Disney's Wilderness Lodge Resort reviews

Magic Kingdom Resort Area
Reader rating Reader rating 8.7 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.7  
"Definitely Worth a Trip"
Reviewed on Jul 16, 2014 by rnese
Rating: 8  
Cleanliness - Very clean. Clean grounds. Rooms were clean except for the fact that my kids found a Lego piece on the floor beside one of the beds which leads me to believe the room wasn't vacuumed well or at all before we checked in.

Theming - Great! Stayed at Boardwalk, Poly, and Contemporary before. Since the Poly was undergoing a refurb, Contemporary was booked and wanted to be near the MK (ruling out the Boardwalk) I decided to try Wilderness. I was hesitant because when I think "Walt Disney World" I don't associate NW US Lodges with Mickey Mouse. Well, I was wrong. The lobby is amazing! My wife, kids and I grabbed a Hidden Mickey scavenger hunt sheet from the front desk an explored the lodge. It's truly beautiful.

Dining - Ate at the Whispering Canyon. Family style dining where they bring large portions to your table for the party to share. The food was good, not outstanding. This type of meal can be similarly experienced at the Hoop Dee Do for more money, but you get a show. Next time I want this style of dining I'll go to O'Hana over at the Poly. The Roaring Fork is the counter service dining choice. Ate there for breakfast each day. The adult breakfast platter was awesome. It was big enough for my 10 year-old son and I to split each morning.

Transportation - Quick boat ride to the Magic Kingdom. Buses to the other parks.

Downside - The pool and pool deck area are too small for a resort of that size. They are scheduled to refurb the pool this fall. Hopefully they'll address this. Also, the Roaring Fork is too small as well. Finally, transportation. In the mornings we would share a bus with the Grand Floridian. Even if we filled the bus enough so that some had to stand in order to go to EPCOT, we still went to the GF...and no one would get on! So an 8 minute bus ride would turn into a 20 minute ride. Also, out bus depot at the parks would always be one of the furthest from the gate. I believe the Deluxe Resort Depots should be closet.

