Dinosaur reviews

DinoLand U.S.A., Disney's Animal Kingdom
Reader rating Reader rating 8.8 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.8  
"Dino-Tastic!"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2013 by Baybay
Rating: 10  
The ride was phenomenal. OMG. I went on a total of 10 times!! The ride is not scary so don't be afraid to ride. It's Dinoriffic!!!
"Exciting "
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2013 by Meg
Rating: 10  
Best ride. Not in animal kingdom. Not in disney world. Not even in Florida. Just best ride. Period.
"Date With a Dino"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2013 by Din0saur
Rating: 10  
This Ride is absolute perfection! When you walk in it seems like your going into a prehistoric museum, only to find that you are actually entering a institute dedicated to studying dinos. The plot line for the ride is genius. You know your in for a wild ride when Dr. Seeker says that 'you will find the dino before the meteor hits', winks and then sends you off on an "unathorarised field trip". This ride is definitely a thrill ride. But not as scary as people make it out to be. The ride is Dark and Jerky, but there are no sudden drops or anything like that. Seriously, if you are over 8 years old and afraid of this ride you are a total pansy. This is coming from a person who is afraid to ride Expedition Everest, Tower of Terror, Rock n' Roller coaster or even splash mountain. Even my seven year old sister went on and she was not afraid. In fact, her first time riding she suggested going on even more times. Last week we went on six times! It was a blast! Eveytime we go on we make silly faces and pose for the picture at the end. Animal Kingdom is not the most fun park in Disney World, but its definitely worth a trip to ride on Dinosaur! ??
"GREAT EVERY TIME!"
Reviewed on Mar 12, 2013 by grownup kid
Rating: 10  
this ride is amazing! it has the perfect balance of thrills without being too extreme, it reaches all age groups and can still scare any age. At 26 I still get scared and always have a funny picture from the ride. Its one of the best rides in Disney World and definitely the best ride in AK.
"Meteor shower in range"
Reviewed on Feb 26, 2013 by AimYourBrent
Rating: 10  
The first time I rode this I thought I was going to die. I would either be eaten by a dinosaur or the asteroid impact was going to be the end of us. What an amazing attraction! An absolute must do!!! Best ride in Animal Kingdom.
"So Scary!!!"
Reviewed on Aug 20, 2012 by BeautifulTomorrow
Rating: 8  
It's a great ride, but definitely the one that scares me the most!!! I'm not one for things popping out at me!!!
"Love it:)"
Reviewed on Feb 21, 2012 by sstile
Rating: 10  
This is close to being my favorite ride in WDW! I love it! I alos love the posts about being too scared lol! But seriously if you're scared of Dino's I would recomend skipping cause lets just say the next person in your seat won't be too happy! But I love it! Also, I was like thirteen the first time I went on and kept my eyes open the whole time. LOVE IT! Definatley a MUST DO!
"The only GREAT attraction in Dinoland!"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2011 by WondersOfLife
Rating: 9  
This ride is absolutely amazing! Despite what some people will say. Rule #1: You must not be afraid of the dark. Rule #2: You must like to be jerked around like most thrill rides. Rule #3: You must love the fact that huge dinosaurs are trying to kill you. (=
"Awesome!!!!"
Reviewed on Jul 03, 2011 by zacopeland18
Rating: 10  
So fun! So scary! And there never seems to be a wait. I always ride it twice!
""..what could go wrong?""
Reviewed on Jun 01, 2011 by Spinlock
Rating: 10  
First: Dinosaur is NOT Indiana Jones, just like Body Wars was not Star Tours and Test Track will not be CARS. I don't know why you would compare the two.

