Buzz Lightyear's Space Ranger Spin reviews

Tomorrowland, Magic Kingdom
Reader rating Reader rating 8.5 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.5  
"Time for a Change"
Reviewed on Oct 14, 2014 by Brent
Rating: 6  
Dreamflight was a fantastic attraction. Buzz is fun, but now with Toy Story Midway Mania at DHS, this piece of real estate in Tomorrowland could be better utilized with something different. Something more traditional Tomorrowlandesque.
"...Midway Mania Is Better!"
Reviewed on Apr 05, 2013 by Imogen
Rating: 5  
Yes, it's good fun, but it has quite a few downsides. To start, the lasers do NOT have great accuracy, and with all the fluorescent lights around you, the laser is almost impossible to see. I'm sorry, but once you ride Midway Mania, you will never want to board Buzz again!
"Always Fun"
Reviewed on Dec 27, 2011 by Lights83
Rating: 9  
Love going to this ride, Everytime we visit WDW we always end up going here. It's one of the few rides that the whole family is willing to go on.
"Something new could go here"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2011 by WondersOfLife
Rating: 5  
Now that we have a new version of a shooting Toy Story attraction (Toy Story Mania in Hollywood Studios), this should be changed to a new dark ride. Honestly, it's pretty outdated. Otherwise if you dont compared it to Toy Story Mania, it's pretty fun.
"Very fun!"
Reviewed on Jul 03, 2011 by zacopeland18
Rating: 9  
My wife and I are very competitive and we always have fun on this ride trying to beat each other's score.
"Fun for all"
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2011 by elw316
Rating: 9  
This is a good ride that everyone can enjoy. My wife could care less about the "game" and just takes pictures. The kids love to try and beat each other. Nothing to worry about on this ride.
"Fun for everyone"
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2010 by 2Simple
Rating: 8  
All ages will enjoy this ride. I really enjoy the "competition" to see if I'm a better shot than my friends are (I usually am). It's not really scary or fast, so everyone can ride. The waiting area is pretty cool, and it really loads fast. I would definitely recommend trying this out. Midway Mania may be a better "ride", but that line is absolutely horrible, so until it clears up in the future, try this one out.
"Fun in the su- I mean- dark. "
Reviewed on Apr 19, 2010 by egirl98
Rating: 9  
Fun for all. Lets dads get competitive, kids become space rangers, and it seems all have fun! Kids love getting instructions from buzz at the begging of the ride (in the quece or however you spell it) . He is much like Mr. Potato head in Toy Story Mania. Then, a favorite scene is the finally. When you and buzz take down Zurg together!!! GREAT FUN!!!
"FUN!"
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2010 by mastercat999
Rating: 10  
this ride is sooooo fun!
"you should buzz over to this ride"
Reviewed on Oct 19, 2009 by PrincessJen
Rating: 10  
Alright, I admit - it's not better than Toy Story Mania, but it's great! I like that in this ride you can turn your own car around, so you have more control. The theme and story is great and it's really fun!
"The Father of Toy Story Mania"
Reviewed on Aug 13, 2009 by jtizzle1023
Rating: 7  
Its not a bad ride, i wouldnt miss it if i was visiting the resort but it has long lines and it all ways breaks down when your on the ride. Takes a lot of time
"Fantastic For Many Reasons"
Reviewed on Aug 12, 2009 by 
Rating: 10  
This attraction is pure brilliance, whether its the story line, the competitiveness of the scoring or to just sit back and admire the scenery. You will enjoy trying to get the best score in your party.( Which i previously have achieved with a perfect score of 999,999) and that certainly made a talking point for the rest of the day.
"great"
Reviewed on Jun 16, 2009 by jetsmom
Rating: 10  
my 6 year old son's favorite ride. try to get a FP, but the wait is def worth it. it is different everytime. we like that you can spin your own car for more points. great job disney.
"So fun!"
Reviewed on Mar 03, 2009 by Penguinmom
Rating: 8  
We rode this over and over again. My husband kept trying to beat his previous score, and I just thought it was good, mindless fun. It's no TSM, but it's a great ride!
"Top 5 attraction for me"
Reviewed on Dec 01, 2008 by hoke2007
Rating: 10  
This ride gets better and better. It's so much fun and it never gets old.
"cool"
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2008 by Disneygirl91395
Rating: 10  
thsi ride is very fun for all
"Car too "jerky""
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 6  
In no way, shape, or form is this better than TSM. We also thought our car jerked around to much when we were moving to get the targets.
"Very Cool!"
Reviewed on Jul 26, 2008 by readytogo
Rating: 10  
Pure fun for the kids, we ran out and around a few times, they loved it!!! The "scenery" is just awesome, very very cool!
"great game to challenge people in our party for the most points"
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
make sure you get a souvinear photo of you on the ride :) I love the challenge of getting the most points. Also amazing colors
"A new spin on a classic ride"
Reviewed on Oct 14, 2007 by Nemofan852
Rating: 9  
This is pure insanity! This ride is more addicting then potato chips
"great ride"
Reviewed on Jun 29, 2007 by rabuck50
Rating: 10  
Me and my brothers always enjoy it
"A Fun Experience"
Reviewed on Feb 02, 2007 by KrazyKemp
Rating: 7  
Made to feel like an arcade shooting gallery, you assume the role of "space rangers" to attempt to foil the evil Emperor Zurg's plot to...destoy...something...

