Block Party Bash reviews

Disney's Hollywood Studios
Reader rating Reader rating 6.1 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 6.1  
"Stay away!"
Reviewed on Aug 07, 2009 by tsingleton4
Rating: 1  
This parade (if you can call it that it never moves) is the worst ever. I was very dissapointed. We have tried to see this block party during 2 different trips. The first time we stood in front of the big Hat. We stood there for about 30 minutes before giving up. We could see it but it never moved from the entrance. All they did was jump up and down. Our kids were hot and tired and wanted to do something else. Also it does not fit with the Hollywood theme.
The second time we were trying to leave the park and the parade had started. IT BLOCKS THE EXIT. We had to weave our way through the shops (with a stroller) to get out. So remember it starts at 3pm. Leave before then if you are going to leave early.

I hate it and will be glad when they change it!!!
"Nice the first time, but don't waste your time after"
Reviewed on Jan 01, 2009 by hpyhnt 1000
Rating: 6  
If you like to see performers dancing to run of the mill party music like YMCA you'll like this "parade." However, if you prefer a parade with traditional Disney music and where the characters, not unknown performers, are the stars, then this is not the "parade" for you. I tip my hat to the performers, who really do give it their all, but overall, BPB was nothing special for me. See it once, but not worth a repeat viewing.
"LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!"
Reviewed on Dec 30, 2008 by disneychick53
Rating: 10  
I loved this parade......went back to see it 3 times ....different places along the route...gets everybody dancing....my family loved it too!
"stay clear. not worth your time"
Reviewed on Dec 30, 2008 by tsingleton4
Rating: 1  
this format was a very bad idea especially if you have younger children. We saw the Block Party for the first time in May.
We waited in front of the ear hat and we could see the first stop. We waited for over 15 minutes until our little ones just could not stand it any more. It looked like it was just people jumping up and down. I much prefered the stars and cars parade. We are going back to WDW in March and will definatly skip the Block Party.
"Fun, but..."
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 7  
When we saw BPB, it was extremely hot. I bet the heat index was well into the 100's. And it showed on the CM's in the parade. I really felt bad for them. They looked so exhausted. I was worried a few were about to drop.

There should be some way to modify the performances when it is that hot.
"fun "
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
fun way to see your fav. disney pixar characters, as well as stunts galore. boring for any one who isnt little
"Block Party Bash Is Worth Catching"
Reviewed on May 06, 2008 by emba33
Rating: 3  
I was able to view, "Block Party Bash" last week at Disney Hollywood Studios. Don't worry if you miss the initial "bash" at 3pm -- because it takes over an hour before the last performance takes place.

Unfortunately, if you are entering the park at 3pm --- the "Bash" clogs the main artery into the park -- so you will be watching the show from the back. However, the music is fun, upbeat, and even though you swore you would never listen to the song, "YMCA" again ... it's all fun in this context. The costumes are great ... and the Pixar floats are done with the regular Disney style.

No ... it's not a traditional parade, and for me, that's a good thing. This is something a little different ... and it is well done.

Now ... we just need to get a parade back into Epcot.

/\/\/\/\ Emba 33 /\/\/\/\
"A waste of time"
Reviewed on May 05, 2008 by DisneyVolFan519
Rating: 3  
I watched this "parade" for the first time last week and was not impressed. It doesn't fit the definition of a parade. It's more like a set street performance every 15 minutes along the parade route. It starts at the front of the park and makes it's way to Star Tours. I was fortunate enough to catch the second performance on the route, so I only wound up waiting for 20 minutes (that does not include the wait time before the parade). I could only imagine what those at the end of the route were thinking.

This "parade" needs to either be re-imagined or tossed entirely. I know mine is just oneopinion, but I walked away from this one asking for my hour and a half back.

I will give the performers a 10 out of 10. To do what they were doing in the hottest part of the day and to have to do it for 3 or 4 stops (I'm guessing here) is an amazing show of endurance.
"Great"
Reviewed on May 04, 2008 by NicNac0404
Rating: 9  
The BPB is a great parade with great use of characters. The acrobats are amazing. All around AMAZING
"High Energy and Fun"
Reviewed on Mar 19, 2008 by hauntdmansion79
Rating: 8  
I was there on March 9th, the very first day it debuted. It is very high energy and fun. It adds a lot of life to the Studios park. They don't rope off the road, which at first I thought was odd, but quickly found that it is because they encourage guest participation and want people to get up and dance, even in the streets. It doesn't have all the Pixar characters, just Toy Story, Monsters Inc., A Bugs Life, and The Incredibles. It's more of a road side show than a parade, in that it does not constantly move down the street. It stops and performs the show, then moves further down the road and performs again. But when it stops, it performs for about 15-20 minutes. The show stopped in front of us and we had the Toy Story float and characters in front of us. Behind them was the Monsters Inc. float, and then the Bugs Life float performing for people further down the road. So the only time you see the other floats and characters are when they are moving down the road towards their next stopping point. The Incredibles pop out of all 3 floats at one point in the show, but don't have their own dedicated themed float. The acrobatics were great. The singing and dancing was contageous and all the guests were clapping, singing, and dancing...including me!
"Waste of Time"
Reviewed on Mar 18, 2008 by bgula
Rating: 2  
Who wants to watch a parade that stops for 15 minutes just to see people/characters jump around and clap their hands to music? Need I say more? Yawn...
"good"
Reviewed on Mar 13, 2008 by WRE4ever
Rating: 7  
it was a good time
"awesome parade"
Reviewed on Mar 12, 2008 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
I love it!It is very cool and
Awesome!
"DLR"
Reviewed on Mar 10, 2008 by Mybails
Rating: 8  
We saw the BPB at DLR but not at WDW. When I informed our return visitors that they would be seeing BPB rather than Stars and Cars they were disappointed. We have a couple of Imcredibles fans (never seen S&C) that of those that had seen BPB they didn't think it was very Disney. We'll see in the summer whether the move to WDW was a good one
"High energy, great performances, but not very Disney"
Reviewed on Mar 10, 2008 by ptaylor
Rating: 7  
The cast give everything in this parade, and it's a real change of pace from some of the previous parades. It features most of the charcaters from past Pixar movies, and combines it with fast tempo music, acrobatics, and dance. It is important to note this is a Pixar parade, and does not feature any Disney characters, not even the big cheese himself. Are some guests going to be disappointed in not seeing Mickey and no Disney music?

I give the performers 10 out of 10, the parade itself a 7 out of 10.
Block Party Bash
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site