Teppan Edo reviews

World Showcase, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 8.2 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.2  
"Good, but has been better..."
Reviewed on Jun 11, 2014 by LWB
Rating: 7  
We dined at Teppan Edo during our recent trip in May 2014. It was really good - BUT - it has been much better in the past. When we last dined there in September 2011, it was really impressive and had much more of a show aspect to it. This time, it was just any other hibachi experience. There are so many other options in Epcot to enjoy, Teppan Edo won't draw me back next trip...though I know we will come back eventually!
"Service excellence"
Reviewed on Jun 11, 2014 by ADavis
Rating: 7  
We absolutely loved our experience at Teppan Edo last November!

Although the food is nothing another Japanese hibachi restaurant couldn't offer (don't get me wrong - it was great!), the service is what sets this restaurant apart from other dining experiences we've had. Everyone we encountered was authentically genuine and happy. If it weren't my goal to continue branching out on different restaurant experiences, we would absolutely eat here again!
"Serious MUST DO!"
Reviewed on Mar 10, 2013 by GroomerMinnie
Rating: 10  
This place is great!!!! Our chef was Mayo and she was great! Unfortunately, I can not remember the name of our server but he was a just perfect. Our first visit was in Sept 2012 and I will never go to WDW again without a trip here! The Sushi appetizer is Amazing! The show put on by the chef is great. The food was wonderful and they were so attentive. We were seated with another family who was very different from us. We were a group of 4 ages ranging from 22-30 and the other family was a family of 4 (two Parents and two kids) they were also from another country and barely spoke english. With that being said we all got along great and the server and chef were great at juggling all 8 of us. Just Fantastic!!!
"My new favorite on property!"
Reviewed on Oct 21, 2012 by Jenn
Rating: 10  
I dined at Teppan Edo for the 1st time on September 26th, and boy am I glad we chose to dine here! It was the best meal I have had on property to date! The service was great and the chef was really great and funny! The food was absolutely amazing! I ordered the Asakusa, which was the Shrimp and Steak... YUMMY!!!! This was the only meal all week where I cleared my entire plate! The noodles and veggies were cooked perfect and tasted so good! We all ordered the soft serve ice cream for dessert and even that wasn't your typical ice cream.. it was so good!!! We will definitely be returning to Teppan Edo in the future.. it has become a must do each trip from here on out!
"Easily the best restaurant on property"
Reviewed on Oct 18, 2012 by Missy (StarWarsGirl95)
Rating: 10  
Every time I visit WDW (which is a lot) I go here at least once, usually twice. Why? Because it is the best. The service is great. If your glass is half empty, you get a refill (soft drinks of course). The servers are great, forever thanking you for your patience. They cook in front of you, and the cooking is always a great show. I went to a Benny Hanna's recently and it was not nearly as good with the show as here. Watch out for the volcano! The food is always good. If you're a vegetarian, this is the perfect place for you, as all of the vegetarian items are fantastic. That's coming from a non-vegetarian, too. If you go here, I recommend the Steak and Shrimp. It is always fantastic. One thing I will say: The tables all seat 8 people. If you have 6 or less people in your group, you will be put with another party. If this doesn't appeal to you, the don't go here.
"As Good as I remembered"
Reviewed on Sep 11, 2012 by LuLaSue
Rating: 7  
Its been years since we ate at this establishment and this year Dad asked that we eat here. Yes, this is your typical habachi house but the service is excellent and the food is overall very good. They had a vegetarian/vegan option and cooked my food first so it would not touch the meat.

The table winners were the scallops and the swordfish...

The show is fun and watching the kids expressions while the chef presents is priceless.

The drinks were very good here. I recommend the Apple Martini and the Plum Wine.

The desserts here are a bit funky. Even the ice-cream was odd.