This is one of Disney's BEST dark rides. Off the beaten path at Animal Kingdom you find the Dino Institute which puts you on an "unauthorized" field trip back in time to find a particular Iguanadon, one of the characters in the ride that most people won't even know is from a Disney movie. Well, you land right before the giant asteroid hits the earth and also catch the attention of a Carnotaurus, the Darth Maul version of a T-Rex. So, with all that, it IS loud and IS bumpy and IS scary!
I actually manned a Time Rover by myself one rainy day and was TERRIFIED that maybe that Carnotaurus might just get me with no one looking.
This ride is well written, designed, and just plain fun! It blows away Jurassic Park at Islands of Adventure. If you have a kid that gets scared easy, don't be fooled by the nice looking Aladar statue outside the ride and the tame building; they WILL walk out crying. But if you have a brave little guy or girl, put them on the inside of the car and let them have a real adventure!!
"Way to scary for a 22 year old guy"
Reviewed on May 31, 2011 by guardboy21
Rating: 1  
Yes, i'm 22, but Dinosaur was way to scary for me. I was fine with the motion simulator, but the Dinosaurs are super intimidating. I did not look up at all after the first couple seconds when the dinosaurs appeared. I will never ride this one again.
"Not our dino"
Reviewed on May 17, 2011 by Hot4Hudgens
Rating: 9  
I can ride Dinosaur over and over. Never a dull moment. Plus, it's as quotable a Disney attraction there is.
"Has grown on me"
Reviewed on May 27, 2010 by Batphobic
Rating: 8  
This one has grown on me. The first time I rode it I enjoyed it but also thought it was a little too bumpy and frantic. But the more I go on it the more I enjoy it. It's better if you try to get in to the story. And you see more with each ride (goes along with the frantic statement above - it's got some great effects... but it's so fast at times you don't get a chance to appreciate them). I still think the acting is a little kooky and geared to young kids (even tho the ride is too scary for them!).
"Thrilling!"
Reviewed on May 11, 2010 by MBAlwaysDisney
Rating: 9  
This ride is loud, rough, and overall thrilling!... For the older crowd. This ride is not for the little ones unless they are really into loud noises, the dark, a really rough ride, and a dinosoar popping out of no where. This ride is really good for teens and parents though. It's alot fun but can be scary and rough to some. I have yet to ride this ride without covering my eyes...and ears..
"Fun and scary!"
Reviewed on Apr 24, 2010 by Shay15104
Rating: 10  
This ride is great, it is bumpy, scary, and so much fun! It may be slightly scary for some of the youngsters..but it is so fun and amazing how everything is.
"~----AMAZING----~"
Reviewed on Feb 28, 2010 by WDW FTW
Rating: 10  
Ok so a ton of people are probably complaining, too loud to rough, well guess what thats the point of the ride. The authentic bumby motion of the ride vehicle is crazy. The preshow, museum, music is great. The animatronics and sounds seem very realistic and theres no SAFE SIDE in the ride. That carnotaurus is coming to you charging from the left chomping from the right and roaring from above, so everyone gets the thrill. This of course makes it even better to see the guests faces on the ride photo. Only downside would be the pterodactyls are just dolls on strings, but thats not enough to bring this down to a 9/10. I've been riding this since i was 4 and it never fails to impress.
"very exciting"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by bia5ngo
Rating: 10  
Dinosaur is a different experience from other rides. Maybe some people aren't such big fans, but i find this ride one of kind. The dinosaurs are always popping out and you never know when. I think it is exciting and everyone should give it a chance.
"A WDW favorite!"
Reviewed on May 17, 2009 by joyousjoy
Rating: 10  
I love this ride! Yes, it's jerky. Yes, the dinosaurs can actually be scary the first time you ride it, but you'll still have a blast! I like to ride it at least a couple of times. After you figure out where they take the picture, ride it again and ham it up for the camera!
"Pretty cheese-y, but so enjoyable! "
Reviewed on Mar 03, 2009 by Penguinmom
Rating: 9  
Okay, some of the effects were pretty silly, but it was so much fun that it didn't even matter! I rode it a couple of times, laughing and smiling the whole time. A definite must-do in AK.
"Dinosaur Review"
Reviewed on Dec 18, 2008 by Stunnerr22
Rating: 9  
It seems to me that a lot of people overlook this attraction. This to me is classic Disney. Wonderful animatronics, great theming, and a fun story all make this a must see when visiting Animal Kingdom.
"Very much enjoy this attraction. "
Reviewed on Nov 16, 2008 by xsupaxmanxsfnex
Rating: 9  
I have met a lot of people that do not like this ride but fro some reason I love it! I love the out of control feeling and being scared at the same time. No matter how much I try to tell myself they are AAs I am still scared. I am not going to try and compare this ride to the ride just like it in DLR because I have never been on it and I don't think you should compare something to another when rating it.
"Quite a thrill!"
Reviewed on Oct 20, 2008 by BrownDerby07
Rating: 9  
Those Dinosaurs are very realistic! Surprisingly this ride scared me more than any of the bigger rides. Certainly an experience you wont want to miss if you are at AK!
"Great adventure."
Reviewed on Jul 18, 2008 by monorail_silver
Rating: 10  
This is a great thrill ride, not only in the movement of the vehicles, but the animatronics are amazing. The pre-show is always funny and the loading area gives you a sense of adventure. The ride is in complete dark with close encounters with some big teeth. remember to smile for the carnotaurus =).

