Cirque du Soleil reviews

West Side, Downtown Disney
Reader rating Reader rating 6.0 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 6.0  
"OK show"
Reviewed on Oct 23, 2008 by csalleh
Rating: 6  
We've seen many other Cirque performances and this is a fairly typical one. Personally, I believe they are all overpriced but La Nouba is a somewhat pleasant change if you've spent a lot of time in the parks.
"Worth the Ticket Price"
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2008 by emba33
Rating: 8  
I have been fortunate enough to see several Cirque shows in various venues over the past ten years. While this is not the most spectacular, it is an excellent show. There are elements of dexterity, strength, balance -- with beautiful customing, live orchestra, original compositions, inventive sets.

This is a good show for kids as long as they are not too young to appreciate it. Adults should find this a great show which complements the Disney style of entertainment well. Downtown Disney is a great way to spend an evening. This is a great centerpiece for that evening.

Also ... I am a large individual, and I found the seating was fine. We were lucky enough to sit in the front row ... and only picked up the tickets the night before a show (so don't assume a show is just sold out ... you never know).

Have an exjoyable evening. Great show.

/\/\/\/\ the Shamus /\/\/\/\
"An amazing show"
Reviewed on Feb 23, 2007 by wdwmagic
Rating: 9  
La Nouba is one of those shows that really does amaze the audience each and every time. There are things done in here that are quite incredible, and defy the capabilities of most regular humans. As well as incredible acrobatics and physical stunts, there is a great musical score and vocal performances, all done live. To complete the scene, there are some great large scale sets.

The theater is a wonderful $10 million custom built venue, all seats have an excellent view.

I highly recommened seeing this show at least once, its worth every penny of the asking price!
"If you a Person of any Size/Weight, read this"
Reviewed on Feb 05, 2007 by Madam Leota
Rating: 1  
Before you go know this, the theater is small. I had gone before when I was working for Disney and checked out the theater. The seats that are on the 2nd and 3rd tier are alot larger and WAY more comfortable than those close to the stage.

When I checked out the theater, I actually sat in one of the 2nd tier seats to see how comfortable they were. I wanted to know since I figure if I'm going to a 2 hours show, I better know if I'm going to like the seat.

I won tickets so me and my husband go to see the show. I get my tickets and they are in seats 4 rows from the stage. These seats are ALOT SMALLER. Now this is a problem because I'm a large person. There was no way I could sit in this seat for 30 minuets, let alone 2 hours. My husband I got up and went to find an usher so we could ask about changing the seats. Now this usher did not speak English. This is a problem. They have no clue what I'm asking them. I finally get them to understand that I need to change seats because the seats are too small for me on the 4th row. I told them I'd even prefer something way up in the top area, even on the side where the view isn't so good. Well, the usher disapears for about 15 minuets and when she came back she had 2 plastic chairs. She wanted us to sit in even SMALLER Chairs up on the main aisle where they wheelchairs go. I was so hurt I just left. I will NEVER go to another Cirque show becasue of this.

I'm writing this to let anyone who is larger know that if you really want to see this show, then make sure to get seats on the 2nd or 3rd tier. They are larger and padded. The seats that are on the main floor (below to main walkway up to the stage) are smaller and have no padding.

"Amazing!!!"
Reviewed on Jun 09, 2006 by ciciwoowoo
Rating: Not rated  
This is a must-see!!!

My son is 9 and he loved it as well! Now he wants to go to Vegas to catch another Cirque show.

Fantistic show, fantastic music. Expensive, but worth every penny.
"Weird but awesome!"
Reviewed on May 22, 2006 by Lucretia
Rating: Not rated  
The adults in my \"family gathering\" wanted to see this, and I reluctantly agreed. I was afraid that my daughter would be bored- well, I couldn\'t have been more wrong!!!! The show defies explanation- it is weird and funky, but way cool! Despite the length, (and NO INTERMISSION!) the time flew by. It was truly one of the highlights of our trip, and i thought that I would hate it! Just goes to show, you have to be open to new things!
"Visually STUNNING"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2004 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
The only criticism I can level against this show is that it is a little bit long (almost two hours, including the pre-show). However, for the most part, the two hours fly by in a phenomenally choreographed, beautifully costumed visual spectacle. This show is a feast for eyes of all ages. There is so much to see, it's impossible to take it all in. Every "scene" has multiple main performers and multiple background performers, all interesting, all extremely talented.

