Disney's Animal Kingdom reviews

Walt Disney World
Reader rating Reader rating 7.8 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 7.8  
"1/2 a day park at best"
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2011 by elw316
Rating: 7  
We were there at the Grand Opening of AK and have watched the park grow over the years but here is the problem 1) lack of good food options 2) Asphault ground makes the park hotter than it already is. 3) Park closes early as oppesed to other parks 4)You have limited rides. Safari, E.E., Rapids, Dino and Whirl and kid ride and boneyard.
Kids will only look at the animals for a short time so if you get there first thing in the morning you will be done by 1ish with a show or 2 you will be done by 3.
We usually go here the day we arrive or the day we are leaving or go and take off for pool when we have a dinner that night.
Don't get me wrong it is not a bad park at all but most of the time we use it in combo with another park (best is morning here and afternoon at H2O park.)
"Themed the best, visited the least"
Reviewed on Nov 02, 2010 by CrescentLake
Rating: 7  
Animal Kingdom is beautiful, no argument there. The ambiance and theme of the park is bar none, and it really removes you from the rest of the world. The few attractions that are there are all top notch (with the exception of Dinorama). Those are the good things about the park, on to the bad.

I know those who really love the park will tell me that I'm taking in Animal Kingdom the wrong way, but to them I offer this point: You can do all of the rides, watch nearly all of the shows, walk on the treks, eat, and appreciate the theme, but you will still be done at 3 or 4. That still makes Animal Kingdom a half day park in my eyes. When we go to Disney World, Animal Kingdom is usually only visited once in our 6 or 7 days there. Not because we don't like it, but because we've done nearly everything multiple times. All the park needs is an expansion. (A rather large one).
"zoo and more"
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2010 by rustysgirl
Rating: 9  
so i know they say its not a zoo...but thats basically what it is. but the BEST one! u get so close to the animals & it has rides and its just ahhhmazing! unlike the other parks though where u try to rush through everything, definitely just SLOW DOWN and enjoy watching the animals cuz if u run through this park you'll miss everything and be disappointed. also beware of the yeti & dinosaurs -_-
"~~~AMAZING~~~"
Reviewed on Mar 06, 2010 by WDW FTW
Rating: 10  
-Ok so my family will come down here around once a year and usually spend a little over a week in WDW. The year animal kingdom opened we were there for the first time. Animal kingdom is one of the most exciting parks attraction wise. Quick list of my favorites (in no particular order of course )
-Khali River Rapids
-Kilamanjaro Safari
-Primeviel Whirl
-Dinosaur
-Of course....Expedition Everest

Top shows there would be the lion king show and the nemo show they are both pretty good.
Haha very exciting rides and when riding the safari always listen for the "Don Cheadle" sounding guy to say Simba 1? Are you there Simba 1? haha i just think it sounds funny
"aminals"
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2008 by Disneygirl91395
Rating: 10  
this is an amazing place to be if you like animals. you get so many close encounters with them
"great way to go to aferica with out leaving the us"
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
safari is amazing. rides for everybody. i must say makes me want to go to africa.
"ROOAAAAAAR!"
Reviewed on Sep 27, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 10  
The newest and largest park at Disney. Animal Kingdom has some great rides including Kilamanjaro safaris, Kali river rapids, and Expedition Everest. It is the only park to have many live animals and trails to see them. The tree of Life is a very intersting centerpiece with tons of animals carved into it. The lands of it are really well done as well. This park would be an 8 or 9 but with the edition of Expedition Everest(perhaps the best ride in the all of WDW), it is indeed a 10.
"Nice Park, Needs to Stay Open Later"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2007 by kytoaltoky
Rating: 8  
First of all, I think Animal Kingdom has come a long way. My first visit to Animal Kingdom lasted a mere four hours. Back then, Kilimanjaro Safaris was the only big draw. I hated (that may be a strong word for it)...disliked Dinosaur (or Countdown to Extinction as it was called). I'm not a big fan of "raft" rides that soak my pants. Expedition Everest is a welcome addition, although it would seem more at home in Universal Studios. I'm a big eater, and there are not many decent eateries. I'm not paying that much money for a Happy Meal! What do they feed the tigers? Tourists?