Overall, we would return!
"Typical Japanese Steakhouse"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2012 by bethymouse
Rating: 3  
I did not find this restaurant to be particularly special. My husband really enjoyed the steak and the green tea. The waitresses were very attentive, and they bowed when serving you. There was a mix-up with the cooks, so we had to wait an extra 20 minutes or so for our meal. My 6 year old twin boys enjoyed dipping the chicken into the teriyaki sauce. The "Space Mountain" onion tower that smoked amazed our boys. If you like Japanese Steakhouse food such as miso soup, rice, and a limited menu then you will enjoy Teppan Edo.
"Son's favorite"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by DisneyDebNJ
Rating: 8  
Teppan Edo is one restaurant my son looks forward to. It may be considered, to some, as a *normal hibatchi restaurant*, but the Chefs are terrific! Yes, the food is good, not superb but good. In our experiences, the filet mignon they use was extremely juicy and flavorful. Cannot go wrong with Teppan Edo
"Great Service!"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by ThinkTink721
Rating: 10  
Even though we have been to our local Japanese restaurants, this one was a scale above in my opinion.
The waiting staff was awesome!...We never had to wait for anything.
The chef was a lot of fun too...our kids got a big kick out of watching his "show."
Even though the restaurant was crowded, it was still very relaxing.
The food quality & atmosphere were great.
This is one of our favorite restaurants at WDW.
I would definitely recommend this one!
"Not what I expected"
Reviewed on Sep 19, 2011 by Leo!
Rating: 5  
It's a very good touristic place to spend some time and it's not a tipical teppan place. Small portions and a short show of the chef and that's it. Not worth of the money.
"We Love It!!"
Reviewed on Oct 19, 2010 by 
Rating: 10  
I'd agree with most, if not all, of the positive comments on here. However, I'd strongly disagree with the negative posts except for maybe those regarding the high prices. With that said, we get the dining plan on every trip so that's irrelevant to us. The "complaints" about the food quality and/or portions are ridiculous. I consider myself a tough reviewer and I can tell you that the food is always excellent and you won't go away hungry. The atmosphere and the politness of the staff is beyond reproach. A must for us on every trip to Disney!!
"Would not go back unless things changed dramatically!!!!"
Reviewed on Mar 17, 2010 by leckert78
Rating: 3  
My family and I love this type of restaurant and eat at them frequently back home. We were so dissappointed with Teppan Edo. The food was not cooked well, the chicken was overdone, chewy and rubbery. In the past this restaurant did such a great job but we believe it is no longer up to par possibly due to cut backs from thee dining plan. The sushi rice was overcooked and nothing to write home about. Save your money and try out a different Disney restaurant.
"Sugoi!"
Reviewed on Jan 18, 2010 by Texas84
Rating: 10  
I give Teppan Edo a 10 just because it was so much fun. I've read about Japanese customer service and this was everything I expected, all the way down to the greetings and bows. Our chef Kenji-san seemed more of a traditional gentleman than the other chefs I saw and that was nice. He did the volcano trick with the onions along with a Mickey Mouse but also turned the volcano into a steaming train. Then he spelled N-F-R-K with veggies and we didn't know what that meant until he added the onion rings: No FoRK! I tried to go traditional with the hot green tea and miso soup. Oisshi! The shrimp and the dipping sauces were awesome, though I agree with the previous review that more noodles would have been nice. Our hostess Tomomi-san was very patient with my Japanese survival language practice. Then I read later that not finishing your rice might be bad manners. Whoops. Baka gaijin. We will definitely go back. Mina arigato goziamasu!
"Fantastic experience, along with great food, and amazing service"
Reviewed on Jun 11, 2009 by Markz
Rating: 9  
Atmosphere : 5/5

From start to finish, I actually believed that I was in Japan for an hour and a half. The experience at this restaurant is quite awesome. The dining rooms are designed into small split areas that contain 4 giant 8 person tables a big grill in the middle of it. The staff are all dressed up in authentic Japanese clothes, with the wooden sandals, which only adds up to the experience. When the cook arrives to your table, you can't take your eyes of him. Our cook put on a real show, from ninja-like skills with his cooking tools, to building a steaming volcano out of onion rings, it was quite awesome to witness. It is an experience I recommend to anyone visiting Walt Disney World, especially if you are already in Epcot that day. Every Cast Member plays their part perfectly in recreating the authentic Japanese cook house experience. Everything from the sounds and sight in this place just add up to create the perfect dining experience. It's basically a 30 minute long very entertaining cooking show that ends up with a delicious meal in your plate.

