ABC Commissary reviews

Commissary Lane, Disney's Hollywood Studios
Reader rating Reader rating 6.1 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 6.1  
"Average burgers, AWSOME DESSERT!"
Reviewed on Oct 20, 2013 by CHOCOCLATE
Rating: 8  
We were just looking for a quick place to stop before our fastpass, so we decided to stop at ABC to get a burger. They have just average burgers and fries, but because we got the meal plan, we got a dessert with our meal. We got a cupcake, a parfait, and a chocolate mouse. They were so good, we expected a crappie cupcake, but it was really flavorful. The frosting tasted like sherbert, and the carrot cake was great. The parfait and mouse were creamy and delicious. This place should just be a dessert shop!
"No crowds"
Reviewed on Feb 16, 2013 by ThirtySomething
Rating: 5  
They used to have a great Cuban sandwich here but it's been removed from the menu. They are never busy... but that probably has a lot to do with the menu. If you want to grab a not-awful burger and escape the crowds you might find you're not entirely disappointed here.
"Yuck!"
Reviewed on Jan 21, 2013 by jtt
Rating: 1  
I loved ABC Commisary when they had the Cuban Sandwich.

Went a year ago, the lack of crowds should have told me something. The burger was the worst I had ever had. The fish was awful.


"Never crowded."
Reviewed on Jan 15, 2013 by MandyC
Rating: 8  
I've never seen it crowded so you have plenty of room to spread out and take a load off. The portions are nice and the food is typical counter service Disney. The chicken fingers are tasty. Its a nice, cool place to waste some time relaxing during lunch.
"great chicken tenders "
Reviewed on Jul 19, 2011 by Mickeygirlie
Rating: 8  
if I need a quick lunch I love going here. The chicken tenders are so yum!!! I've been back here many times.
"It is what you would expect"
Reviewed on Jan 10, 2011 by elw316
Rating: 6  
This is your basic counter service menu. The good thing is that it is usually not crowded so you have room. I ate here on my last visit and it was fine for a burger and fries.
"bland, bland, bland....."
Reviewed on Jun 11, 2010 by Tomi-Rocket
Rating: 3  
We ate here out of necessity. We were not hungry when our ADR for the SCipFi came so we missed it and decided to eat here after some arguements and by then, a hungry foursome. First off, the place was packed and a madhouse. The did not go too quickly and we didn't really like the fact that there wasn't a whole lot to choose from, but whatever, right? We were glad to be out of the heat and get some food. My DS#2 is fine as long as there's a cheeseburger to eat! Which is exactly what he, my DH and I got. My DS#1 the fried fish and fries. He liked his meal. I got the fruit cup w/ my burger and DH got the fries. The burger was okay, it tasted like a frozen, pressed patty. The fruit cup was fresh and good. For dessert DS#1 and I got the frozen chocolate mousse and DH got the fruit cup. For a frozen dessert it was pretty good although not like a "real" mousse. DS#2 liked his burger and I can't recall what he had for dessert. All in all the food wasn't really memorable like I expect from Disney, but I also take into account this isn't a fancy place, it's an in and out as quickly as you can place, so you just go there to get something in your tummy.
"Pretty good except for the constant ABC ads"
Reviewed on Jun 10, 2009 by Ariel484
Rating: 7  
My husband and I ordered chicken sandwiches with fries and chocolate mousse…the food was good, but the environment was not. The never-ending loop of ABC ads playing on the televisions all around us was SO irritating. I’d go back, but I’d take my food to go.
"Relaxing"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 8  
It was nearly empty when we stopped for dinner. It was nice being able to spread out and relax for a bit. Not that impressed with the food.
"Pretty good"
Reviewed on Jul 10, 2008 by ewensell3
Rating: 8  
The burgers are standard fare. The Cuban is excellent.
"nice"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
really great place to get food quick. nice menu
"Not so good"
Reviewed on Feb 11, 2008 by Baylordad
Rating: 3  
Nothing fresh here. Burgers and pizza were cold.
"We liked the experience"
Reviewed on Dec 03, 2007 by Spaceship_Rob
Rating: 8  
This past August, our family ate at the ABC Comissary for dinner. We stopped there after a long, hot day in the parks and the AC provided a welcome relief from the heat.

The kids had burgers which they found to be large enough to satisfy their appetite and warm. They smothered their burgers in toppings from the large topping bar and were satisfied.