Make sure you're there 15 minutes before the show starts. You do NOT want to miss the pre-show.
"wonderful!"
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
I love the Cirque shows, and La Nouba does not disapoint. Great for the whole family, and there are no smelly big animals. the young chinese girls and their act is amazing, and probably my favoite part of the whole show!
"Magical!"
Reviewed on Jul 12, 2003 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
This is a must-see at one point. It's NOT your average circus!
"Pricy"
Reviewed on Jul 12, 2003 by WDWFred
Rating: Not rated  
NOT sure what I saw but it was busy and not what I expected. For the price and the long range seating, I was not impressed.
"Amazing"
Reviewed on Jun 28, 2003 by SpectroMan
Rating: Not rated  
What is great about La Nouba is that it can be taken at many different levels. One can see it and just focus on the acts and the fun and amusing atmosphere the show creates. You could see it as the circus coming to town and how the urbanites react to them, or on its deepest level, La Nouba can be seen as a child's mind where all her dreams can come true. Will her mind be conformed by society or will she be a unique person?
"Expensive, but worth it!"
Reviewed on Jun 24, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
La Nouba is absolutely wonderful, if you can work it into your budget and have the time to see it, don't pass it up. This is not your average circus, for one thing, there are no animals. The performers do some of the most amazing things I've ever seen human beings do. One fellow does a balancing act with chairs that had me covering my eyes, and then peeking through them to see what he was going to do next, how much higher he could possibly go. There was also a troupe of little girls who had a great high energy act involving spools and ropes. They were great audience favorites! See this, you won't regret it! (But don't take younger children, they might get bored.)
"Worth Every Penny"
Reviewed on Apr 26, 2003 by rickeff
Rating: Not rated  
A few years ago, I declined to go to La Nouba because I just couldn't see spending an extra $150 for the two of us after spending SO much money at Disney already. The next time I went to WDW, I decided, "What the heck?" I know kick myself for not seeing it the first time as well! I see it every time I visit WDW and will continue to do so. By far the best night out there is at WDW.
"addictive"
Reviewed on Apr 15, 2003 by ionfreeway
Rating: Not rated  
If you've never seen a Cirque Du Soleil show, this is a good one to start with. I've seen 3 different shows live (so far) and this was the best of them all. Don't let the ticket price scare you away, you'll definitely come away satisfied (understatement).
"Spectacuar"
Reviewed on Feb 16, 2003 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
Cirque du Soleil is what you get when you mix a circus and Broadway-style stage show. The show playing at Downtown Disney, La Nouba, is definaty one of the most spectacular things you'll see at WDW. I would highly recogmend seeing this show unless you are traveling wit young children.
"Awe-Inspiring!"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by jabas
Rating: Not rated  
That ticket price may seem expensive, but it's worth every cent. The performers do things you would think humanly impossible, and shift tone from act to act from simple beauty, to comedy to jaw-dropping acrobatics. It goes far beyond "circus" to an exhilarating, fully-rounded testament to human ability and prowess.
"SURPRISED"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
WAS DRAGGED TO THIS. BUT BY THE END OF THIS SHOW I FOUND MYSELF SMILING. NOT YOUR CIRCUS FROM YESTERDAY. A LOT OF ENTERTAINING ACTS WITHOUT THE ANIMALS. (THANK GOD) HIGH ENERGY ACTS FOLLOWED EACH OTHER QUICKLY OR SOMETIMES TOGETHER. I DIDN'T HAVE TIME TO LOOK AT MY WATCH OR WHINE ABOUT BEING BORED. IF THE COST OF THE TICKET OR MEMORIES OF A PAST CIRCUS DON'T BOTHER YOU BE SURE TO SEE THIS.
"Positively Breathtaking.."
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2002 by AliciaLuvzDizne
Rating: Not rated  
This isnt just a circus... Not by anymeans... This is a FANTASTIC show put on by very talented performers that will (littereally) have you on the edge of your seats... There is so much to see, and it has quite a bit of humor in it as well. I highly recommend this show to anyone looking for something different!
"you gotta see it!!"
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2002 by Maria
Rating: Not rated  
You are going to be amazed! Imagine being in a Broadway show.
"A MUST SEE SHOW"
Reviewed on Aug 18, 2002 by disneycp2000
Rating: Not rated  
If you got the time, check this show out. It's got it acts so amazing you'll wonder how they did it! Make sure you experience it from there center of the theater. Sitting too close to the stage may give you a sore neck.
Cirque du Soleil
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site