All in all, Animal Kingdom is a good theme. The immense size of the park (much like Epcot) demands constant entertainment. People aren't going to just walk for nothing. Disney can do it better. They have a good start, but I think they have a long way to go with this one.
"A cracking Park"
Reviewed on Jan 27, 2007 by Pumbas Nakasak
Rating: 9  
I first visited the park shortly after it opened and have been an annual visitor ever since. I have enjoyed how the park has evolved, , from the aesthetically pleasing but short of things to do start, to its present maturing image as the Worlds most attractive park with a range of attractions that should suit everyone.

Dinorama may be WDW s most controversial construction of the Eisner downsizing era but it is still fun. Expedition Everest is a good coaster presented as only Disney can and the Safari is different on every trip.

The sad thing about AK is that many guests dont take the time to enjoy the surroundings, explore the trails and sit and watch the animals, simply blasting from ride to ride then complain that its half a day park.

Take your time make the effort you may be surprised at what you find.
"Favorite Park"
Reviewed on Jan 27, 2007 by Computer Magic
Rating: 10  
I remember this park was our secret. Not many understood the park and it felt like we had the park to ourselves.

Well the secret is out. Seems everyone now loves the park. It's still our favorite but we have to share it with everyone.
"attrations"
Reviewed on Dec 29, 2006 by lishkesh
Rating: Not rated  
i thought animal kindom iss a great kid attration area because i thought it was exiting and exilent animal carings.they do not act cruly to animal that just make it good from a childs point of few.
"i loved it"
Reviewed on Jun 04, 2006 by nicolita3
Rating: Not rated  
i loved the safari ride, everest wasnt open yet though.
"all that and more!!!"
Reviewed on May 09, 2006 by col
Rating: Not rated  
i absolutley love disneys animal kingdom. if i had to choose between magic kingdom and animal kingdom it would be a toss up because they are both my fave parks.

the first day of my holiday is spent in AK coz i know then that my holiday has started.

one of my fave things about AK is that you can just relax - after a hectic day of travelling this is a place where you can relax and just sit back and enjoy what is before you.

as soon as im there i head for the safaris coz that is one of my fave rides -what with the views that you see and the animals that you see; what more could you ask for.

i love just walking around taking things in like how peaceful it is.

i take so many pictures of the tree of life coz it truely is breath taking just looking at it and seeing how much detail went into it -in my book it ranks as breath taking as the castle in MK.

AK has everything for everyone -animals, restaurants,rides, shows.

AK is a park where you can just relax and take your time.

one of my faves!!!

mickeys jungle jammin\' parade is awesome -i couldnt believe it when i was watching it -the music and the performers and the animals that go past you is amazing.

doing AK when its EMH\'s is a must -a reason being just to see the tree of life all lit up at night.




"BE OPEN MINDED!"
Reviewed on Feb 18, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
Right, I am presuming that the poor reviews this park has experienced on this site are because of younglings thinking they were about to sample some of the finest rollercoasters in the world. THIS IS A THEME PARK BASED ON THE NATURAL WORLD AND ITS WILD INHABITANTS. IT IS NOT ISLANDS OF ADVENTURE!

There, I have got that off my chest now! Sorry!

As a theme park, yes, there are attractions, but there is so much more on offer...so much more than a zoo, bordering on a real safari experience, as contrived as that may seem.

The park is stunningly beautiful and there is wildlife on every corner. You probably don't notice most of it because every care is taken to ensure animals feel at home. Don't be surprised to look up into a tree and see tens of monkies jumping about. You really need to look closely.

The Safari Ride itself is incredible. I have riden this in the morning afternoon, and early evening and am happy to say that all experiences were different and great fun. I always saw lots of wildlife and love the adventure of the thrilling jeep ride. On this safari you see just how big the park really is.