The adults ordered a variety of entrees. I had the Chicken Curry over rice and my wife had a Tabbouleah Wrap. I enjoyed the chicken , it was tender and the rice was just sticky enough to not fall off the fork. It was spiced a little on the mild side, but was tasty just the same. My wife enjoyed her meal, also.

Despite the negative reviews, our experience was positive.
"Awful"
Reviewed on Oct 09, 2007 by MissM
Rating: 1  
I've eaten there twice and both times it was inedible. Chicken nuggets were cold and undercooked, burgers burnt to a crisp, fries cold and stale. Everything we've ever gotten there was unfit for human consumption. Avoid like the plague. (Because you may get it if you eat there!)
"Enjoyable"
Reviewed on Jan 27, 2007 by Computer Magic
Rating: 7  
We always enjoyed this place.
"Not Recommended"
Reviewed on Oct 05, 2005 by GoofyMom2
Rating: Not rated  
While I know a lot of people have had great experiences here, we are not one of them. We ate dinner here one night in August. I thought the menu choices to be slim. When I ordered a sandwhich, I requested something be left off. The cashier looked at me and said "But that is how it comes.". I commented since they make them fresh, couldn't they omit something. It was a big hassel. When we did get our food, it was just not very good. I left most of it uneaten. The kids did seem to enjoy theirs, though. But it was not a hit with the aduls. There were also many dirty tables, and while the place was not very busy, it was hard to find a place to sit due to the mess. While the A/C was nice, I would not go here again. I hope we just got them on a bad night.
"Theme is excuse for ads"
Reviewed on Sep 19, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
My least liked restaurant at WDW. I would not eat here again. Granted, the last time I came was in '99, so the menu may have changed, but back then I detested my quesadilla club sandwich. It sounded like a good idea, but given how it actually tasted I can't imagine this item ever catching on anywhere. We took a peek inside the restaurant recently and noticed the theming hasn't changed since '99, and it was just as dreadful now as it was then, a boring cafeteria with a bunch of TV's blatantly (and loudly I might add) advertising ABC shows. Never have I been so irritated by a restaurant's theming.
"service not the best"
Reviewed on Jun 27, 2005 by hollyberries
Rating: Not rated  
we chose this counter service for our day at MGM thinking it would have lots of different choices, which it did not---
while the food was very tasty, the service left much to be desired. the lines were out of control and it seemed the staff was not sure at all of what they were doing in the production line way they were supposed to be running it---there was plenty of seating though, so that was good, because we had to wait a while for our entire party to get their meals and finish them!
"Eccch!"
Reviewed on May 22, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
I ate breakfast here once. The food was not as decent as what you would get at a Denny's and the portions were nothing to cheer about either (which is actually a kind of blessing in disguise if you think about it...). And everything costs about 1/3 more than what you would pay at Denny's. The constant din of commercials for ABC shows was annoying. Skip this. At least as far as breakfast is concerned.
"Great to snack"
Reviewed on May 07, 2003 by trendymagic
Rating: Not rated  
A decent place to eat a quick snack and one of the few places open for breakfast in MGM. Good for those on the run or tight budget.
"It's a commercial"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
This is a great restaurant if you want some air conditioning. The food good and not the standard hamburgers and hot dogs of other counter service resstaurants in the park. The atmosphere is ok, but the commercials for ABC show can get fairly annoying ("could you please turn off Drew Carry, I'm trying to eat"). Great spot for lunch.
"Nice Place....Nasty Food"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
The ABC Comissary, located in Disney-MGM Studios, just wasn't particularly impressive to me. I really didn't see much on the menu that appealed to me, and what I did end up eating I didn't finish because it was pretty nasty. The place is nice and clean, the service was great, but the menu needs to be completely redone. If there was more of a variety, it would be one of the best places to eat.
"Very Good Food."
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by Disney4648
Rating: Not rated  
This restaurant has great food. The prices for food are low and the service is great.
"Low cost with A/C"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by Byron1970
Rating: Not rated  
The Menu has changed a few times since I started going here but I never miss the lemon merangue pie. The price is right and it has plenty of A/C to cool you off.
"My favorite"
Reviewed on Aug 26, 2002 by wdwmagic
Rating: Not rated  
A superb coutner service location at the Studios. Features some great food in very pleasant surroundings. Look around the restaurant display cases for some great props from Home Improvment, and some very rare photos. While you eat, overhead monitors display upcoming shows on ABC.
ABC Commissary
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site