ps. to previous poster, you rate it a 1....but you haven't ridden it because you are afraid? awesome judgement.
"I am not sure about riding the Dinosaur ride at Disneyworld.."
Reviewed on Jun 09, 2008 by batulo128
Rating: 1  
HI:

This is my first time and i would appreciate anyojne who won't judge me about riding this Disosaur ride.. I am 45 years of age, i love going to Disneyworld but my wife insists about going on this ride..

I have seen it on you tube a few times and it looks very scary.. I don't have a problem with dark rides in general but if a disnosaur is going to be right next to me, I don't want to have a cardiac arrest on the spot..

She thinks i am being a "woos" perhaps but i am trying to mentally prepare myself to go on when we arrive next month..

Thanks for any suggestions...
"THIS RIDE IS DEFINITELY A BLAST IN THE PAST!!!!!"
Reviewed on Apr 23, 2008 by ctxak98
Rating: 10  
DINOSAUR is my all time favorite ride in WALT DISNEY WORLD . it is an exhilerating ride which takes you into the cretaceous period of the dinosaur right before an asteroid is about to make you and the hungry carnotaurus thats chasing you extinct. I love this ride even more than the awesome EE. ONly because those AA dinos are incredibly life like. I am at awwww everytime I see the carno that chases you. Totally a ten ride for me.
"Awesome!"
Reviewed on Apr 05, 2008 by tinkerblonde11
Rating: 10  
This is one of the best rides in Disney. It is soo much fun!
"Fabulous!"
Reviewed on Mar 23, 2008 by pelham304
Rating: 9  
I must admit I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this one! I will ride again on my next trip!
"More yawn then roar"
Reviewed on Oct 14, 2007 by Nemofan852
Rating: 5  
I`ll admit this ride is orginal and the preshow is very intresting, but it`s way to jerky and disoranting
"Brilliant"
Reviewed on Oct 02, 2007 by jonnykeogh
Rating: 9  
Climax was the best but the ride itself was impressive. Ive been on this a few times now and it still makes me jump. Brilliant ride. Completely different to things Ive been on before!
"Very fun"
Reviewed on Sep 26, 2007 by toriihunter
Rating: 10  
Warning: THIS RIDE IS NOT FOR PEOPLE WHO CANNOT HANDLE JERKY MOTIONS OR KIDS (OR ANYONE) SKARED BY DINOSAURS
This ride is one of my favorite rides in the World. It starts off with a great preshow, and then you head into the ride. You start off going along, seeing scary sights, and then the computer senses dinosaurs, and you're off, zooming along, this way and that, avoiding dinosaurs and meteors. The audio-animitronics are some of the best, and the ride is very frantic and fun. A must-see.
"I Love This Ride"
Reviewed on May 12, 2007 by tiggerzgirl83
Rating: 10  
This is probably my favorite ride in Disney. It is so cool how they put this one together. I use to love Dino's when I was a kid and I just feel like a kid again. I always laugh alot on this ride for some reason. I just love it. I miss how they had the last dino at the end come out at you though. I think they changed it alittle because it was to scary for kids or something.
"Maybe the best ride in Disney...."
Reviewed on May 10, 2007 by KevGuy
Rating: 9  
It was pretty good, of course I'm jaded as a first timer but this was one of the best rides we wnet on!!
"great experience"
Reviewed on Apr 25, 2007 by lexi197
Rating: 9  
Wow! I was amazed when I went on this ride and frightened half to death! But it was a good ride- not just trying to throw things at you but actually having some kind of mission. It was interesting to see the different Dinosaurs, expecially the ones mentioned in the sort of pre-show (not the movie with mrs. hucstable).

