Beauty and the Beast -- Live on Stage reviews

Sunset Blvd, Disney's Hollywood Studios
Reader rating Reader rating 8.1 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.1  
"It's good, but dated"
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2013 by Sarah (fairybuzz)
Rating: 6  
It's good, but It needs to be replaced or updated. Back in the early 90s, the show was both relevant and somewhat unique in that it was the only broadway singing style show in the park. And in addition, it was open air, which made it seem more grand somehow, like a rock concert. (not to downplay theater shows that are totally indoors because they have their specialness too). Today however you realize the special effects are minimal and outdated, the costumes seem a bit sunfaded, and the broadway show back home in ny is actually more entertaining by now making this a bit superfluous. Entertainment has evolved yet this show hasn't. It should get with the 21st century which is not a statement you hear me say often!
"I loved this..."
Reviewed on Jan 04, 2012 by cindyt123
Rating: 10  
it brought tears to my eyes!
"Good show at Disney"
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2011 by elw316
Rating: 8  
It is a good Disney show. No it is not Broadway and yes the movie is cut down to fit a 25 min. show but you know that going in. Overall it is a good show and it is hot because it is a outdoors but that said it is also a good place to sit see a show and figure out where to next.
"Amazing"
Reviewed on Apr 24, 2010 by Shay15104
Rating: 10  
This show is amazing, I have seen it many times. It is the quality of a Broadway show for adults and entertaining and fun for the kids. You will love it, and it will be great to take a break from running around to all the other rides!
"great!"
Reviewed on Mar 30, 2010 by mastercat999
Rating: 9  
i loved it!
"Fun for Adults and Kids Alike."
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2009 by DznyChick
Rating: 8  
This has been one of my favorite attractions since I was a little girl. The show is abbreviated quite a lot, but the costumes,sets, and dancing are very cute and loved by kids. For adults to enjoy, it really all depends on the cast of the show for that particular performance. A bad Belle can ruin the show. Overall, I think it's a great show to stop in at when you're in need of a rest (It's under a pavillion, so it remains pretty cool in the heat.)If it is not compared to the Broadway show, then it will be loved. A great theme park attraction.
"Amazing"
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2008 by Disneygirl91395
Rating: 10  
this is my familys favorite ride. i love the costumes and all the actors do a great job
"Very Nice!"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 8  
My DD really enjoyed it, thus we did too. Air conditioning would be nice...
"Terrible!!!!!"
Reviewed on Dec 05, 2007 by testtrackalumni
Rating: 2  
If you have seen the Broadway version or any tour or local production of the Broadway Musical don't ruin your expereince with this! Most of the actors lip sync and terribly at that! The only upside to this is Four For A Dollar, the a capella group that sings before the show. So get there about 20 minutes before show time and get a good seat in the back for these guys. When they leave, so can you. It's just not believable when Chip is bigger than the Beast!!!!
"Don't miss it!"
Reviewed on Feb 07, 2007 by DisneyFaNatic1
Rating: 10  
I enjoy it even more than the broadway version! It's not as long, but it still includes all the characters and unforgettable songs!
"Disappointing"
Reviewed on Sep 27, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
Disappointing. I hear pretty good reviews of this show, but I wasn't that impressed. Each song segment in and of themselves were well done, but I thought the storyline was modified a bit too much. Granted I understand there are time constraints when you're in a theater where the temp is 90 degrees, but there you are. I think I was a bit prejudiced by the fact of seeing the very exciting Aladdin show at California Adventure before ever seeing this one.
"Superb show superb acting"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2005 by mikedlayer
Rating: Not rated  
Superb show, certainly not to be missed. From beginning to end keeps the entire of the audience captivated, quickly moving through the storyline in the 25 minutes provided covering every detail that is needed. Have a friend who also does the show and it was recommended to me to come and see it - I enjoyed every minute of it. Superb performance by all.
"Wow! Great"
Reviewed on Oct 04, 2002 by gibsonc
Rating: Not rated  
This is a great show! I always make a point to see this when I get chance to go to MGM Studios. Beauty and the Beast is one of my favourite films and the show manages to match, with the key songs performed very well through to the finale. I also want to say that during the times I have seen this show this year - the pre-show/warm up act, '4 for a Dollar' (I think thats what they are called) are brilliant. A great Vocal performance of some popular songs to get the crowd going by 4 'Cast Members'
"Cute,great 4 kids"
Reviewed on Sep 28, 2002 by DMC-12
Rating: Not rated  
I was passing by this theater...and the CM was almost begging us to come in and watch this...lol Its a nice show... colorful costumes...true to the movie...and great audio as well....not a bad seat in the whole house... Not to long.....and not to short of a show...Its Just right.
"magical!"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2002 by disneyanna0521
Rating: Not rated  
Beauty and the Beast is my favorite movie, and this show does it justice!! Take the incredible movie and take a broadway twist!!! it still follows the same basic story line...so it's very easy to follow along with what is going on. The show is NOT to be missed!!!!
"OK"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
IF YOU LIKED BEAUTY AND THE BEAST YOU WILL LIKE THIS ABBREV.VERISON. A TYPICAL DISNEY SHOW WITH ATTENTION TO DETAIL WITHIN A LIMITED TIME FRAME.
"Tale as Old as Time"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
The classic Disney film comes to life in a wonderful stage show that inspired the version now playing on Broadway. Belle, Beast, Gaston, and the rest of the favorite characters are all here singing and dancing to the film's wonderful songs. The show feels as if it never slows down with thrilling musical numbers including "Be Our Guest", "Belle", "Beauty and the Beast", and of course a breathtaking finale the transformation of the Beast to a handsome Prince. A definate must-see at the Studios.
Beauty and the Beast -- Live on Stage
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site