You control the cars, and shoot at "Z"s all over the attraction. Certain "Z"s will give you more points, and the game itself is addicting.

When you are done shooting those blasted "Z"s, you compare scores with your shooting buddy...and find out who the best "space ranger" is!
"A masterpiece"
Reviewed on Jan 01, 2007 by Darth Plank
Rating: Not rated  
I love this ride! It is a work of art. The Zurg Animatronic needs a new voice.
"2 infinity but not beyond"
Reviewed on Feb 13, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
Although not thrilling, this shoot em up has some fun elements...you control you car direction and there are some lovely sets en route. And I cant help having to beat anyone I am with! Good fun, not a particularly long ride, but great for families.
"dark ride 4 vid gamer gen"
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
Great idea for a dark ride to make it interactive. Essentially, this is a combination dark ride and shooting gallery where you shoot at various designated targets along the ride's path. A direct hit causes a reaction from an animatronic, much the way a hit in a shooting gallery causes a response. It's kind of a cheap looking ride, but the gun element is extremely fun, and warrants repeat ridings on the same day. The guest photos are funnier than you'd expect, with sometimes pained looks of concentration on the rider's faces.

Although the Disneyland version is a bit better, the Magic Kingdom features the original version.
"great ride"
Reviewed on Mar 29, 2005 by mike29
Rating: Not rated  
this ride is great and has few thrills but it is fun and u always have to look out for the targets so your always on edge. Overall its a great ride
"Challenging but fun"
Reviewed on Jan 24, 2005 by Shortman04730
Rating: Not rated  
I had a great time on this one...Even tho I only scored like 80,000. Good job guys
"Family favorite"
Reviewed on Dec 12, 2004 by DDuckFan130
Rating: Not rated  
One of the only rides the entire family will go on, regardless of age. I will say the long lines don't usually justify the length of the actual ride, so we usually Fastpass this along with Space Mountain. I will also say I don't do so well in this game, but we always come out of it with a smile because it's a lot of fun!
"Cardboard Rulez!!!!!!"
Reviewed on Nov 10, 2004 by DonnieDarko
Rating: Not rated  
Buzz Lightyear, more like Buzz REFUND!!!!!

Do yourselves a favor and go on Men in Black Alien Attack. Heck, even go on the other Buzz Lightyear rides and you'll see how much of an embarassment this attraction is.