And the rides. Yes there need to be more BUT the rides avaiable to you are top notch. Tough to be a bug is, to my mind, one of the best 3D shows around and my ultimate favourite. The line takes you around the beautiful and uber detailed Tree of Life which is a joy. Kali river rapids is over too quickly but the theming is extraordinary as is the last drop. I was totally drenched! Dinosaur happens to be one of the best rides in the whole of WDW (seriously, don't miss it) and the new Expedition Everst (although I will not have the chance to ride this until next year's holiday!) is supposedlt world class. There are other rides and attractions, some of which are successful, others not so (Tricera whatever spin...urgh...we dont need more Dumbo spin offs!).

The Lion King show is great...well performed, familiar songs, acrobatics, fire breathing...you name it, it's here. Don't miss it.

Admittedly, I have never needed more than half to 3/4 a day here (I always arrive by 8.30 having said that), but I have always had a great time.

TIP: dont forget to take the trail through the Gorilla and tiger enclosures...it's overlooked but I got some amazing footage from here.

Enjoy the world and what it has to offer!
"Excellent theme park!"
Reviewed on Dec 29, 2005 by WDWFantasmic
Rating: Not rated  
This theme park combines thrills with animals and is truly a work of art. There are details everywhere and you have to see it in person to be amazed. In 2006, Expedition Everest will make this a must visit park.
"Wonderful park!"
Reviewed on Nov 02, 2005 by animal_king1990
Rating: Not rated  
Good theme park. Has wonderful theming/atmosphere(greater than the other parks) and has a good selection of E-tickets as well. Definetely visit this park if you go to Walt Disney World! With Expedition Everest coming out in 2006, this park will definetely become more popular!
"Great Park-Half Finished"
Reviewed on Oct 21, 2004 by Jusjuice
Rating: Not rated  
Animal Kingdom is an amazing park. Its attracation offerings, however, leave something to be desired. You can make a full day by taking in everything there is to see, including the shows, but as we all know, not everyone likes everything. It is a good, relaxing, park, and at even the most crowded times seems very uncrowded. In my opinion, the best thing about this park is its potential!
"Nahtazu!!!"
Reviewed on Oct 15, 2004 by StitchEscape04
Rating: Not rated  
This park has everything for the average family. Thrill rides like Dinosaur, Shows like It's Tough To Be A Bug, an awesome water ride (Kali River Rapids), A safari in Africa & they are adding an awesome new roller coaster in the back of the park between Kali River Rapids & Tarzan Rocks!. This park is fun for the whole family. The best show there is The Festival of The Lion King. Hakuna Matata!!!
"a day."
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
I do love this park, but it is not yet a full park. more rides are definatly needed, though the ones they have no are a lot of fun. kilimanjaro is great, never the same ride twice. dinosaur is amazing, and its tough to be a bug is fun. definatly a half a day-day long trip here, and going back is not really needed. kid friendly in some areas, but not in all. the walking is a lot to take for kids, so strollers are needed, yet a nusience to everyone else. more food pavillons of any kind (either sit down or counter service) is needed, though again what they have is good. once more rides go in, this place will be spectacular!
"Yes, Needs more work"
Reviewed on Aug 01, 2003 by miamimickey72
Rating: Not rated  
Yes its just a good park. I go to AK once a year.....maybe! Its so small...that you can plan on NOT spending a full day. This is a good park to like do half a day and plan an afternoon/evening at DownTown Disney or something. I like the theming of it....I think the idea is there...but they must spend more money and making it larger and adding more rides and attractions. Still a good park to visit.
"It needs more."
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2003 by Walter
Rating: Not rated  
This is an O.K. park, but it needs more attractions and animal walk-throughs. Overall, it just needs more. On the positive side, it is the most impressively themed park out of the four.
"Hardest Navigation"
Reviewed on Jun 22, 2003 by trendymagic
Rating: Not rated  
Though the newest of the parks, this is the park hardest to navigate. It is the largest in size and due to its nature theme all the path make navigation harder for walking and those in wheelchairs. You can see a majority of the park in a few hours. Leave time for the shows, esp The Lion King! A great show that you should not miss and be sure to get there early. Take time to walk down paths and trails you never know what you may find.