All in all I would recommend the Wilderness Lodge to anyone who hasn't stayed there and is looking for something different. As someone who stayed at the POLY back in 2010 and vowed to stay nowhere other than the POLY ever again...I must say that I am torn for my next trip. If it turns out that when it's time for me to book my 2016 trip and the Wilderness Lodge turns out to be about $1000 less for 7 nights...it'll be a "no brainer" for me and a return to the Wilderness Lodge!
"One of the BEST resorts"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2013 by Kutchey
Rating: 10  
We have stayed at Wilderness Lodge several times including the year it first opened (1994) and this August (2013). It is by far one of the best resorts at Walt Disney World. From the transportation options - boat, bus, easy access to the monorail, pool with water slide, movie on the beach, food options, customer service from the moment you walk in to the moment you leave, etc... The rooms are not large but have been recently updated and are very nice for a deluxe resort. You can easily skip a day at the parks and find tons to do at the Lodge with or without children. I would recommend the Wilderness Lodge to everyone it is a home away from home. (Hint: request a woods view room on the Magic Kingdom side higher floor and you can see the fireworks from your hotel balcony.)
"Beautiful at Christmas!"
Reviewed on Jul 17, 2013 by DisneyLemons
Rating: 9  
We stayed at the Wilderness Lodge in 2012 a couple weeks before Christmas. It was absolutely beautiful! The HUGE tree in the lobby is just amazing! The resort has such a warm cozy feel and it was just perfect for the holiday. We stayed on the club level and the food was good - seating a little 'tricky' for a party of 5 sometimes but we managed. Whispering Canyon is always a good time and good food. We don't mind the boat rides to MK -matter of fact find it relaxing.
"stayed one night"
Reviewed on Jul 08, 2013 by Jessica
Rating: 4  
Stayed at theWL for one night in 2012. Can't say I was a huge fan. The boats weren't a fast way to get to the MK, the bus service wasn't that great (granted I know a lot of hotels suffer now with service that is not as great as it was 5 years ago), and our room was very dark and dim. However, the quick service (Roaring Forks) was awesome and so was the pool. It really is a beautiful hotel but just not quite my speed.
"GREAT HOTEL."
Reviewed on Jul 05, 2013 by Donchi
Rating: 10  
One of the best hotels on property. Great staff, great rooms, great transportation, great dining. I have stayed on all of the hotels in MK area, and these one is my favorite, tied with the contemporary. The hotel is cosy, very inviting, comfortable. Highly recommended.
"Our Home"
Reviewed on Jun 06, 2013 by derelicte19
Rating: 10  
WL was the first deluxe resort we ever stayed at (and the only one so far) and it is just an absolutely spectacular resort. We love that all the rooms are centrally located in one building. The grand lobby is breathtaking and I literally had to stop and stare when I first walked in. Roaring Fork is a great place to grab a quick meal or snack. The specialty waffles are yummy as is the Magic Cookie Bar. We made a special trip here last week with some family who had never seen the lodge to get one of these snacks. They too were completely blown away. The boat ride to MK is nice and relaxing and we had very good luck with bus service. The line for buses were never long when the parks closed. The only downside was how far down the hall that our room on the villas side was but even then, it wasn't as far from the food court as the furthest rooms at any of the value resorts are. WL will always be our home as it was the first resort we really fell in love with. A must stay for anyone staying on Disney property!
"Wonderful Escape"
Reviewed on Jun 05, 2013 by KCheatle
Rating: 10  
Having stayed at all levels of Disney Resorts, this was easily my favorite resort. Prior to our stay at WL, we stayed at the Contemporary, Pop Century and Coronado Springs. Several years ago, I stayed at the Polynesian and the Grand Floridian. For several reasons, WL ranks above all of those hotels in my opinion, and chances are we will not stay at any other hotel from now on. There are 2 things that put WL above even the other deluxes in my opinion: (1) The size (the ease of which you can get to and from your room from transportation, The Roaring Fork, and the pool; and (2) the tranquilness. The size of the Disney hotels is often not considered by hotel guests until it's too late to do anything about it (i.e., until you hauling a stroller and a sleeping child from the bus back to your room at 10 pm). It is so easy to get from the buses and/or boat to your room in WL. Unless you get lucky or pay significantly extra to stay close to the main hub in other hotels, you will walk a considerable distance back to your room. After a long, exhausting day in the parks that can make you pretty sour. Not only was our room closer to transportation, but it was also so close to the quick service restaurant, Roaring Fork. It was so nice to be able to go down and fill up our mugs in the morning and at night or grab a quick snack. It was a real pain at the other hotels to have to trek out and get that stuff. It just made out trip so much more enjoyable. Also, the other hotels can be really noisy. At WL, all you hear in the morning or at night from your balcony is the waterfall. It's so nice at the end of a long day to just sit out on the balcony and have a glass of wine or in the morning having a cup of coffee and just listen to the soothing waterfall. Compared to the chaos you encounter pretty much everywhere else in Disney, it's a treat you don't appreciate until you have it. There are several other reasons I love WL. But those two are why I will never stay anywhere else.
