Blizzard Beach reviews

Blizzard Beach
Reader rating Reader rating 8.9 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.9  
"Great family fun"
Reviewed on Nov 03, 2014 by KCDizfan
Rating: 8  
We spent about three hours here and covered the entire park. We were able to ride all the rides and even spend some time in the wave pool an lazy river. It was in the upper 70's, but sunny the day we went so a little cool, but easily tolerable. There is lots to do here and many of them can be done as a group. Steamboat Springs is a raft ride that up to 6 people can ride together. We easily fit 3 adults and 2 children in our raft. We even had lunch at Avalunch which serves up hearty portions of different types of dogs a well as jumbo turkey legs. This was really a nice way to spend part of the day. It was not very crowded when we went on Oct. 31. Even with Typhoon Lagoon being closed the crowds was very tolerable. You can easily do this park in just a few hours, but you could also spend the whole day here. It was only open 10-5 the day we went, but that was more than enough time. The theming if the park is fun with all the snow and they have tropical tunes playing over the speakers. Our family really enjoyed our day at Blizzard Beach.
"FUN!"
Reviewed on Dec 19, 2011 by sstile
Rating: 10  
Fun for all ages, theres action around every corner! Plus the atmosphere is great and clean!
"Good water park"
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2011 by elw316
Rating: 8  
Expect long lines!! It is fun but crowded. S.P is the best thing about this park. not bad food for a water park. Must, must, must use sunblock or the rest of you trip will be a sunburnt nightmare.
"Two words, Summit Plummet :)"
Reviewed on Oct 20, 2008 by BrownDerby07
Rating: 8  
This is the best waterpark I have ever been to. Summit Plummet is exhilarating, and the place is themed so well. You can tell it's a Disney Waterpark :)
"A ski resort in Florida? SWEET!"
Reviewed on Jul 29, 2008 by monorail_silver
Rating: 10  
Been going to Blizzard since it opened and it's always a fun time. Get there as soon as it opens or within the last two hours of operation to avoid long waits on the slides.
Speaking of slides, DO NOT MISS SUMMIT PLUMMET it looks high (120 feet) but you will regret when you get home not going on this thing if you don't do it. Teamboat springs is the longest family raft ride in the world and is a blast. Slush gusher is mild compared to Summit Plummet but still packs in thrills on the bunny hops. All three of the slides are located on Mount Gushmore and can be accessed by stairs or waiting in line for the chairlift.
The other side of the mountain is where you will find the Downhill Double Dipper (3-D) it's in an enclosed tube and you race the guest next to you. Toboggan racers is an eight laned slide where you race the other seven guests and you see who will hit the finish line first. Snow stormers is unique where you get on a mat sled and go head first down the slalom style course.
The backside of the mountain is home to Runoff Rapids, three different tube slides (one enclosed in the darkness) that are always fun.
Melt Away Bay is the wave pool that has short bobbing waves continuously, you can get tubes to float around in but they are on a first come, first serve basis so if you want one get there when the park opens.
The food inside is the traditional fast food variety, Lottawatta Lodge is where you will find the most variety. This park is not to be missed if you have the extra time to enjoy it.
"Excellent but more lines and not as big as Typhoon. "
Reviewed on Jul 10, 2008 by nuttyskadork
Rating: 7  
Overall I preferred Typhoon. Blizzard Beach had the better family raft ride by FAR! Also for the most part Blizzard had better slides overall (although the Crush Gusher blew anything Blizzard Beach or any other waterpark I've been to away). Blizzard Beach had a younger, more attractive crowd, and the creek was more scenic and fun (love the crocodile). But Typhoon had the FAR superior wavepool and just overall there were literally no waits at all except Crush Gusher which was minimal. Blizzard Beach had long waits for the chairlift, Summit Plummet and the family raft ride. Summit Plummet was much better than Humonga Cowabunga which I like to call Humonga Cowawedgie
"fantastic"
Reviewed on Jun 22, 2008 by tazbear
Rating: 10  
We all loved the waterpark!
