Alien Encounter reviews

Tomorrowland, Magic Kingdom
Reader rating Reader rating 8.5 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.5  
"Phenomenal"
Reviewed on Jan 21, 2013 by John
Rating: 10  
was a very interesting ride with unique disney plot loved it because it was oone of the only rides that didnt have a tv show behind it or a movie... bring it back! OH and guess what all of those hidden mickey fans! instead of looking for Mickeys look for some alien encounter merchendice tht is actualy still in the park! I found some and no Its not skippys in the stiches great escape gift shop!
"Bring it back! "
Reviewed on May 17, 2011 by Hot4Hudgens
Rating: 8  
Growing up, this was the only ride that I ever FEARED going on...yet I loved it and kept coming back. Those that said it was too scary for Disney and you and/or your kids? Keep moving - all you needed to do. Some people don't enjoy roller coasters, but you don't see them complaining about certain rides needing to be closed. They go elsewhere. Too bad that Disney gave in and opened quite possibly its worst attraction in recent memory in its place.
"Kids Scared... Grown-Ups a bunch of idiots..!"
Reviewed on Aug 26, 2009 by stitch_lover
Rating: 10  
I think that reveiw titled "don't...drag...kids...onto!" review was a terrible thing! According to other people, there were signs that told people that it was too scary so we had to get used to it until much too much parents started DRAGGING their children on!! I think they're gonna be major glory hogs on SCARING SOME CHILDREN TO HELL!!! Sorry if that was harsh... but seriously folks... I even heard a CM told someone it was scary and someone came over and said the same thing and she just rolled her eyes at him!! NEVER DISOBEY A CM!!!!
"Not so much"
Reviewed on Sep 28, 2008 by mcvin81
Rating: 3  
I wish Disney would use the talent they have to do something special with that prime location in tommorow land.
"Great disney story with a dark twist."
Reviewed on Jul 17, 2008 by monorail_silver
Rating: 10  
Pros : Overall great theming and great story telling. Amazing special effects (glass breaking). The AA for this one was so realistic.

Cons : Replaced with Stich.
"It was the best"
Reviewed on Apr 13, 2008 by conntom
Rating: 7  
Alien Encounter was the best Iam so sorry its gone its one of
my top rides
"Wonderful Scary Show"
Reviewed on Dec 12, 2007 by echoscot
Rating: 10  
This had to be one of the best shows in Tomorrowland which replaced one of the dullest shows "Mission to Mars". The concept, detailed story, quality acting in the film sequences and state of the art animatronics combined for one heck of an experience. Now, most of the scare value lies in the first visit, not knowing what is going on. But revisits are fun for the humor that is very subtley injected into the show. During the holding preshow before S.I.R. there are several monitors one of which advertised a coming speech on "Mission to Mars- History or Hoax?" and little gags all the way through.

RIP Scary Little Show......We will miss you.
"ALEiN EnCoUnTeR: ExTrA TeRROReStRiAl XS-Tech"
Reviewed on May 09, 2007 by Flight Safety
Rating: 10  
Wow! What an amazing ride this was. Its too bad that it is gone. I miss it dearly. This was one of the scariest rides I have ever been on. It was definately a first and only if its kind. Never to be out done. Pioneering the animatronics industry as always. One of a very select few an every weekend WDW visitor can call a 10/10. I can say that I also miss Flight to the Moon (12/24/71), and Mission to Mars (6/7/75), which were the existing rides at the location of Alien Encounter. But of all, it was the best by far!

Alien Encounter initially opened December 16, 1994, however Michael Eisner did not like what he saw during the previews and ordered the attraction closed in January 1995. It officially opened on June 20, 1995. I believe it was even scarier and they had to tone it down a bit.