"Our favorite WDW resort (so far)!"
Reviewed on May 22, 2013 by RedDad
Rating: 10  
The Wilderness Lodge is, in my opinion, one of the best options for those who want to try a deluxe resort, stay close to a park, and not bust the budget. It's the most affordable of all the deluxe hotels, and though it also has the smallest rooms, its incredibly beautiful lobby and proximity to MK make it a great choice! We stayed here with three adults, a 12 year old, and a 1 year old, and never felt cramped in the room at all. We chose this resort because we knew that, with a little one, we'd be spending more time in our room, and wanted to be close to MK. The ferry boat to MK is one of the best things about staying here! We requested a room on the top floor, on the MK side, and were able to see some of the highest fireworks during Wishes, and the Electrical Water Pageant each night from our room. Our kids loved the main pool and the activities on the beach. On site dining options are very good - we have enjoyed both breakfast and dinner at Whispering Canyon. The skillets and milkshakes are very good, and the service is...well, entertaining! Artist Point is a very nice signature dining experience, and Roaring Fork is a very basic quick service - nothing special, but adequate for quick meals. I highly recommend this resort during the holidays as well. We stayed during Thanksgiving week, and the decorations in the lobby are breathtaking! We have stayed in a variety of WDW resorts, from value to deluxe, and this is our favorite so far!
"Superb Upscale Family Resort"
Reviewed on May 22, 2013 by RonAnnArbor
Rating: 10  
Probably the "best" all around family resort when traveling with kids, Wilderness Loge has the "wow" factor in spades, from your first entrance through the majestic lobby, to your entire stay. The boat to MK is wonderfully relaxing, the busses run frequently to the parks, and the resort is gorgeous. Meal options are plentiful and varied (though the food "court" is not much more than a snack bar.). Highly recommended.
"BEST Deluxe"
Reviewed on May 21, 2013 by Trotsky
Rating: 10  
Some background... Two stays per year since 2005 (over 16). Always in Woods or Courtyard View. WL is probably the BEST Deluxe out there - great features, great staff, great rooms, great transportation, great dining... did I mention it was great? As a measure of commitment? Sandy and I bought into DVC in June of 2012. I refused to buy in until Disney gave me a HOME contract at the Villas at Wilderness Lodge. Folks? No one lays down over $28,000 cash for a bad resort.
"Love it!!"
Reviewed on Mar 25, 2012 by dsdmbU2
Rating: 9  
We've ate at Whispering Canyon in the past but had not stayed at WL until this past Jan. It was worth the wait!! The lobby is beautiful and the pool area is breathtaking right down to the river/creek and, of course, Old Faithful!! Roaring Forks met our "quick service" needs for breakfast and snacks. The castmembers were all great. Did not encounter any problems with transportation (buses or boat to MK). Search out all the private areas (rocking chairs, etc.) to sit and read the paper. Kids loved the bunk beds!! Of course, the room wasn't perfect (some minor mildew/rust in bathroom/shower)but very few are. Hallway rugs on our floor could've used some "pulling". Other than these few minor flaws it's a great place to stay!!
"Never had a bad stay...."
Reviewed on Jan 01, 2011 by JaSnake16
Rating: 10  
I have stayed at this resort 3 out of my last four trips (including my honeymoon and their honeymoon suite....truly recommended) and am going back in February. The theme is wonderfully done (lobby anyone) and the rooms are always clean and well serviced. The main pool with the small bubbling geyser starting in the lobby and cascading out into the waterfalls pouring into the pool is also a nice touch. Definitely worth it.
"totally amazing"
Reviewed on Oct 22, 2010 by betcoh
Rating: 10  
We loved the Wilderness Lodge...it is beautiful, inviting, cozy and had everything we wanted. being able to take the water taxi to magic kingdom was great - while everyone else was running to the monorail and the buses, we hopped on a boat with hardly any wait time. All of the staff we very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The overnight staff (manager and security -lynda??) took great care in helping me get the medical attention i needed in the middle of the night and even checked up on me the next day! the housekeeping staff was amazing - we had a woman named pam - she made different animals and things out of the towels...the kids could not wait to see what she made each day. plus she even straightened up our room!!! usually you get the beds made and new towels...she went above and beyond. very clean. the restaurants were great. the arcade was fun and the pool was awesome! the kids loved the slide! the grounds were beautiful - can't wait to go back!
"Awesome"
Reviewed on Jan 05, 2010 by captainkidd
Rating: 10  
Best resort on property. Cozy, convenient, inviting.
"Great"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by bia5ngo
Rating: 10  
I stayed here during my last visit and I will say i would definitely do it again. Each day by the pool, there was a fun little pool party for everyone. That alone would keep everyone happy. There are many recreational choices including the near Fort Wilderness for a bike ride or fishing. The theme is very interesting and different. You don't see many hotels like this. I would definitely recommend this hotel to most people.
"Absolutely Perfect!"
Reviewed on Jun 13, 2009 by Icebergtip
Rating: 10  
We stayed for 3 days in August of 2008 in a waterview room that overlooked the pool and had a view of the lake. I could live at this resort and never want to leave. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and reminded us of a prior trip to Yellowstone Lodge.