"Get Something in Here!!"
Reviewed on Mar 09, 2003 by MickeyMoose15
Rating: Not rated  
I will just come right out and say it without dragging this review on for a half-hour: Animal Kingdom is a day park and nothing more. I really want to see this park become more but with nothing that great there, the park shall remain that until something fabulous comes along. Dinosaur, Kilimanjaro Safaris and Kali River Rapids are the only major thrill rides in the park. Those can be completed in the early morning with some time to spare before noon. It's Tough to be a Bug! is great but too short at only eight minutes long. Festival of the Lion King is good but why is there so much Lion King stuff in the parks? I know it was a great film but it wasn't that great. Chester and Hester's Dino-Rama is an embarassment to the Disney theme park name. They just added off the shelf carnival rides and made them look pretty. That is all!! I call that a total rip. Totally embarassing. They need to get something in here and quick!! Our prayers may have been answered with Forbidden Mountain coming in 2005/2006 but I will save my judgement until I actually get to ride the 200 foot mountain attraction. Wish they were still working on Beastly Kingdom but some dreams do have to die some time.
"Nahtazu!"
Reviewed on Feb 24, 2003 by goofyfan13
Rating: Not rated  
This park met my expectations when I first entered. I was in awe of the tree of life, and the fact that this park was actually built from the ground up with imported plants and all of that stuff. I thought the thrills they have are some of the best I've ever been on, but the park could generally use some more rides. I don't know if I would spent $50 for a day here but it definately is a must hit with my park hopper in hand.
"Fantastic!"
Reviewed on Feb 18, 2003 by crazy_for_wdw
Rating: Not rated  
Disney's Animal Kingdom is a truly excellent park. Too many give it bad reviews and rush through it. If you relax, take it easy and take the time to appreciate it for what it is and not compare it to other more "thrill" packed parks you will find its a fantastic place. Its the first park we head for the day after we arrive from the UK, mainly because its a more relaxed park and doesn't seem as stressfull, which is down to the great theming. Kilimanjaro safaris is great, best done in the morning or late afternoon, otherwise you can get a dissapointing animal turnout - but lets face it they're live animals when they're hot they'll sit in the shade, wouldn't you? There are some great attractions, It's tough to be a bug, Dinosaur, Primeval Whirl, to name but a few. There are also some fab opportunities to see some impressive animals like on the Maharajah Jugle Trek and the Pangani Forest Trail. On the whole its a great park, get there early for the "Awakening" its character overload - and you can't beat walking through the Oasis in the morning air.
"Not a zoo!"
Reviewed on Jan 12, 2003 by historymystery
Rating: Not rated  
It is not a zoo! Lions, and Tigers, and T-rex oh my! the newest of the parks at WDW but certainly not the least. This park has thrill rides like Dinosaur and Kali. It has kid rides like Triceratop Spin and Boneyard. Educational throughout the park. Great Shows like Festival of the lion king, Tough to be a bug, Tarzan. And of course the animals themselves. Great place, make sure you visit it.
"My Favorite"
Reviewed on Dec 28, 2002 by disneyprep50321
Rating: Not rated  
So many people rush through this park, and give it bad reviews. I think Disney's Animal Kingdom is simply amazing! The Tree of Life is breathtaking! If you love animals, and even if you don't, I'm sure you will find something that strikes your fancy at this park. Take your time, and contrary to popular advice, take a full day to explore this park. You will love it! Try the Rainforest Cafe, explore the shops, and ride the attractions. My family was pleasantly surprised when we explored the animal trails. These will give you the chance to see some very rare animals. The theming at this park is amazing! My favorite area is Africa. Kilimanjaro Safaris is awesome! Simply the best! You'll love it!
"My least favorite park"
Reviewed on Oct 09, 2002 by chris
Rating: Not rated  
