The Living Seas (Pavilion) reviews

World Showcase, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 9.2 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 9.2  
"Great Experience!"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 10  
We loved the Seas! We spent a good part of our day just watching the fish. We all loved seeing the dolphins and rays swim by. Not to mention the Nemo ride and Turtle Talk, plus our favorite restaraunt: Coral Reef.
"A classic attraction"
Reviewed on Jun 25, 2008 by GatorGambit
Rating: 9  
The Living Seas was a true Epcot original and a classic. The themeing and background music was impeccable. The queue area was full of interesting artifacts and a unique preshow that was projected on the walls around you. The pavilion's movie, "The Seas", featured beautiful cinematography, striking narration, and a superb sound system. The Hydralators were a key element of the attraction; as a kid, I thought I was actually being taken under water. The sea cabs were a nice ride, but the real star of the show was Seabase Alpha. It *felt* like an undersea station. The diving exhibitions, the interactive kiosks, the diving suit games, and more made this a place that you could easily spend an hour or more at.

I would have given it 10, but my one knock against the place is that at times it almost seemed like there was too much to experience there. But at the end of the day, it was a classic Epcot pavilion that offered an unparalleled edutainment experience.
"fun"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
great place to see aquatic life and tie education with fun
"Living Seas"
Reviewed on Feb 24, 2008 by MEEE
Rating: 8  
The elevator trip to Sea base Alpha was kind of fakey but the shows were ok. The sea cabs ride was the best; it was great to travel through the aquarium and see the view of all the fish and coral. The Seas with Nemo should have more of that. I'm not sure if I like the Nemo takeover or not, it brings more crowds in at least.
"Very good!!"
Reviewed on May 10, 2007 by KevGuy
Rating: 9  
Yea I agree after Sea World it is a little underwhelming lol. But we definately enjoyed it and all the Nemo stuff!! My kids had the best time with Crush for sure, this was one of their favorites and they are still talking about the interaction with Crush weeks later. A must do now in the future, and I am gonna do one of the underwater tours in the future as well.
"Yes, the cabs DO matter"
Reviewed on Mar 03, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
I visited this attraction last year and wondered where the cabs had gone because, yes, they were always the highlight. Once you have been to Seaworld or Discovery Cove, this seems a little underwhelming to be honest. Has lots of potential but more needs to be done...there\'s no WOW factor any more...
"who cares bout the Cabs!"
Reviewed on Oct 08, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
I don't get it. Half these reviews complain about the missing Sea Cabs and how they were the best thing about the pavilion. I mean, I miss them too, and it definitely played a part in building anticipation toward the climax of Sea Base Alpha, but it was only like a minute and a half long, and in-and-of-itself all it did was take you past the big fish tank which (once you exit the ride) you end up being able to stand in front of it for however long you wished anyway. How is observing the fish tank on a ride any better than observing the fish tank by standing in front of it? If anything, standing there is better, because you're able to take your time and watch, the same way you'd do it at the Maharajah trail at Animal Kingdom.

Needless to say, I enjoy this pavilion. It's more than a big fish tank, it's supposed to be the largest salt water tank in the world or something like that. Although it's a bit degenerated over the years, the sea life is still amazing, especially those giant turtles. Some of the other areas are in need of rehab or update, but I hear Turtle Talk is a nice edition - I hope it's at least somewhat educational.
"Lame"
Reviewed on Jul 01, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
Skip this, unless you have a lot of time on your hands and have ridden everything else several times. Basically, you stand in a long line, watch a movie about how the seas were formed, get in an elevator that's jazzed up to look like it's taking you under water, adn then you get to get out and walk through an aquarium. Booooring! They need to do something else with this exhibit.
"Awful!"
Reviewed on May 08, 2003 by mkymaus
Rating: Not rated  
Ever since they removed the Sea Cab's...I hate this attraction. Its terrible...you watch a movie, you get in the fake elevators and then that is it...I really enjoyed the Sea Cab's it added a little something to the exhibit. Going through the tube with the sharks swimming overhead...that was nice...now its just boring..Disney needs to do something with this now..cause its an injustice to the creatures living there.
"Fish, Manatees ,& water!"
Reviewed on Oct 28, 2002 by DMC-12
Rating: Not rated  
The Pre-show to this Pavilion is nice... you also have the option to skip the pre-show and jump right onto the hydrolators. What I miss is the small omni-mover ride portion that was closed off....now...when you get off the Hydrolators...everyone has to mush thru a narrow entrance...into the main area. The main area is wide open...I highly suggest watching the Diver Lock out chamber in action when they do a demo...that is really neat! Check out the Manatees as well....Mmmmm, Cow of the sea. Lots o' viewing areas for the main tank...so check it out!
"Feels Unfinished ... but Improved"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2002 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
I expected more from this attraction. It didn't WOW me and it should have, given the size of the aquarium and the talents of Disney's Imagineers. I missed the ride (apparently there once was one), because it may have added a needed spark to this pavilion. Also, a little more light would help in the main tank to better see how colorful everything (probably) is. Update: Finding Nemo has breathed new life into this attraction, and I have bumped my ratings up in accordance with this welcome development.
"Not too Bad"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
This pavillion isn't too bad, but has its problems. The movies at the begining arn't very interesting and the removal Caribbean Coarl Reef Ride in the Sea Cabs take out one of the pavillion's best parts. The exhibits are ok, but if you have a large zoo in your area, it's nothing special. I would recogmend seeing this if you have the time.
"Good with ride portion"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by WDW-Imagineer
Rating: Not rated  
The Living Seas is a nice attraction to visit when the ride portion is operating, because I feel that is what makes the attraction. Although it is in need of a rehab with some new ideas. Great for anybody interested in any type of water species.
"The Living Seas"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by Genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
The Living Seas is a nice part of Epcot, but could be better. Once you ride the moving vehicles theres not much to do, it can be boring. Some of it is interesting to see all the animals, but nothing else is that good. I suggest going once, riding the vehicle part which is currently closed, then checking the rest out and leaving. The Living Seas needs some extra rehab to fix things, and add some more to do in Sea-Base Alpha.
"NO BIG DEAL"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
HIGHLY OVERRATED,NOTHING THAT STANDS OUT.IF YOU LIKE TO WALK AROUND AND LOOK AT FISH YOU SHOULD ENJOY.EVERYTHING ELSE NEEDS TO BE REDONE.
"Serious Refurb Needed"
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
The Living Seas is one of those attractions you should do if you've done everything else and just feel like seeing it, but definitely isn't one you MUST see. I wasn't all that impressed with the creatures they have on display, and was less impressed by the removal of the SeaCabs ride seats. This pavillion needs a lot of work and could be so much better than it is now.
"Needs help"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by wdwcrazy
Rating: Not rated  
Since they've taken away the Sea Cabs portion of the Living Seas this pavillion has been in the dumps. You enter the hydrolators and head down the seabase alpha. There you just explore and looks at some fish. It's nothing more exciting than your run of the mill aquarium. I wouldn't waste much time here.
The Living Seas (Pavilion)
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site