Our room was quiet, clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. Housekeeping did a great job each day.

The staff was courteous and efficient, the best we've encountered yet after staying in three different locations. After a nightmarish stay at French Quarter Riverside, I wholeheartedly recommend Wilderness Lodge if your budget will allow. We felt as if we got what we paid for in the best sense of the word.
"Great!!!! Just a few problems........."
Reviewed on Sep 04, 2008 by osuang
Rating: 8  
First let me say the resort was beautiful! The CM's were amazing! Our room was on the first floor facing the pool, very convenient to pool, buses and boats!

We had towel animals everyday, with balloons and cards for my daughters birthdays which was great!

I will say that the rooms are somewhat small, we had a courtyard view with bunk beds for two adults, a 6 year and 7 year old.

The bathroom was small and wasn't "sparkling" clean (a little mold in grout lines).

Overall our experience was good. We never had to wait on boats, only a few minutes for buses.

I would recommend the Wilderness Lodge and would probably stay again!
"Very nice resort-but not deluxe"
Reviewed on Jun 25, 2008 by fmingo36
Rating: 7  
Please note we were only there for 2 days and only visited the MK during stay.

It’s hard not to be impressed when you walk through the front doors at the Wilderness Lodge resort. The lobby area is stunning. The front desk staff was friendly. Although even with 2 small children and many bags I was never offered any help from bell-hop service checking in or checking out.

The grounds are very nice. The waterfall is especially nice to view.
I loved having a pool and a beach area for my daughter to play in.
The proximity to the MK and being able to take a boat to the MK were by far the best bonus of staying there. With 2 small children and a double stroller buses can be difficult.

Our room was a pool/courtyard view on the 5th floor. The room was nice but small for a deluxe hotel. I felt the interior was dark. I have stayed at POFQ and didn’t see that much difference in the room (other than décor). Also they were painting/staining some of the wood in the hall and the smell was horrible. It was so strong as soon as you got of the elevator and it kind of lingered into our room.

The balcony viewing the pool was nice, but unfortunately (not Disney’s fault) my neighbor was a smoker and made sitting on the balcony unpleasant. We did have a hell of a thunder storm with lightening one afternoon and let me tell you the thunder just BOOMED through the open pool area. And it seemed like lightening was going to strike one of the large pine trees on the grounds. Maybe it was the nature setting of the resort but the storm was kind of scary.

We ate at WC. It was OK. The food was average (although I LOVED the corn of the cob).
I had read a lot about it and was looking forward to having a lot of fun with our server, but she was pretty boring for most of the meal and we were even celebrating a birthday. We did go at lunch so maybe the dinner crowd is a little rowdier.