Food Quality : 5/5
Japanese cooking isn't overly complex, but the overall quality of the food was quite awesome. I had the chicken and shrimp combo, while my girlfriend had the steak and shrimp combo. Every meal is pretty straightforward : your choice of meat (either single or duo) along with Japanese udon noodle and stir fried teriyaki vegetables. It's hard not to like such a simple, yet very tasty meal. Everything is cooking right in front of you, with a variety of Japanese spices, along with soy and teriyaki sauces. The meats we're very tasty and quite tender. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about the quality of the food served at Teppan Edo. I haven't tried Tokyo Dining yet, but from what I've heard, out of the two Japanese restaurants, I can definitely say that this one will be my favorite for years to come. The deserts we're maybe the weakest point to the meal, but still, they we're something new that I had never tried before, so I still enjoyed that part.

Service : 5/5
Our waiter was a charming Japanese lady who was quick to bring drinks and very helpful with the menu. She gave us a quick lesson about Japanese pronunciation, which added a very nice touch. Most of the actual service however, is done by the cook that gets sent to your table. Our cook's name was Shinsuke, and boy what a showman he was. His display of skills was quite impressive, he was lightning fast on the grill and very entertaining. Along with playing finding Nemo with the shrimps, and writing Disney in reverse on the cooking grill with oil (I have no idea how he wrote Disney so well, with the actual calligraphy, in reverse from his view, with oil), he was a very friendly cook. We came in not knowing much about the Japanese people, and we came out wanting to visit Japan in the near future.

Portions : 3/5
The portions we're perhaps the weak point of this meal. You would get a slight portion of noodles and vegetables, along with a couple of cut shrimps, and maybe half a chicken breast. For some people this is mighty fine, but for someone who is a big eater, such as myself, these kind of portions can be a bit too light. The deserts we're also a tad bit small to my liking.

Price : 4/5
I have to be honest here, the price tags we're quite steep. Our meals we're both priced over 30$, and our total tally was somewhere around 95$ (with drinks and desert). However, considering how much fun I've had at this restaurant, I would gladly pay out of pocket for this kind of meal anytime during our next trips. I highly recommend this to anyone capable of shelling out the extra bucks to enjoy a very special dinner experience. The price might be high, but the price/quality ratio is also very positive.
"Great food, service & fun"
Reviewed on May 30, 2009 by SHORTY
Rating: 10  
The food was delicious and fresher than those hibachi style chain restaurants. Our chef was very entertaining and overall service was excellent. I highly recommend Teppan Edo.
"My family LOVES Teppan Edo"
Reviewed on Aug 04, 2008 by glingo
Rating: 10  
This is a must eat place for my family when we visit. We have always had a great time and great food. We have even had the same Chef a couple of times. Tom from Hawaii. He's the best!
"Delicious food and great entertainment"
Reviewed on May 07, 2008 by luckyme
Rating: 9  
March 2008
The service was attentive - a little formal with lots of bowing - and very pleasant.
The experience begins with warm towels to cleanse and refresh the guests.

Our chef put on a good show which I videotaped. He'd alert me when he was going to do something spectacular.
The food was simple but fresh and delicious. My daughter, Emily, ordered the child's portion which cost less but looked the same as ours.
Overall - we enjoyed the experience and will definitely visit again.

Lunch for 2 adults and 1 child was $80.00 with no alcohol, and no dessert. The price is very high but I rationalize that because it included a great show.
"It's Ok"
Reviewed on Jan 26, 2008 by Aurora_25
Rating: 8  
I have loved going to Tepanyaki so when they changed the look and everything, I thought it would still be great. Now, it wasn't horrible or anything- my DH loved his food, mine was just not what I was used to. I got the steak and it was overcooked a little and just not as good as it had been in the past. Our chef was good, but didn't do that many "tricks" or anything. All in all it was a good meal, and I will go back, but I hope that my food is better next time.

Oh, and my kids loved it- kept them entertained watching their food being made.
"Fantastic!"
Reviewed on Jan 26, 2008 by TwoTigersMom
Rating: 10  
This meal was as great at Tepanyaki was. The chef's still put on a great show and the food is delicious!
Teppan Edo
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site