Sad to see this ride no longer exists! Its a shame that XS-Tech could not "Seize The Future".
"Glad it\'s gone!"
Reviewed on May 06, 2006 by ilovepluto23
Rating: Not rated  
WAY TOO SCARY! I was 10 when I went on this ride, and as a child...it was the most horrible experience ever. If it was still there to this day, I would NEVER go on it again. I was sick to my stomach afterwards. So glad that they replaced it with Stitch!!!
"Now Lilo et al"
Reviewed on Jan 29, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
Alien Encounter is no longer...it is now a hommage to Lilo and Stitch and whilst exciting and less scary for kids (but still scaryish), made me feel sick when the creature belches in your face! ho ho! Such a novel experience, but quite revolting at the same time!!

You have to ride to understand!
"Very intense, but good!"
Reviewed on Nov 14, 2005 by crxbrett
Rating: Not rated  
This show got a really bad reputation for scaring the kiddies. But in all fairness, Disney warned parents and the parents didn't listen. Anyways, the theming to this show was great and seemed very real. The seats alone would make anybody who hates being trapped scream with terror. I loved the feeling of being stuck in the seat and not knowing what the blazes was going on. The screaming of terrified people was a plus, too! This show made me laugh with glee. Most kids hated it and rightfully so. Horror movie/Sci-Fi fans loved it.

I kind of think a lot of people expected this show to be like the one it replaced (Mission to Mars). Meaning, a way to relax and escape from the heat for 20 minutes in an air-conditioned theater. What they got...was a surprise!

And as for all the moronic parents who dragged their children on this--I hope the parents were scarred psychologically, too. There were warnings all over the place. Maybe those parents were illiterate, I don't know.
"thrilling, but un-Disney"
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
Overall, I like this attraction. The show itself is a bit gruesome by Disney standards, even if it is only implied. It's not something you'd expect at a Disney theme park, perhaps more in the style of Universal. But the thrill is undeniable, featuring some of the more creative storytelling effects to date (at least for that time).