Over all it is a very nice resort but do I think it’s worth the price of a deluxe resort-NO.
I will probably try a different resort next time.
"great"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
beautiful rustic feel. great food and pool
"Great if you have kids"
Reviewed on May 17, 2008 by reptar77
Rating: 3  
Great theming
Everything else was very disappointing.
We went back to the grandflo and the boardwalk.
"We had a ball!"
Reviewed on May 14, 2008 by Kelsybelle
Rating: 8  
Our stay at the Wilderness Lodge was really fun. I think we would give it a rating of 8 out of 10. We stayed there April 23, 2008 till, April 30, 2008. I'll start with the cons because there are so few. We were offered a room downgrade from a courtyard view to a standard parking lot, bus stop room, at first we didn't want to but when we realized that we would be immediatly credited the difference in price ($472.00) we jumped for joy! Our room was on the 6th floor facing the Whispering Canyon Cafe and it stayed pretty busy and loud until about 10:00 pm.
Our balcony was on the front of the lodge and while we didn't hear alot of car or bus noise we heard delivery trucks backing into the service area right under us, as early as 5:30 a.m.! Those are the cons.
The pros are that the Wilderness Lodge is a really nice change of pace for being on the Magic Kingdom loop. We've stayed at the Polynesian and the Grand Floridian and have had wonderful stays at both places but the Lodge seemed to be a little more peaceful without alot of people rushing around. Both pools were great at the Lodge as we found they had alot more trees that helped block some sun in the afternoon which was great for our 1 year old. We loved that the Magic Kingdom was a fun boat ride away, as well as the Contemporary and we never waited for more than 15-20 min for a ride coming or going and we were there at a busy time of year.
The food at the Roaring Fork was good and the choices seemed to please my family, and the Whispering Canyon was great.
We're glad we stayed at the Lodge, I don't think we'll stay there again not because of anything bad but because we love to try all the different resorts and our next trip (fingers, toes, and with eye balls crossed will be May 09) we'll stay at the Beach Club!
"Dirty Room, Overpriced"
Reviewed on Apr 27, 2008 by MADIZFAN
Rating: 3  
We just returned from a 7 day stay at WL, April 16-23. Having a family of 5 our choices were to book a Jr. Suite at $575/night or 2 standard rooms which would have cost more. We splurged on the Jr. Suite. Our view from room 4123 was beautiful, however the room was filthy! We found dirty underwear near the bed, a pair of dirty socks in the nightstand, a dirty tank top on the balcony, and lots of junk on the floor: Froot Loops, hair elastics, toe nails, and debris. Worst of all, the bathroom had human waste smeared on the wall!!! We did not feel this room to be deluxe in any way. The pool was okay, but nothing spectacular, very crowded. The only good things were the convenience of the boat to the MK, and the beauty of the lobby! We would not stay there again.
"WL our new fav resort"
Reviewed on Mar 05, 2008 by gigiandjim
Rating: 9  
stayed at WL Feb 24th-Mar 4th It is now our new Fav. 1st is LOCATION boat ride to MK Or Contemp short bus rides to all other parks\
when you walk in WOW. My son (8) loved it,with the hot springs and streams.
We stayed in room 4001 overlooking the lake just over the boat transpotation dock. could see MK Wishes (leaning left a little). Room are smaller than CB and Dressers are small pool is smaller than other resorts but wasn't a problem. Can't wait till next year
"Stunning and Spacious"
Reviewed on Sep 12, 2007 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 10  
The title sums it up. The Wilderness Lodge is breathtakingly beautiful. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. There are always kids activities by the pool, which features geysers that the kids can watch for hours! Older kids will love the zippy slides.

If you've never actually seen the exterior, imagine a huge Lincoln Log house... now make it into a towering lodge and surround it in pines.

The landscaping is rustically soothing and makes for great twilight strolls. Whispering Canyon Cafe, though pricy, has portions big enough to feed the Marine Corps. The kids ride around on hobby horses during the meal. I haven't actually been to Artist's Palette, but I hear that the window views are lovely.

And, as at any Deluxe resorts, (though it really is inbetween the deluxes and moderates, which I view as a good thing for family-friendliness and casualness) the service is top notch.
"Not positive"
Reviewed on Aug 13, 2007 by I-4Warrior
Rating: 6  
Nearly everyone will disagree with my review, but it's based on my stay, and it wasn't good.

First, the positves... the theming, construction, decor were all amazing. WDW at its best. That's where the kind words end.

Small room. The tub didn't function properly. The CMs were quite rude. The room we had was well quipped with a horrible location.

We stayed there on our wedding night. After our reception, we hit the parks for a while and were treated like gold at Epcot and MK as we wore our prerequisite bride and groom moue-ear hats. I thank everyone who worked the parks that day, because we felt so special. When we checked in, we were just kind of rushed on... the concierge didn't even walk us to our room... rather just pointed and said, "It's at the end of the hall." We've NEVER had that happen at any other WDW Deluxe resort while staying on a concierge level. The room itself overlooked the parking lot bus loading area on one side, and the lobby on the other. Pavement and vehicles on one side and the screaming madness of the Whispering Canyon on the other. While the lobby is quite a sight to see and otherwise would've been a great location, the constant yelling from the restaurant facing us really detracted. Romantic wedding night... I don't think so. And don't get me wrong, Whispering Canyon is probably a lot of fun and kids have a blast, but for us on this stay, it's not what we were expecting.

