Captain Cook's reviews

Disney's Polynesian Resort
Reader rating Reader rating 8.1 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.1  
"Thoughts on the new Captain Cook's"
Reviewed on Aug 14, 2014 by ptaylor
Rating: 2  
I checked out the newly refurbished Captain Cook's at Disney's Polynesian Village Resort last night - here are my thoughts.

The new decor is nice - fresh, clean, and well decorated. A lot of people may not really notice the changes, but overall it is an improvement.

Sadly the improvements stop with the decor. The food was very disappointing. I tried the fish tacos, beef udon, and Hawaiian flatbread.

The tacos were the best of the bunch. Quite spicy, some flavor, and a nice serving of slaw. Reasonable food quality, but probably not worth the asking price.

The flatbread was an embarrassment. Pineapple straight out of a can, cheap, nasty processed ham cubes on the top, a brought in factory-made base, and the cheapest cheese they could get their hands on. It was luke warm, and not at all worth the near $10 cost.

The Beef udon was watery, mostly flavorless, and lacking noodles and vegetables. Not worth the money.

A couple of other notes. The self serve Dole Whip is gone, a new kiosk will open soon. The touch screen ordering is gone, replaced by a cast member stationed at the kitchen. Most of the baked goods are gone. A few cupcakes are in a cooler.

Overall, Captain Cook's cannot be recommended. For the money, it just is not worth it. For a deluxe resort, the kitchen really needs to step it up.
"Dole Whip!"
Reviewed on Mar 02, 2013 by bethyah
Rating: 7  
It is your typical quick service restaurant, except for having a dole whip machine! We also enjoyed the Kona/Polynesian chips. The pork nachos were very good!
"Go for the Tonga Toast - Pizzas are OK"
Reviewed on Dec 10, 2012 by JTT
Rating: 9  
This is the place to get Tonga Toast cheap.

It's the same as Kona Cafe but with the counter servce price.
"Not to be missed"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by DisneyDebNJ
Rating: 9  
Nothing beats a flat bread or pork nachos with a dole whip, pool side!!! So many yummy options for breakfast, lunch or dinner at Captain Cooks. The famous Tonga Toast is one of the many offerings here for breakfast as well. We must have tried everything on the menu here over the years and enjoyed it all. If you have a down day during your Disney vacation, lunch volcano pool side or quiet pool side, is definately recommended!
"great place to eat"
Reviewed on Jan 11, 2011 by elw316
Rating: 9  
I have stayed at the Poly. resort 5 times over the past 10 years and for the counter service or snack options on the meal plan this is a great place to eat. You have some choices rather than just a burger or hot dog. A few years ago it was redone and the upgrades were very good. Not much to say bad about this place.
"great"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
really great for on the go at the poly. and for those who want something light and qucik
"A Quick Snack/Meal"
Reviewed on Jan 21, 2008 by BillyBuff
Rating: 10  
Stayed at the Polynesian and wanted a quick lunch. My burger was good. The Dole Whip was AWESOME.
"Dole Whip Secret"
Reviewed on Nov 05, 2007 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 9  
So we all know - at least, we should know - that Captain Cook's is pretty much a stylized mini-mart at the Polynesian with some healthy food choices for snacktime. But very few people know that it is the only other place in all of WDW besides Adventureland that a person can get Dole Whip!

This soft serve pineapple ice cream is perfect for watching the "Wishes" fireworks on the Polynesian beach.
Captain Cook's
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site