Overall, this is exactly what Disney is famous for. Great experience!
"better than indiana jones!!! "
Reviewed on Apr 15, 2007 by leakyshunt
Rating: 10  
dinosaur rules the disney rides by far...it has a lil bit of everything...dark-bumpy-scary-if you like thrill rides this is the one to do at disney world! i mean you're talking about disney so you know they will not go too far(sad to say)but this ride will blow everyone away...fun fun fun!!!!
"Not Indiana Jones, but better"
Reviewed on Apr 12, 2007 by yeti
Rating: 9  
Dinosaur is perhaps the most pulse-pounding, exciting and scary attraction Disney has ever made. Every single time I ride it, even if its the fifth time in a row, my on-ride photo embarrases me when other people see it. This is an impressively clever ride, as the thrills just keep coming when you think they're finally over. I've heard many people say that this ride isn't the same as Indiana Jones, and they're right, IT'S BETTER! Indiana Jones was an extremely impressive attraction as well, but Dinosaur makes itself a point better because of its intense excitement.
"Not 2 high on thrills"
Reviewed on Mar 05, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 8  
I have never rode Indiana Jones, but this doesn't have a real lot of thrill factor. It has a good story line and really nice animatronics though. There is a lot of technology put into it. The vehicles are high tech and "bounce" with a hydraulic like aparatus. It draws fair sized crowds and is, I think a fun ride!
"Indiana Jones on training wheels"
Reviewed on Feb 13, 2007 by DonnieDarko
Rating: 3  
Take Indiana Jones Adventure. Remove the track exactly as it is out of it's massive show building and put it in a little green warehouse. Paint all the walls black and put some blacklight shrubs here and there. Then build some really nifty animatronics but make sure to spread them out enough so that they don't register and also make sure the most impressive ones are hidden in the dark. Change the audio from thrilling John Williams music to a computer telling us what we can't see and a guy screaming for you to turn from left to right and to go go go! Next remove the massive themed queue and put in a quaint museum and pre-show which are kinda nice. Make sure the load area is larger and more interesting then any show scene in the attraction. Oh and last but not least make sure that when the audience gets to behold are most expensive full body Carnotaurus we flash them in the face and blind them making sure that all the see it it's head and not the rest of it's impressive body.
"Scary for young kids."
Reviewed on Jan 01, 2007 by Darth Plank
Rating: Not rated  
This ride isn\'t the roughest, it\'s the scariest.
"Don't miss out!!!"
Reviewed on Jan 29, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
This ride is quite simply up there with the best and I cannot understand why some people have not picked up on this!

Firstly, the line is easy to navigate and rarely heavy. I lined for 10 mins max on my last visit.

The ride is highly turbulent, scary and fast. The effects are excellent and you really do feel like you are caught in the middle of something catastrophic. All my family loved it and wanted to head straight back into the line which I recommend! You miss out on lots of detail the first time.

Yes, it can be a little dark at times, BUT this only adds to the overall thrill.