Don't get me wrong. AK is a great place but it is no Magic Kingdom. Given a few years and a few hundred million dollars, this park could be one of the best. Now, however, there is just not a full days activity. We always do AK on days when we have E-Ride, MVMCP, or MNSSHP tickets. We are done by 4:00pm and get the kids to the hotel for a nap before going back out. The Safari is well done and has been different everytime. Last time our truck was chased by an ostrich and we had to wait for the mother and baby hippo to cross the road. We like the River Rapids and the It's Tough to be a Bug is a wonderful attraction. Don't waist your time with Conservation Station. They do have the best playground for kids. Dinoland has a teriffic play area and digging for dinos is cool for the kids.
"Next!"
Reviewed on Oct 04, 2002 by Lance
Rating: Not rated  
Ok, it's time for my one and only negative review... I was waiting so long for the 1998 opening of the newest Disney Park, I was so excited. I made it down later that year to find one of the worst times I've ever had in WDW. The park was just too crowded, and for some reason much hotter than any other WDW park, the park is not open enough, everything is cramped. You have to walk through a mile of plants just to get to the tree of life, that's a mistake...the safari was very disappointing, I've been on it 3 times and only once the bridge was working. Hardly any animals were out, the Six Flags Great Adventure car safari beats the living crap out of Kilamanjaro Safari. It's Tough to be a Bug is a great show, no complaints there. Dinosaur was good, dinoland is my favorite part of the park. The only animals I care about seeing are the silverbacks, because I saw "Gorilla's in the Mist" in 7th Grade geography class, so I've been a fan ever since. So nowadays, I go to the park, see the silverbacks, and get out as fast as I can, so I go for 30 mins and leave. Since 1998, I've been 3 other times, that's how much I love the park! That's my opinion...
"Impressive Sights!"
Reviewed on Sep 14, 2002 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
The theming of the lands and the animal exhibits are remarkable. An additional land or two (with the same level of quality with regards to facades and animal habitats) would go a long way to improving this park. As it stands now, there is not enough to do, but what there is to do is impressive.
"Animal Kingdom"
Reviewed on Sep 04, 2002 by Bryy2001
Rating: Not rated  
Animal Kingdom is leaps and bounds above places like Busch Gardens or Sea World. While flawed in some respects (there just isn't that much to do yet) I think tha twe can expect great things from this park in the near future
"Has Potential"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
Even though this park is still in need of attractions it still has the potential of being the best park. The people I have talked to who have been to Disney and go to AK for the first time are always I little dissappointed. On the flip side when I talk to people who have just been to Disney for the first time and experience AK they really love it. I think it just needs time. Remember at one time you could spit from one end of MGM to the other.
"Not your normal zoo"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by atticus
Rating: Not rated  
This is not your normal zoo. First of all go early in the morning. On the Safari all the animals are usually the most active at this time. Also a key to having a good day is planning on where you are going to go after each ride and which rides you will get fastpasses at! Make sure to know that Dinosaur is not a easy ride and is not for little kids. Do not make them go on if you think it will be too intense. Also the new "wild mouse" type ride may seem calm but is a little jerky and little kids may get upset. Make sure to see ALL of the shows at the Animal Kingdom, especially THE LION KING! These are what really make the park stand out!
"For the nature lover"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by WDW-Imagineer
Rating: Not rated  
When looked upon by a thrill seeker, Animal Kingdom can seem quite bland. When looked upon by a nature lover or animal lover, Animal Kingdom is a diamond in the rough. What AK lacks in the thrill department, it more than makes up for in theming. For the thrill seekers, give AK a few years to reach its potential and I believe all Disney guests will come to love Animal Kingdom.
"Amazing Theming !!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by Scooter
Rating: Not rated  
Disney's Animal Kingdom is just that. An excellant chance to see lots of animals as close as possible without actually being in their natural habitat. It's like being on a safari in Africa or being in Asia on a jungle trek. This is a chance to see and hear and experiance things you've never done before. Everything here seems as real as it can be...from the Giant Tree of Life, to the music in the background and the shops where you find unique items you couldn't find anywhere else. You learn about conservation and get close-up views of Tigers and Bats and hundreds of other animals. No..this isn't a roller coaster park...it's far from that. What it is is Disney at it's best. A fine park with a little something for everybody...oh..and if you aren't careful...you just might learn something.