Great rides, loved the lazy river and wave pool. The first couple hours it was opened was the best, hardly any crowd.
"great"
Reviewed on May 31, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
awesome park with awesome rides. stake out your claim early as it gets crowded
"Snow excellent!"
Reviewed on Jan 29, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
This is such a unique park...from the minute you walk through the entrance, you know you are in for something special. The theming is incredible. The slides are top notch and numerous. The pools are adequate (although not on the same scale as Typhhon) and there is a wave pool which kids love. I love the chair lift to the top of the mountain...great views of WDW and of people plunging down the slides screaming. And of course a novel way to travel!

Be careful of the sun here...some lines are long and you can easily burn. You also have to walk up a lot of steps to reach some of the enclosed slides to the rear of the mountain.

However, the slides are great. I love the family raft ride...the longest in the park and one of the best. Summit Plumet is terrifying...only the once for me! I dare you not to be nervous...it's the tallest in the world, I think, and it feels like it is too. I loved to sledge slides where you face forward holding onto your mat for dear life. Exhilirating and loads of fun. The lazy river is beaultifully themed and seems to last for ages...a perfect way to relax...but watch out for the icy cold waterfall in the cave...you will hear the screams long before you get there!

The food is ok here but there is not enough variety. It's not a spoiler to the day though.

Enjoy!
"Thrill seeker's galore"
Reviewed on Dec 31, 2005 by WDWFantasmic
Rating: Not rated  
This park has more slides than Typhoon Lagoon and is more suitable for big kids. Though there is limited beach space, arriving early can ensure a space for you. I must say I prefer Typhoon Lagoon over Blizzard Beach.
"best water park"
Reviewed on Sep 19, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
I am hugely impressed with this water park. I admit, when I initially read about the theme, I thought it was silly, but being there is another thing and I actually changed my mind about it and found it quite immersive and clever. Summit Plummet is absolutely the scariest thing at WDW, you get more of a rush here than Tower of Terror or any other thrill ride at WDW.
"Excellent Fun"
Reviewed on Oct 09, 2004 by dmwmt69
Rating: Not rated  
Blizzard Beach was excellent for me and my niece. Of course, we both meet the height requirement. There didn't seem to be a lot of things for the youngsters to do, but it is an excellent water park! As far as thrills - two words: Summit Plummit!
"An Avalanch of Fun!"
Reviewed on Oct 09, 2004 by chape19714
Rating: Not rated  
WONDERFUL WATERPARK! Love all the Rides! The Kids have thier own area, although most of the other rides have hieght requirments. It's a great day, and I highly recomend it.
"Great"
Reviewed on Feb 23, 2004 by BoboJacks
Rating: Not rated  
It is the biggest themepark, a 60+ MPH slide and a 1200 ft family tube ride and more! What more could you ask?
"ok"
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
I did like blizzard beach, but I am a true softy for typhoon lagoon. the theming is cool. the rides are ok, but during peak seasons, it is tough to get on rides right away. off season, it is a lot more fun!
"All hype"
Reviewed on Nov 16, 2003 by Michael M Crave
Rating: Not rated  
It looks great as you enter, with the massive mountain range and an imaginably fun-filled day straight ahead, but the closer you get, the more disappointing this park is. The slides are sadly mediocore when you are actually on them, with no exceptions whatsoever. You'd think Disney would invent some new types of slides and slide elements, but they've done nothing more than take standard popular waterslides and put a bunch of plastic snow around them (which becomes quickly redudant as the day goes on). And I mean around them as in, when on the slide, this so-called theming goes completely unnoticed. This park is all looks from afar but all stereotypical waterslides up close. I can think of over a dozen waterparks right now that are bigger, better, and much more well made. Even the lazy river looks great on the map, but its truly lazy when you're on it. And don't get me started on the wading pool - er, I mean, wavepool. Don't buy into the hype. Go to Typhoon Lagoon instead, its a little better, or try Wet 'n Wild by Universal Studios - I hear they have some great slides over there. Or, don't waste your time at all with waterparks, because while the Orlando ones are highly hyped by the Disney-owned Travel Channel, they are probably no better than the ones closer to your own home town.