We couldn't wait to leave. We've never stayed there again and probably never will. I give it a 10 for the theming and a 2 for everything else, splitting the difference, I give it a 6 overall.
"Would Never Consider Another Resort..."
Reviewed on Jun 28, 2007 by MaXXimus
Rating: 9  
This was my second time staying here and for sure not my last. The only thing I didnt like was the pool (as stated in another review) is a touch small, the rooms had an overall nicer look 9 yrs ago and they need to improve the cleaning and food in the Roaring Fork (quick service). But overall cannot wait to go back again and if all goes well it will be a 2 week stay next time.
"Awesome !!!"
Reviewed on Feb 23, 2007 by Red Sox Fan
Rating: 10  
Wilderness Lodge met every expectation we had and then some. It was a beautiful and relaxing resort to stay while enjoying the parks. We visited all the other deluxe resorts and we still preferred the atmosphere at the Lodge. We will definitely return.
"Best Resort?"
Reviewed on Jan 27, 2007 by Pumbas Nakasak
Rating: 9  
For me this resort had everything. Great location, stunning construction, and some of the best CMs.

The trip to the MK buy boat is a joy and adds to the fun of the day, though the early finish of boats to /from the Contemp can be frustrating after a nice meal.

The Whispering canyon is a great relaxed atmosphere though on ocassion its too relaxed.

The pool is perhaps a little too small and is what stops me giving it a 10/10 rating.
"The Great Outdoors"
Reviewed on Jan 27, 2007 by Computer Magic
Rating: 9  
This is just like being in Yellowstone WY. This is for everyone that enjoys the great outdoors. One of the best Signature Restruarants on Property, where the Salmon is to die for. Whisper Canyon Cafe is a great place if you have kids. AKL was modeled after this Resorts.
"Love the WL"
Reviewed on Jan 26, 2007 by scorp111
Rating: 10  
Easily the family favorite out of the 5 WDW resorts we have stayed at.

From the time you arrive in front of the massive structure that very much represents a Western Lodge, through the expansive lobby, to the delightful pool area, there is a very comfortable feeling to the WL.

Plenty of sitting areas to just relax and enjoy the atmosphere.

Location, a short boat ride from the MK, is the best non-monorail resort for the MK.

"Great Value"
Reviewed on Dec 29, 2006 by harryk
Rating: Not rated  
Have stayed here 5 times, once in the Lodge itself and 4 times in the Villas. (One bedroom and Two bedroom suites). Room sizes are more than adequate, i.e. not small!. Theming is great, service is great. If you have never stayed here be sure to take the guided tour of the lobby.
"Comfortable & Cozy"
Reviewed on Dec 16, 2005 by Corum
Rating: Not rated  
Great resort for a family to spend time at Disney. More relaxing and quiet than most other resorts. Staff members are great and concierge is very nice. Food is available at different price ranges and the mercantile has some great stuff. Easy to get to Magic Kingdom & Epcot. Animial Kingdom & Downtown take some time to get to.
"Great place to stay!"
Reviewed on Nov 04, 2005 by Cath
Rating: Not rated  
We stayed on the concierge level. The stay was outstanding in every way, except the rooms are small. The mattresses were great and rooms quiet, so the good night of rest and fact that we weren't in the room all that much made it okay. We had a queen sized bed and bunk beds, great for the boys, ages 8 and 10. The concierge staff were very accomodating. I lost some perscprition eye drops and they put me with a local drug store that delivered them to me for $5. Wow!!! This is our second stay on Wilderness. Will stay again!
"WELCOME HOME"
Reviewed on Mar 31, 2005 by yensiD tlaW
Rating: Not rated  
Its like 2 vacations in 1
Spend a busy day in the parks?relax at night in a Wilderness Lodge