The attraction is shoddily put together, garishly painted, and has an indispellable aura of cheapness. They lead you on with an amazing animatronic in the queue, and then proceed to attack you with Mr. Toad rejects from Planet Z. The attraction deserves credit for being the first of the video game style attractions, but as every year passes it looks weaker and cheaper
"LASER GAME!!!!"
Reviewed on Oct 15, 2004 by StitchEscape04
Rating: Not rated  
Buzz Lightyear's Space Ranger Spin is a fun ride for everyone because you can play a game while on this ride. I thought this ride was very fun, so I did it twice.
"SO SO FUN"
Reviewed on May 24, 2004 by Usarmye2
Rating: Not rated  
My Dad and I went on during a E-night back in 2000 and we had ourselves a blast. It is better to take advantage of the Night time magic hours and E-night for the enjoyment of this ride. Queue Is generally long and you would need a fast pass during the day. So my advice to you is go on later on at night and use a fast pass for Splash or Space Mountain.
"WOW!"
Reviewed on Feb 23, 2004 by BoboJacks
Rating: Not rated  
Its an amazing ride and it is different cause it is so much more interactive than any other ride
"like a video game!"
Reviewed on Jan 15, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
what more can my husband ask for? he has been placed in a real life video game! for those of us oldtimers that loved playing the duck hunt game on the old nintendo, we finally get to strut our stuff with our accuracy of shooting little lazers at things. kids will love it, parents will get a kick out of playing each other, and in the end, everyone gets to be a ranking official of some kind. a great ride!
"A Classic!"
Reviewed on Jan 05, 2004 by StevenT
Rating: Not rated  
What could be better than a ride you can play along with! You have to remember that this replaced that Delta ride. What an improvement! It's just so addicting, you can ride it all day. By the way, here's big scoreing some tips for everybody: 1. Hit the volcano 2. Hit the rotating thing on the top of the transition between one of the rooms (right next to you on the TTA) 3. In the projecter room, focus on ONE of the two sensors on the wall, you'll be more accurate if you keep steady on one instead of switching back and forth every few seconds.
"Day-Glo Colors & Lasers!"
Reviewed on Aug 08, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
What more could a big (or little) kid ask for? Buzz Lightyear is just plain fun! You ride through a shootin' gallery of baddies, firing your laser gun at them, trying to rack up the biggest score you can. This is the kind of ride everyone in the family can enjoy.
"Good Ride!"
Reviewed on Oct 05, 2002 by Brooke
Rating: Not rated  
This fits the theme of Tommarrowland SO well! This ride was a great idea. I love how you can move your own cars, unlike Men in Black Alien Attack at Universal. (I like MIB better though but both are good) Plus, all kids nowadays know and love Buzz Lightyear. All Toy Story fans will enjoy this, and it's a ride you can go on over and over again because each time is different.
"Ride is a lot of fun"
Reviewed on Sep 16, 2002 by kennyj29
Rating: Not rated  
We love this ride. I have an adult family who can't wait to get on this ride. We always have a blast shooting everything and comparing scores. Recommend this hightly. Just a lot of fun.
"Fun Even If You Suck"
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2002 by jabas
Rating: Not rated  
My scores are abyssmal, but I could shoot red laser beams all day if there weren't so many other attractions to get to. Also, it may be the only attraction on property where a ride-system stop is actually a welcome event. And I've always wanted a giant View-Master.
"My son's favorite ride"
Reviewed on Sep 04, 2002 by Buzz Lightyear
Rating: Not rated  
This is my 6 year old son's favorite ride. We usually have to do it a few times each trip. Great entertainment for the young ones. Fun to find the hidden mickey in the queue area. From my name, you know it is a favorite of mine too.
"Rack up Some Points"
Reviewed on Sep 04, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
Buzz Lightyear's Space Ranger Spin is a clever, amusing ride where you're able to personally rack up huge amounts of points by hitting the clearly labeled targets on Dark Emperor Zurg and his henchmen. Be sure and aim for the volcano in one of the last scenes, supposedly it's worth 100,000 points. You have control of the car and can spin it in any direction you please as you fire away at scenes behind and in front of you. There are plenty of targets and the guns seem to work pretty well too. It's great for small children, and fun for bigger kids as well.
"ADDICTIVE"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
YOU KNOW YOU HAVE DONE THIS RIDE WAY TOO MUCH WHEN YOUR THUMB HURTS FROM FIRING YOUR BLASTER.REGARDLESS OF AGE THE COMPETITION FOR THE HIGHEST SCORE BECOMES ADDICTIVE.I HAVE SEEN PEOPLE MAX THE SCORE.
"Interactive Fun"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by WDW-Imagineer
Rating: Not rated  
Great interactive attraction. Provides plenty of fun for kids and parents alike. Fun and addictive ride. Worth any wait.
"Video Arcade style fun!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by Genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
Buzz Lightyear is a great new ride for the magic kingdom!It is very cool to earn points and shoot all the targets on the ride. The aim of the game is to defeat zurg, and get as many points as you can by shooting the targets. Most first timers have a little trouble with getting points, but after going again and again its great fun!No trip to the magic kingdom is complete with out riding buzz lightyears space ranger spin!
"Top 5 Ride"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by SJTSmith
Rating: Not rated  
This is one of the best rides in MK. You can ride this over and over and not get bored. It is a ride for all ages.
"It's Great"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by Katherine
Rating: Not rated  
THis is such a cool ride! It is completely interactive and i think that's great!
"Beam Me Up, Scotty"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by Tramp
Rating: Not rated  
Woohoo...an excellent interactive ride for the entire family... WARNING...this ride can get some fairly long wait times in comparison to it's duration so it's best to grab a fast pass or visit the attraction early morning or late evening. ...Great FUN theming as guests must assist in defeating the Evil Emperor Zurg by using their laser guns to hit various targets...the score is tallied in front of you so that you know how well you've done...there's a joystick that you control to spin the car in the direction of the targets... ...I, personally, found this ride to be a fantastic replacement to the previous Dreamflight attraction and the comparable crowds prove I'm not alone in this thinking. If you go with your kids, take your video camera with you and sit in the car in front of your kids, spin it around, and videotape the entire ride of your kids having a great time...what memories!
"Highly Addictive!"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
Everyone in our family (parents, boys - 3,5,7) loves this ride. Each time through, I see new targets and pay more attention to the targets that trigger other actions. Our family has (happily) gone on this ride more times than any other attraction at WDW. To infinity ... and beyond!
"A Daring Space Mission"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
Probably my favorite Tomorrowland attraction, Buzz Lightyear is a wonderful addition to the Magic Kingdom. The interactive element makes it a differet experience every time you go on it. Still not too good at scorng tons of points yet, bit I have fun trying. Definatly a must-see.
"Defeating Zurg"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
I love this new spin attraction. While Dreamflight wins, this attraction still has its high points. The idea of lasor cannons and aliens is very good, but my only complaint has to be the sets, which are mainly 2-D. Otherwise, it's a neat attraction (but in need of refurbishment with all of those tears on them stickers!)
"attention new recruits!"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by Eeyore
Rating: Not rated  
Help Buzz Lightyear defeat the Evil Emperor Zurg! Buzz Lightyear's Space Ranger Spin is fun for the young and the young at heart. It's an interactive adventure, you are a memember of the green squandron and you must help Buzz take back crystalic fushion cells from Zurg. The wait times for this attraction can get long during the day. Since it's not a long attraction you could feel cheated if you had to stand in a 45 minute line. It's best to hit this attraction first thing in the morning or grab a fast pass.
Buzz Lightyear's Space Ranger Spin
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site