The preshow where SIR fries the poor alien is quite mean spirited, and really the only aspect of the attraction I really had any problem with. It's in the delivery of the SIR character, who is written and animated as more of a bully than anything else. A bully with no remorse and no retribution, very un-Disney like if you ask me.
"AWESOME!"
Reviewed on Apr 21, 2005 by donald23
Rating: Not rated  
This was one of my favorite all-time Disney attractions until they took it out. Alien Encounter was something that could not be described, only experienced. The effects were awesome and the suspense and fear was thrilling.
"Sad Farewell ~"
Reviewed on Nov 15, 2003 by DVCMommy
Rating: Not rated  
This was one of the few rides that brought the Disney Magic truly to life for me (as a grown-up). I keep hoping that they'll re-open it somewhere more appropriate, like Epcot. I just can't understand why, for the stupidity of a few bad parents, the rest of us should suffer it's absence. I went to the last showing of this ride, and even then, some insane woman had brough her 4-ish looking child onto the ride. Of course, we tried to talk her out of it, but she was heck-bent. Predictably, they had to stop the showing (luckily early enough) to let this looney out to console her child. There were plenty of warnings in the cue for the ride, and as far as I'm concerned, if you can't follow instructions you're just asking to be removed from the gene pool. This is like the instructions on a hair-dryer that tell you not to use it in the shower: it should be common sense not to bring your child onto a ride that has that many overt warnings. The rest of WDW shouldn't be punished for the stupidity of a few.
"Simply the best!"
Reviewed on Aug 11, 2003 by dxwwf3
Rating: Not rated  
The best Disney attraction ever. It delivers where others dissapoint. You will be missed!
"Not for the fainthearted!"
Reviewed on Aug 08, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
First, I strongly recommend against taking your kids on this attraction. Even though you go in knowing that it's all just a show, it still gets pretty scary. I've seen more than a few kids have a meltdown in Alien Encounter. Heck, the first time I went on it, it scared the socks off of me. That said, this is a fun attraction for people who enjoy very dark humor and don't scare easily. But let the kids go on Buzz Lightyear, instead...
"OMG... I HATE this ride!"
Reviewed on Jul 27, 2003 by aj_macack
Rating: Not rated  
Ok... yes I am a chicken... but honestly if you're under 20 and don't like scary movies or anything like that then DO NOT go on this ride... I'm 19 and was nearly in tears... this in my opinion is NOT a disney friendly ride! But that's just my opinion do whatever you want, i guess it doesn't hurt to try it once and make you own judgements... NOTE TO PARENTS: If your children do not want to go on this ride, please and cannot stress this enough, DON'T force them to! It could have lasting psychologic problems... one girl screamed her head off, cried, and yelled "let me off" the entire ride ( no it wasn't me) and that's just wrong!!! HAVE A NICE DAY!
"Best Ride Ever!!!!!!!!!!!"
Reviewed on Feb 21, 2003 by imagineer boy
Rating: Not rated  
This has to be the best ride ever made by imagineers. It is very cleaver and thrilling. Sure, after a while, the thrill does tone down a bit. The special effects are really neat. Once you've gine on it once, take some time to enjoy some of the comedy in this. NOT TO BE MISSED!!!!! My favorite ride in the entire Magic Kingdom and WDW.
"Scary!"
Reviewed on Feb 05, 2003 by EchoOfOphelia
Rating: Not rated  
This ride scares me to death! :) The harness are extremely uncomfortable! I know its part of the ride, but its too loud in there!
"IT was scarier before.."
Reviewed on Jan 05, 2003 by wardpr68
Rating: Not rated  
A pretty good attraction. It was definitely scarier when i saw it 3 years ago. I am almost sure they toned it down because before it was just plain scary. Overall pretty good but a few more special effects would make it that much better.
"It's awesome!!!"
Reviewed on Dec 05, 2002 by animegirllover
Rating: Not rated  
Oh yeah, Alien Encounter is the best attraction I love. It's the bomb!!! Yeah, it can be scary to children, but I love the effects of this ride & the alien writing.
"Dont drag kids onto !"
Reviewed on Oct 05, 2002 by DMC-12
Rating: Not rated  
Alien Encounter...loved it... The Pre-show is great where a really high tech audio animatronic robot demos the new state of the art Transporter...cool! Then into the theater...where you sit and a harness lowers onto your Shoulders... I found that to be a bit uncomfy. Great FX... Great Audio... A must do for grown ups! But, one thing really bothered me..... Some really white trashy lady... was dragging her poor, terrified, had to be no older than 5 year old little girl onto the ride This upset me seeing this....the mom had her by the hand...and was literally dragging her into the queue. The mom said "Its not scary...Stop CRYING!" The CM at the entrance said...."mame...it really is SCARY" I followed and told the mom the same thing.... she just rolled her eyes at me....and dragged her kid into the queue area. Great....now the kid will be scarred for life...poor thing...that mother really really pi$$ed me off... So we did alien encounter...and of course....all the little ones....that went on...came out crying and terrified. Including the poor little girl with the white trash mother...(the reason I say white trash folks is cause you really had to see the way she was dressed and acting in public). So take your little ones across the way to Buzz Lightyear's Space Ranger Spin instead.
"Pretty Good"
Reviewed on Oct 05, 2002 by Brooke
Rating: Not rated  
This is a good thing to put in Tommarrowland, it fits the theming very well. I agree with everyone who said it's not as good the second time though, that's very true it's better when you don't know whats going to happen.