best of the best
"I love it!!"
Reviewed on Mar 01, 2005 by SnowWhite5669
Rating: Not rated  
My husband and I ended our last visit to Walt Disney World with two nights at Wilderness Lodge. Upon arrival we were surprised with an upgrade to the honeymoon suite and conceirge level! Cast was extremely friendly and made us feel at home. After coming from Pop Century this was a welcome change! Artist Point was fantastic as was Whipering Canyon (Kethup anyone??). We loved it so much that I just booked another trip for May 12-17 and we are staying at Wilderness Lodge. It is definately worth the extra money!
"Worth the Money"
Reviewed on Feb 28, 2005 by Troy08
Rating: Not rated  
The Wilderness Lodge is cettainly worth the money. I have stayed twice before and enjoyed it very much. The theming is excellent, and the pool and hot tub first rate. The drawbacks are the food is quite pricey(but what Disney food isn't} and the rooms tend to be a tad smaller then the other deluxe hotels. I did find that the lighting was not that great in the queen/bunk bed room that i stated in three years ago. Have booked again, same type of room, for this July. Hope the lighting is better. One opf my favortite things abvout this resort is just hanging out in the lobby by the fireplace if it is raining outside. Gives you something to do besides staying in the rrom watching t.v..
"Home away from home"
Reviewed on Sep 26, 2004 by marzbars
Rating: Not rated  
We have stayed here every single time we've been to WDW and it's hard to think of staying anywhere else. I just love hanging out in the lobby after a long day at the parks. For a moment you can even forget you are in Florida. From the moment the a/c hits me on the way in I know I'm home. The best year was the first year it was open because people were more respective of the funiture and things. It is still a good time.
"Nice"
Reviewed on Jul 01, 2004 by Temin
Rating: Not rated  
A very nice place to stay. I was not dissapointed in the slightest.
"No place better"
Reviewed on Jun 20, 2004 by optjay
Rating: Not rated  
Amazing place to stay. The only way to make it better would be free rooms.
The theme, the people and the general concept will blow you away.
"Nice"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2003 by miamimickey72
Rating: Not rated  
This would have to be the least favorite of all the resorts I have been to.....and I still enjoyed it. I rate it good overall. My stay was nice. Rooms were a nice size. Pool was nice but nothing out of this world. Enjoyed the location of it....just a boat ride to MK. I think the thing that stands out and best thing for me of this resort is the lobby and the theme was super real. Transportation was not good. You always had to make a stop at Fort Wilderness before going to any park....and again stop there on the way back to your resort...to long of a ride. Still a must do.
"Nice to visit"
Reviewed on Jun 07, 2003 by WdwFred
Rating: Not rated  
A good place to visit and walk through but not worth the price for the small room!
"Very Nice .....but"
Reviewed on May 08, 2003 by mkymaus
Rating: Not rated  
I enjoy this resort very much....but....in my opinion, the rooms are a bit too small. They are the size of the moderate resorts. If you have ever stayed in a room there even with the bunk beds...its quite cramped for space. I like to be able to walk around in my room without stubbing a toe or jaming a shin into something. You stick 4 people in a room that size and your asking for trouble...LOL Aside from that...the lobby is to die for. One of my all time favorites!!...by far! Stunning! The pool area is very nice...though the pool could of been a bit larger. The fact that the "waterfalls" begins in the lobby is awesome..great picture spot. The restaurants are wonderful...the Artists Point is terrific as is the other (forgot the name) the family style all you can eat one...always packed...which means its good. Parking is easy to get to and from your car. And the views even from a regular room are breathtaking! We had ducks at our patio door every moring waiting for hand outs..it was like we were in our own animal kingdom...oh and the deer..we saw deer too! I general I love this hotel...but the rooms are a bit cramped.
"My favorite hotel"
Reviewed on Apr 24, 2003 by trustnhymn110
Rating: Not rated  
I love the theming here! The pool is a great sight to behold! The lobby is a sight in itself! If you haven't stayed in this resort then you have missed out! It is definatly number 1 on my list! check it out!
"I love this place!!!!"
Reviewed on Mar 15, 2003 by scottnj1966
Rating: Not rated  
I have stayed here three times. The feeling the place gives you is worth every dime. The have situated this resert so it gives you the feel of being in the middle of the woods when you are just a half mile away from the contemporary and not much further then the Magic Kingdom. If you stay here dont forget to visit the all you can eat bbq dinner. Lots of fun for the kids too.
"Great Resort!"
