS- BEAR IN THE BIG BLUE HOUSE . LEARN ABOUT ANIMATION OR ENJOY WALKING THROUGH HOLLYWOOD AND TAKE A GREAT MOVIR RIDE. THEN FINISH THE DAY AT FANTASMIC !!11
"Fantastic"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by renthead7
Rating: Not rated  
This is by far my favorite park, mostly because I love movies and anything to do with movies. The shows here are excellent, I'm partial to Beauty & the Beast Live on Stage and Muppet Vision 3D; and the rides are fabulous too, my personal favorite being the Rock N Roller Coaster.
"looks good-no substance"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by mtaft
Rating: Not rated  
Like the meringue topping on a pie, this park looks great but is all fluff. If it wasnt for Tower of Terror and Rock n Rollercoaster, I'd never visit again. Food service is awful- SciFi has great potential but overpriced food and arrogant, uncaring staff. The park is poorly laid out and is obviously rushed to be the opening of Universal Studios
"AMAZING!"
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2002 by blink148
Rating: Not rated  
While being the smallest ofthe parks, time andtime again I find it the best!
"The glamour of showbiz!"
Reviewed on Aug 26, 2002 by wdwmagic
Rating: Not rated  
The Disney MGM Studios combines the best in rides, live entertainment and Hollywood style glitz and glamour. As well as being a guest themepark, it is also a live action working studio and animation studio. Productions there have included “From the Earth to the Moon”, “Marvin’s Room,” “Passenger 57,” “Oscar,” “Quick Change,” “Ernest Saves Christmas,” “Splash Too,” “Separate But Equal”, “Instinct”, “Sheena,” “Full House,” “Wheel of Fortune,” “World Championship Wrestling,” “ESPN College Football Awards,” “Talk Soup,” “Step By Step,” “Barbara Walters Special” and “Live! With Regis & Kathie Lee.” The Studios is home to two of Orlandos premiere themed thrill rides, The Twilight Zone Tower of Terror, and Rock n Roller Coaster Starring Aerosmith. There is also the hilarious Muppet Vision 4D, Star Tours, and the center piece of the park, The Great Movie Ride. Beyond the rides and shows, the Studios offers an immersive environment that is unrivalled. Extensively themed walkways and boulevards really do give the impression of being in a another time and place, with some great eye candy along the way! When the night draws in, the Studios come alive with stunning lighting designs throughout the park. The highlight of any nighttime at the Studios is the hugely popular FANTASMIC!. A night show not to be missed! With the emphasis on thrill rides, the Studios is aimed more at teens and adults, and provides a welcome change of pace from some of the other parks.
"Could be better"
Reviewed on Aug 26, 2002 by futureceo
Rating: Not rated  
Rockin Roller Coaster is way overrated. The ride is too short. The Star Wars-Muppets side is empty compared to the other side. The park is small and theirs hardly any rides on the other side except Star Tours.
"MGM - not my cup of tea"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by RobFL
Rating: Not rated  
MGM is all about it's thrills on one half of the park. They are the major draw. The rest of the park seems to be lacking however. There is no distinct feel to MGM, but rather a rehash of sets and vista found elswhere and while intentional, it's not effective. Not to mention, Fantasmic is a drawn out glorification of every Disney animation ever made, with extra emphasis on Mickey merely to make the kiddies drool. It's cute for kids, but mind numbing for adults.
"Disney-MGM Studios review"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by wdwcrazy
Rating: Not rated  
This park has it all. Thrills, shows, slow rides, and a giant hat. This park is probably the second best park at Walt Disney World. It features two of the best thrill attraction at Walt Disney World, Rock'n'Rollercoaster and Tower of Terror. You are put into the movies with the Great Movie ride, Star Tours, and the Indiana Jones Stunt show. The Giant Sorcerer Mickey hat stands 122 Ft tall and is the sybmol for the park. At night, you can take a journey into Mickey's Imagination with Fantasmic nightly. It is probably the best show that you will ever see. Make sure you don't miss anything at this park.
Disney's Hollywood Studios
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site