"First Experience is Fun"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2002 by Brett
Rating: Not rated  
I remember my first visit to Alien Encounter. It was during it's first year of operation and I will admit, I was pretty scared of the concept of what I was about to embark upon. The pre-show with SIR is excellent. One of the best animatronics around. But the real thrill awaits. Once you get in your seat and get locked down, get ready for a true scare. If this is your first time, it'll really put the fright into you. I'm not gonna spoil the fun, but some nice effects with your chair make the best scare. Anyways, my advise about Alien Encounter is simple. After your first visit, wait awhile to ride again. This way you can appreciate the chills you get properly.
"Lots of Fun!"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2002 by Merlin0402
Rating: Not rated  
This is by far my favorite attraction in Tomorrowland, and really the only one that fits the new theming. It terrified me the first time, and has made me laugh ever since. A must-see attraction!
"Not too Great"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
This might be my least favorite attraction in the Magic Kingdom. While the theming is elaborate and the pre-show good, the show itself did not really impress me. It just wasn't that fun and not what I go to the Magic Kingdom to see. I would skip this unless you have extra time.
"Loved It the 1st Time"
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2002 by jabas
Rating: Not rated  
The problem with fear, is that much if it relies on anticipation, and being startled unaware. I think that's why this attraction was less than impressive the second time. The pre-show worked like gangbusters, but with the actual attraction, I knew what would happen, was no longer surprised, and no longer thrilled. See it the first time for sure...try it again, and maybe, like me, you'll be able to skip it thereafter. Not for those who need nightlights.
"Solid attraction"
Reviewed on Sep 05, 2002 by Wilson
Rating: Not rated  
Clever storyline that is well done. Genuinely scary the first time you experience it (fear of the unknown is always the worst kind), subsequent viewings, once you know what will happen, allow you to catch some of the humourous lines and lighter moments. A solid, not spectacular, attraction that should be experienced.
"COOL!"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by Disney4648
Rating: Not rated  
This show is very very scary! The Pre-Show is awsome and there are some speical effects during the show. This ride is uaually about a 45 minute wait but every second is worth it.
"HOLD ON"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
THE PRESHOW WAS AS ENTERTAINING AS THE SHOW ITS SELF BE SURE TO LISTEN FOR SOME LINES THAT RELATE TO ALL BIG BUSINESS. SMALL CHILDREN HAVE A TENDENCY TO FREAK OUT.
"Bottom Line: ITS SCARY!"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by Bryy2001
Rating: Not rated  
Although not for the young ones in any respect, this ride/show remains one of the scariest at any Disney park and one of the most technologically advanced attractions Disney or any other theme park has ever employed. The modest exterior hides one of the most thrilling and frightening experiences at Magic Kingdom, if this is the future of theme park attractions, bring it on.
"Alien Encounter!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by Genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
Alien encounter is a pretty good edition to tommorowland in disney world. As one of the newer attractions this show features a man trying to teleport himself to a viewing room to see everyone watching the show. Of course something goes terribly wrong and an alien is teleported in the show room!From there everything goes haywire. Its a great idea to see if its your 1st time, otherwise it can get pretty boring.
"Very Scary"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by wdwfanatic17
Rating: Not rated  
Very scary attraction, definetly not for small children
"Not worth it!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by SJTSmith
Rating: Not rated  
I found this attraction boring. It is just not worth the time.
"frightening and fun"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by mtaft
Rating: Not rated  
We laughed and screamed all the way through- what a kick!
"Becomes tired quickly"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by wdwhigh
Rating: Not rated  
Although initially the ride is excellent and scary, there's no replay value and it all seems a little lame.
"Ridiculously Lame"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
Alien Encounter is overrated and lame. The effects aren't the least bit convincing. There's nothing about the actual experience that's scary whatsoever. I was extremely disappointed with it because I had heard good things. Too bad for me that I was given bad information, I guess.
"No, You May NOT Get Out!"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
What a great attraction! The ExtraTERRORestrial Alien Encounter was probably one of the best changes at Disney I've seen. Not all of it is terror, actually. There's a hilarious preshow featuring the "lower lifeform" Skippy and the SIR. I don't want to give away too much, but these animatronics are the highlight of my trips to the Tomorrowland Interplanetary Convention Center! Believe me, there are more laughs in this attractions than thrills. Great work, Disney! Bravo!
"Scary!"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by wdwcrazy
Rating: Not rated  
This is one of the scariest attraction at WDW. You are shown a demonstration of a teleportation device. But somting goes wrong and an alien from another planet is transported to you. This attraction is not for little kids or people who get scared easily. There are many special effects used which make you feel like you're being stalked by an alien. If you want thrills and a scare, this attraction is for you
Alien Encounter
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site