Don't miss out on this ride!! You won't regret it!
"One of the best rides eve"
Reviewed on Dec 22, 2005 by WDWFantasmic
Rating: Not rated  
This ride was fantastic! After riding Indiana Jones at Disneyland, I thought this would be a bit of a let down but I was wrong. This ride is thrilling, and has great animatronics. The jerks and turns make this an intense ride but still perfect for big kids. They lowered the height restriction from when it was Countdown to Extinction so now smaller kids can enjoy it too. Personally, I liked it more intense back then but now you can see the dinosaurs more clearly.
"NOT Indiana Jones"
Reviewed on Nov 12, 2005 by brianfuchs
Rating: Not rated  
I keep reading comparisons to Indiana Jones. This ride is no Indiana Jones. It is, however, an incredibly bumpy, jerky, and ROUGH ride. Ride is too dark to take advantage of the visuals. You literally FLY past the few nice visuals that are lit to any degree. Not one of Disney's best pieces of work.
"Good Story"
Reviewed on Nov 06, 2005 by Kacki
Rating: Not rated  
The story line, etc, and theming is excellent, but the ride itself (For me) is not scary, but way too bumpy. Don't get me wrong, I am a teen, but I didn't fully appreciate it. Also, if you have epilepsy (which my sister does) advise against this. Also, children will be extremely afraid.
"most exciting thrill"
Reviewed on Sep 28, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
In most polls, Tower of Terror and Rock 'N Roller Coaster seem to win for biggest thrill, but I think Dinosaur may be the best ride out there for sheer intensity. It's actually quite relentless in places, especially the end. A ride doesn't have to be fast to be thrilling, and Dinosaur is not fast. Rather, what makes this ride so intense is not purely the physical movements of the ride vehicles as in Tower and Rock 'N Roller, but in the animatronics combined w/ the vehicle's motion. While I believe the ride is too dark in places (to hide the fact there's nothing but black walls instead of props), several of the dinosaurs are quite scary. My wife pretty much hid her face the last third of the ride.