Reviewed on Mar 12, 2003 by stephsim
Rating: Not rated  
I stayed at the one bedroom villa and it was nice. My only problem was with the shower. For the money, I was very dissappointed in it. It was just like a gym or dorm styled stand up shower. I thought it would be nice(like a seperate glass one or something) but with a rustic feel but that was not the case. The resort overall is awesome and so relaxing. You really feel like you are worlds away when you are there. The theming is so great! You can hear cricket churping(sp) and it has awesome music playing all the time. I would highly recommend this resort.
"Beautiful & cozy"
Reviewed on Oct 21, 2002 by MRTJ1994
Rating: Not rated  
Wilderness Lodge offers one of the most secluded and relaxed locations among the deluxe resorts. The resort is absolutely beautiful. The 'wilderness' design is carried throughout from the massive lobby with tepee lights, hardwood floors, totem poles, animal carvings, and rustic furnishings to the beautifully landscaped courtyard with a brook, waterfall, swimming pool, and geiser. The hotel offers deluxe accommodations in a private and cozy setting. The fireplaces in the lobby offer a variety of places to relax after a day of running around WDW. Roaring Forks, Whispering Canyon, and Artist Point all offer delicious dining options. If there's time, take the resort tour!
"Possibly the best"
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2002 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
In my opinion this is Disney's best resort. It is off the beaten track and is just beatiful. The AKL is in the same category as the Wilderness Lodge, but my my pick is still the WL.
"Bring Your Camera!"
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2002 by rodkenrich
Rating: Not rated  
I guarantee that visitors will discover new and exciting things each and every day of their stay ( I'm a witness because it happened to me). Needless to say, this is a resort in which one can bypass the excavation of going to the theme parks and spend the entire vacation and begin an excursion at The Wilderness Lodge. A forestry environment surrounded by a lake is a sight for sore eyes, nevertheless, visitors will notice new and compelling discoveries from the front entrance to the outer banks of the water taxi areas.
"Great resort"
Reviewed on Sep 05, 2002 by goofyman
Rating: Not rated  
One of the nicest places we have ever stayed. And we gave stay at many 5 stars, but this place is just special
"One of my favorites"
Reviewed on Sep 04, 2002 by Bryy2001
Rating: Not rated  
Wilderness Lodge is that good...no, seriously, it's THAT good. For the money it is the best Deluxe resort on peoperty.
"Greatest Resort Ever!"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
Out of all the resorts featured at disney world, i would have to say that the wilderness lodge is the best. The rooms usually feature bunk beds, or a double bed. The maid's are very nice and friendly as at mostly every other resort. A great part of the resort is the restaurant downstairs, its a great place to eat and have fun. The pool is nice, and theres lots to do outside. Make sure to stay here at least one time, believe me you'll come back for more!
"Great resort"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by swordsman_24
Rating: Not rated  
This is a wonderful resort. Artist Pointe is a great restaurant, and the resort overall is very romantic. My wife and I had a wonderful time on our honeymoon in October of 1998. The service was good and we had an absolute great time.
"Wonderful Resort"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
My stay at Wilderness Lodge was from 9/15/01 - 9/22/01 and I had a wonderful time staying here. From the moment I first entered the enormous lobby until the moment my trip ended, I was completely engulfed by the Disney magic. The theming of this resort is straight out of the old American Northwest and includes beautiful reconstructions of Indian totem poles, has a geyser that spouts off every hour, and a large stone fireplace. Transportation to/from Wilderness Lodge is either by ferry, your own car, or bus. There are several restaurants and eateries in Wilderness Lodge including Artist Point, Whispering Canyon, or Roaring Forks. I was more partial to the cafeteria style of Roaring Forks and was pleasantly surprised by how good the food was there. The pool was a bit on the small side, but there are several water parks to choose from for more water fun. The rooms are a tad on the small side, as well, but more than adequate for your sleeping, dressing, and showering needs. I doubt most people spend that much time in their resort rooms given the tremendous amount of things to do in WDW, yet Wilderness Lodge takes care of its guests wonderfully. Wilderness Lodge is one of Disney's best resorts. Anyone staying there will no doubt be as impressed as I was and is guaranteed a great stay.
Disney's Wilderness Lodge Resort
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site