"The Ultimate Water Park"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2003 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
The concept (Florida had a freak snowstorm, a ski lodge was built, and when the weather warmed the lodge was turned into a water park) is flawlessly executed. The "ski lift" is still in place and takes you up the mountain to the slides. The family raft ride (Teamboat Springs) is the best of its kind I've ever experienced. One other note: We went on a Sunday morning in August during a steady rain. The park was empty. On a crowded day, the park is probably less enjoyable.
"Too Frenetic"
Reviewed on Aug 14, 2003 by Bigcheese
Rating: Not rated  
Just slides and slides - no other attraction other than the Lazy River
"Fun for a Hot Day"
Reviewed on Jul 12, 2003 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
It's fun! However, it's pricey and the lines are often times unbearable. Go during an off-time season and be sure to have more fun!
"BUSY"
Reviewed on Jul 05, 2003 by WDWFred
Rating: Not rated  
Everybody at WDW seemed to be here at the same time.Nice park but there are water parks everywere so I didn't see this as a big deal !!!!
"One of my faves!"
Reviewed on Jun 09, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
Like Typhoon Lagoon, Blizzard Beach is another wonderfully imagined Disney waterpark. The story goes that BB was created when a freak snowstorm came through the area and a ski resort was set up to take advantage of the new situation. But then all the snow melted, and... Anyhoo, this park is more for people who like the thrilling water rides like Summit Plummet, and others. There's a ski lift that takes riders to the top of the summit and even if you don't go down the slide, you can still get a great view of the park. There is also a wave pool, but this one is not a rambunctious as the one at Typhoon Lagoon. And there is also a "creek" for people who just want to loll around in an innertube and float the day away (that would be me!). The theming is absolutely delightful. BB is a fun way to spend the day and beat the heat!
"another water park"
Reviewed on Apr 20, 2003 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
For those people who like the sun reflecting off of anything white and alot of heat this is the place to be. once the thrill of the first visit wears off,it's just another water park
"Best water park theme"
Reviewed on Mar 24, 2003 by trendymagic
Rating: Not rated  
Great Theme. The wait for Summit Plummit is a bit long and it would have been nice if they originally installed two of the slides. Of the Disney water parks, this ranks number 2 on my list overall. There is not as much to do here as in Typhoon Lagoon. But the best thing is the theme.
"Ultimate wedgie"
Reviewed on Dec 28, 2002 by happy snapper
Rating: Not rated  
Prepare to be bruised chaffed wedgied splashed thrilled and toasted all in the space of a few hours. This park is excellent the attractions are well thought out and the family tube Teamboat springs is just so much fun. Two minus points, in the heat of the sun you can feel like a turkey in the oven as theres so little shade, and why didnt they build a lift to get those damn tubes to the back of the hill? they didit for the mats!! Definate Fun in the Sun
"Cool park"
Reviewed on Dec 17, 2002 by crazy_for_wdw
Rating: Not rated  
A fantastic water park! Kids loved Teamboat Springs and Cross Country creek, I think we have done about a thousand laps! I have been on Summit Plummet on the four occasions we have been and it still scares the shorts off me! We found Blizzard Beach was a better place for our kids than Typhoon Lagoon. The main pool, Melt-away bay, is a bit more sedate! Don't get me wrong Typhoon Lagoon is an awsome place as well and we are going to go on our next vist, now the kids are older.
"BB is the best!"
Reviewed on Oct 25, 2002 by Minnie85
Rating: Not rated  
The bathroos shouldn't be so airconditioned but other than that its the best!