Some have complained this is the noisiest ride ever, and it's true they could turn the volume down just a bit. On the other hand, the loud volume only adds to the sense of chaos, so in my book, that's generally a plus.
"Favorite at AK"
Reviewed on Dec 08, 2004 by DDuckFan130
Rating: Not rated  
My favorite attraction at Animal Kingdom, this is certainly using newer technology with the EMV's. I'm not going to try to pretend I know about all that technical stuff, so suffice it to say that the ride is very cool. Many parts take place in the dark, so watch the little ones. My little cousin handled Tower of Terror and Space Mountain well, but this ride did end up scaring her.
"Better than Expected"
Reviewed on May 13, 2004 by disney2002
Rating: Not rated  
This attraction does not begin well. The cue is extremely dull. There are vaguely interesting museum type exhibits to look at, but all in all it is an extremely stagnent experience. What's more, the line doesn't seem to move terribly fast -- perhaps this is perceived because of the uninteresting surrounding. The building itself is a bit of a shameless rip-off of the main building from the original Jurassic Park film. After the pre-show, which gets some bonus points for having the extremely wonder Phylicia Rashad as the head of the Dino-Institute, you enter a much more interesting loading area. The ride vehicles, as well as the exact track layout, are directly taken from the Disneyland Indiana Jones attraction. The cars have been appropriately rethemed. Using a special hydrolic system, the vehicle simulate rough terrain through a dinosaur filled landscape. The ride is extremely rough and disorienting. Much takes place in total darkness with very loud sounds. It makes for a fun ride, but leave the kids with grandma and grandpa for this one.
"Scary Fun"
Reviewed on Jan 21, 2004 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
This is one dark, loud, and bumpy ride (not that those are BAD qualities, per se). It has a cool storyline, and the audio-animatronic dinos are plenty scary. Scary enough to traumatize little kids. Fun for teens and adults, though.
"dinosaur!"
Reviewed on Jan 15, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
The que line for this ride isn't great outside, but inside is pretty amazing. Bill Nye the Science Guy tells you all about the different theories and possibilites surrounding dinosaures, and you can look at some cool stuff in the walls. it is a very interesting concept to a ride, where the only thing that really moves is your car with hydrolics, there is not many acutal dips in the floor. This is not for those young children (or adults) that scare easily.
"Hang onto your hats!"
Reviewed on Nov 14, 2003 by Michael M Crave
Rating: Not rated  
I'll make no dodges of what will soon be the plain and obvious truth. This is by far my favorite Walt Disney World attraction. Disney's "Dinosaur", a movie I haven't seen, has absolutely no relation to this attraction of the same name - a shameless marketing gimmic is what I've come to understand it as. It was previously called "Countdown to Extinction", which I rode when it was called that also - there is no difference, although you'll find many a Disney geek who swears with a passion that it was a better ride before the name change (they slowed it down; toned it down. all false - or if its true, not noticeable at all). The other beef Disney nerds/terds have against this attraction is that it is an exact clone of Disneyland's "Indiana Jones" ride, with Dino theming being substituted for Indy theming, of course. But I offer this chilling question: WHO GIVES A HOOT? I find it a very creative, not to mention challenging way, to clone a Disney ride without being completely unoriginal. It's better than there being two Indy's, as far as I'm concerned, since now I can go to Disneyland and have that surely amazing ride to experience for a first time some day. Now that we've got that out of the way, let's take a look at this amazing ride. "Dinosaur" is the perfect combination of a classic Disney dark ride and a top-notch thrill ride. It's like Space Mountain meeting Pirates of The Carribean and Star Tours - minus the outdatedness of the three, plus the cutting edge of theme park ride technology. If that formula is confusing to you, let me put it more simply. "Dinosaur" is a fast-paced time machine dark ride, where you are rocketed back in time to just before the massive meteor hits and ends most life on Earth. What are you doing there? You're there to kidnap a rare Dinosaur! But that won't be easy, of course, mostly because of the Dino's peers than the Dino itself (in fact, you'll find the Dino you're trying to catch rather friendly and helpful to your ultimate purpose: to stay alive!). Dodging comets, flying Dino's, and huge ones that like to chase time traveling tourists, you'll find the less than four minute ride to be more than long enough to completely satisify your themed adventure needs - unless you're not into that whole "We're gonna die!" thing, which I can understand, especially if you have a weak child - keep them away. "Dinosaur" is one of the best rides at Walt Disney World, and, even though it is in the worst park of the four, it alone makes it worth a trip, but I suggest you do it with a park hopper - I wouldn't pay a full day's admission to come and do this alone, especially considering that the types who will love this ride may very well hate the rest of the park. Have fun...
"The Best Dino Ride!"
Reviewed on Aug 10, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
This is a great dinosaur ride, but I wouldn't recommend it for children because it is quite intense. The story is very cute. You and your party are going to be sent back into time to observe conditions when dinosaurs roamed the Earth. But your mission is hijacked by an eager young scientist who gives your party a secret mission: bring back an iguanodon. The ride is bumpy and jerky, and there are storms and menacing dinosaurs, but it's good fun.
"Great Ride"
Reviewed on Aug 04, 2003 by miamimickey72
Rating: Not rated  
I think this is a GREAT RIDE. I agree with the rest on the fact that this is THE ride to go to AK for. Most rides at AK are good...but this takes the prize. A must do.
"Disney's Answer to JP"
Reviewed on Mar 08, 2003 by MickeyMoose15
Rating: Not rated  