"ANIMAL LOVERS HEAVEN"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
BE SURE TO START EARLY WITH THE SAFARI RIDE TO ENSURE THE ANIMALS ARE OUT AND CAN BE READILY SEEN.CONSVERATION STATION WILL IMPRESS THE TREE HUGGER IN YOU. BUT THE BUG 3-D MOVIE IS THE BEST 3-D AT WDW.THIS PARK CAN BE FINISHED IN 0NE DAY SO TAKE YOUR TIME TO SEE ALL THE DISNEY DETAIL.
"Craptacular"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by meanmice
Rating: Not rated  
I find this park to give me the feeling of one big zoo and that's just not what I want. There isn't much that is thrilling with the exception of one or two rides. It's not clean looking which the other parks are. It's dusty and smells funny. It can definatly be done in half a day.
"unique but lacking"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by mtaft
Rating: Not rated  
Love the look of this park- exception dinorama. Cheap, cheap, cheap, regardless of any backstory designed for it. Downgrades the class of this park. Its lush look makes me feel like I'm in another world and time. I miss the proposed mythical piece, however. If they get it in gear and continue to add unique themed storytelling attractions vs the garbage like that in dinorama and Kali River Rapids, this can turn into a wonderful place to spend the day- an all day excursion to adventureland!
"worst of the parks"
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2002 by blink148
Rating: Not rated  
worth a few hours, but thats about it. the original plans included a wooden roller coaster and many other rides, yet these are yet to surface. most of the park is no more than a well themed zoo, but the true rides seem to be missing. But if you do go, be sure to see its tough to be a bug, kali river rapids, and dinosaur. good to see if you stay for a week or more, but otherwise not worth much more han a glance.
"Pretty Zoo ....Needs Work"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
Disney's Animal Kingdom, the newest theme park addition to the Florida Disney adventure, is a beautiful park....but still has a long way to go before it's a great park. Right now it takes about 3-4 hours to see the best parts of the park and only has maybe 2-3 of what I'd call "must-see" attractions, namely It's Tough to Be a Bug, Dinosaur, and Kilimanjaro Safaris. The park has a lot of fascinating and exotic animals and has a gorgeous theme and decor. The Tree of Life is extremely impressive and gorgeous symbol of the park. I just wish the park would include more and better rides...including thrill rides. That would definitely add much to it. Right now the park is ok....adding more to it would make it better....and someday it may be great.
"The Lesser "Kingdom""
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by RobFL
Rating: Not rated  
The Animal Kingdom suffers from a lack of attractions as the Animals seem to be merely decoration and the exhibition lacks a "Draw."
"breathtaking"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2002 by Eeyore
Rating: Not rated  
Animal Kingdom is a great park. It's beautiful and has a lot to offer, if you are willing to take the time to enjoy it. During the summer months Animal Kingdom seems to be the hottest of the four parks, so dress for the heat and stay hydrated. It's also the largest, so be prepared to walk!
"It suprised us all"
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2002 by Alberrisford
Rating: Not rated  
We went into Animal Kingdom, expecting it to be like a "souped up" zoo. We were wrong. Animal Kingdom is unlike anything you have seen before. Animals on every corner, there is so much theming and suprises in the park, that the park kept us busy for a whole day. There are play areas for the kids, rougher rides for the adults, and some things for all the family! The theming is probably the best I have seen, and really creates the effect that you are in an "animal kingdom"!!! It really is a must-see park, and undoubtedly my favourite park.
"More than meets the eye!"
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2002 by NowInc
Rating: Not rated  
This park gets a lot of bad hype, but mostly from people who refuse to see the park for what it really is. Its themeing is second to none, and its a great place to just relax and absorb the atmoshere as well as get educated. It may not have a lot of rides, but thats not what this park is for.
Disney's Animal Kingdom
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site