"Burrrr..What a thrill"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2002 by chris
Rating: Not rated  
Can't say enough. Best water park I've ever been to. My kids really opened up to the "thrill" water rides and we all had a blast. lots to do.
"Chilly water park!!!"
Reviewed on Sep 28, 2002 by animegirllover
Rating: Not rated  
You can't miss it when you're in spring riding on these thrill rides & have fun eating snacks & drinks!!!
"Water!"
Reviewed on Sep 14, 2002 by Maria
Rating: Not rated  
Best place for a hot summer day! I loved the lazy river!! Never tried Summit Plummit (too afraid to do it) but enjoyed seeing people do it... hehe... :D
"Great Great Slides"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2002 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
This is the best waterpark I have ever been to. The only thing I hate is that it gets so crowded, but that is a sign of its popularity. Last Vacation everytime we went to go the park was already at capacity by 11:00.
"amazing"
Reviewed on Sep 05, 2002 by goofyman
Rating: Not rated  
great place with triffic rises. Just can be a bit overwelming and a bit hot for the little ones
"Yahoooooo"
Reviewed on Sep 04, 2002 by Buzz Lightyear
Rating: Not rated  
When you have the tallest and fastest water slide in the world, you have to be the best. Where else can you go 60 miles an hour on you butt.
"INCREDIBLE!!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by atticus
Rating: Not rated  
This place is waterpark heaven! It has every variety of slides and activites possible! The only thing to be careful of is the lack of shade! Otherwise be prepared to have an incredible experience at one of the top waterparks in the WORLD!
"Excellent ! !"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by timmy31
Rating: Not rated  
I was there during Spring Break, and even with the long lines and large crowd I was able to do everything I wanted to. It was the best water park I have ever been to; and I live in Wisconsin, home to Noah's Ark(America's Largest Waterpark).
"awesome!"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by jimmybop
Rating: Not rated  
Awesome waterpark! It is a must do!
"Love this Park!"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by leeocean
Rating: Not rated  
I love the theme and the rides are fantastic!
"YEAH BABY YEAH"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by Seano846
Rating: Not rated  
YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"best of the best"
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2002 by blink148
Rating: Not rated  
amazing park, especially summit plummet. but those stairs will ware out anybody...
"Best Water Park EVER!!!"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by DisneyWorldGuru
Rating: Not rated  
DONT MISS!!! Must ride teamboat Springs!
"Best Waterpark"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by DogsRule!
Rating: Not rated  
I love the theming at this park, and it by far has the best, most thrilling waterslides of the two water parks. I especially love Teamboat Springs! It is the best slide I've ever been on. Great park and I love how Winter Summerland is right next door!
"Snow in Florida?!?"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by MKCustodial
Rating: Not rated  
THe best of the three water parks, and definately the one with the most thrills. It's worth a visit even if just to check out the great snowstorm theme, and Summit Plummit (for the thrill-seekers), the highest attraction of its kind.
"Truly Unique and Fun"
Reviewed on Aug 20, 2002 by Fievel
Rating: Not rated  
What happens when a freak snowstorm hit Walt Disney World Resort? Blizzard Beach is what. This waterpark simply has to be seen to be beleived. The unique snow covered surroundings make this park fun to explore, as there are fun rides all around the major mountain. However, Summit Plummet is the best ride in the park. For a truly unique view, take the chair lift up to the top and admire the view of people in their bathing suits surrounded by snow :)
"Brilliant!!!!!!!"
Reviewed on Aug 20, 2002 by Alberrisford
Rating: Not rated  
Blizzard Beach take the style of a ski-resort, with proper ski lifts and..............snow!!!! This waterpark has gentle rides for the younger (and young at heart!), and the thrill seekers! (Summit Plummit is almost a vertical drop!). There are family flume rides such as team boat springs, and a lazy river round the outside of the park. Blizzard beach is like nothing you have seen before, and well worth a visit.
Blizzard Beach
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site