Disney's DINOSAUR is definitely the best ride at Disney's Animal Kingdom though it somewhat ignored because of its stupid location. Why did Disney have to put it that far back. Hopefully the new bridge being built between Asia and Dinoland USA for Forbidden Mountain will help DINOSAUR out a little bit because Chester and Hester's Dino-Rama isn't. Disney should change the name back to Countdown to Extinction since DINOSAUR (the movie) was complete dud at the box office. They should also return the old statue in front and get rid of that ridiculous Aladar statue. The music is better since it came from the movie but should include the music with the ride and not just the pre-show. The pre-show is pretty funny but they need more then just that little room. The theming is great through out the attraction. Sometimes the ride slows down for some odd reasons and the thrill is killed then but it hapeens on so few occassions that you can usually just ignore it.
"We're in!"
Reviewed on Oct 28, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
An excellent AK attraction! While terrifying for many, this excellent thrill ride gives us a great education on Dinosaurs - as we're about to be blown by meteors! It does have some great humorous qualities...just make sure to keep your eyes open!
"It is real fun to ride"
Reviewed on Oct 09, 2002 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
This might be the reason to go to the Animal Kingdom--well this the safari and the Festival of the Lion King. This park really does have great potential. Besides the point. Excellent thriil ride. This is second in my book behin TOT. Event though (and maybe I am imagining it changed) I liked it better when it was CTX because it seemed a quicker.
"Etreme"
Reviewed on Oct 02, 2002 by wdwfanatic17
Rating: Not rated  
Can we say FUN!!!! this ride is awesome. if you miss this ride you missed everything. Note- young kids should not go on this ride, it is dark, fast, bumpy, and ther are dinosaurs popping out at you from every direction
"EXTREME TERROR!!"
Reviewed on Sep 24, 2002 by ron777
Rating: Not rated  
When i first rode Dinosaur in 1998 I was amaized at how much was put in to make this ride what it is today. I felt like i realy went back to the time when dinosaurs ruled the earth. But to tell you the truth the experience was very frightning at times, especialy when the carnotaur jumped out at the car. The end of the ride was the best part.
"AK's Finest"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2002 by Brett
Rating: Not rated  
First off I'd like to say that, in my humble opinion, this is easily the highlight of the Animal Kingdom. It's Tough to Be A Bug is fantastic, Kilmanjaro Safari holds it's own, but Dinosaur is the REASON I travel to Animal Kingdom. The ride system is excellent. It's the same as the one used for Disneyland's Indiana Jones ride. The thrill and motion you get from the vechiles is superb. Some dinosaurs throughout the ride realistic, at least in comparsion to Universe of Energy and Islands of Adventure's Jurassic Park River Adventure. The only problem I have with the ride is it's extremelly dark effect. It may set the mood, but it leaves a lot to be desired for design purposes. Better lighting could make this ride an A-list experience. If you hit the ride early, lines are very short, so before you hop on the Safari, hit this ride. Why? Because it is just plain better.
"Underrated"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by Wilson
Rating: Not rated  
When I first went on Dinosaur, I had no expectations. I had no idea what it was, but I was pleasantly surprised. It's fast, dark (sometimes a little too dark to see, they could work on that, although it adds to the tension), intense, and scary at times. Probably not a good choice for those with young children. Not for everyone, but this is probably my favorite ride at AK.
"Dinosaur rocks!!!"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by Bryy2001
Rating: Not rated  
It's probably one of the most overlooked thrill rides at WDW. It easily makes the top ten list of best Disney attractions in ANY park, those who haven't taken a time rover trip yet should!
"DARK ride :)"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by Gracy_hm
Rating: Not rated  
This gives Dark Ride a new meaning! I was expecting somehing good and it was until we entered the forest and it was too dark to see and set pieces (if their were any) and the Audio-Animatronics though impressive were few and far between. I also would have liked to see some kind of set invoving water and effects to make the forrest seem massive not dark and poorly done!
"HYPE"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
OVER-HYPED SET IN CAR WHILE HYDRALLICS SHOVE THE BODY UP AND DOWN.IF YOU MUST GO LOOK FOR A HIDDEN MICKEY ON THE HEAD OF A DINOSAUR
"Not for small children"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by disneyfamily
Rating: Not rated  
Adults and yound adults should love this ride. Be warned, children under the age of 7 or 8 will be tramatized. I personally witnessed a 5 or 6 year old biting into his mothers arm in terror.
"Time travel at its best!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by Genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
Dinosaur is a great ride for all ages!The ride is a little rocky and can throw you back and forth but a great thrill! The point of the ride is for you "test guys" to go back in time only to take a dinosaur back to present time!But when they send you back to close to the meteor shower.....let me say things could get a little ugly! Hold on to your hats and bags cause its gonna get bumpy!A must-ride for all thrill-seekers!
"Travel through Time"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
It's dark. It's bumpy It's full of dinosaurs. It's a lot of fun. Guests enter the Dino Institute to board Time Rovers that take them back in time on a mission to retrieve a live dinosaur (Aladar for those who recognize him from the film DINOSAUR). This ride is a great mix a thrills and hummor and is a not-to-be-missed experience in the park.
"Time Travel"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by DisneyInsider
Rating: Not rated  
In this attraction you have to go back in time to save the last Dinosaur. After your Time Rover's coordinates are reset you go back to just before the Dinosaur's become extinct. The mission gets tough when you are faced against the Carnotaurus dinosaur. This dino doesn't appreciate you being there and tries to get rid of you. You are also racing against time to get back before the meteor shower hits. The ride is very bumpy, but a lot of fun. Older audiences will like it, but parents should use discretion for their children.
Dinosaur
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site