Sorcery in the Sky reviews

Disney's Hollywood Studios
Reader rating Reader rating 9.5 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 9.5  
"Another fantastic Don Dorsey night show for Disney"
Reviewed on May 22, 2009 by ptaylor
Rating: 9  
Sorcery in the Sky was created by legendary nighttime show producer, Don Dorsey (who has also produced Reflections of Earth and Main Street Electrical Parade). Sorcery used low level foreground, and high level backgrounjd fireworks, very similar to Wishes that came years later at the Magic Kingdom. Other stand out features included a huge (50ft plus) inflatable Mickey Mouse that fired pyro from his finger at the finale of the show. It was a terrific show that unfortunately was discontinued with the nightly Fantasmic! offering.
"was awesome"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
was really great, and is missed. the music was awesome, as well as the display. def. youtube it
"Just Get Rid of It!!"
Reviewed on Mar 09, 2003 by MickeyMoose15
Rating: Not rated  
Why don't they just kid rid of this show? Why they still have it with Fantasmic! playing to packed shows night after night, I don't know.
"Holy Moly!"
Reviewed on Sep 13, 2002 by christopher
Rating: Not rated  
This show was fan friggin tastic. I wish it was still around. Some of the best fireworks that I have ever seen.
"Sorcerously Sensational!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by WeirdOne
Rating: Not rated  
I think Sorcery In The Sky is one very amazing show. The audio was just toe tapping fun and kept me going the whole show. The duration seemed a little long winded, but I still didn't think it was too long. I never really stayed for the preshow time, but the crowd control is HORRENDOUS! I never came more than 5 minutes before the show. I couldn't stand being in so many people and in such bad control. The storyline is pretty much non-existant, but this show really doesn't need it. The show is kindof kid-friendly, but not. The pyro keeps them going, but the music and some of the movies keep them at bay as they may not be too familiar with any of them (I know I didn't know like half!). I really enjoyed this show and I believe it is much better in MGM than Fantasmic! - The WeirdOne
"Hollywood Nights"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
This was a fun fireworks show, maybe techically better than Fantasy in the Sky at the Magic Kingdom, but pales in comparision to the newer Fantasmic. It would be nice to at least get the medly of movie songs back in the park somehow, even if it's just as exiting music for Fantasmic with the lights on the hat synchronized to the music. Fun fireworks and Sorcerer Mickey definatly gave it a pretty good finale.
"Bring it back!"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by wdwcrazy
Rating: Not rated  
This was an exellent fireworks show. I think it was better than Fantasy in the Sky at MK. Basically it was just fireworks shot off to the themes of many movies from past and present. Many of the fireworks were syncronized with the music for a great effect. This was a very good fireworks show, and I'm sad that it had to go. You can stil see it on New Years eve though.
"Very Good Show"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by MKCustodial
Rating: Not rated  
In a way, this was a better-themed firework show to the Studios than Fantasmic is, because its soundtrack is composed of movie themes. That's why I gave "Kid Friendly" an "Average", since some of the tunes may be strange or new to them. Other than that, it's really fun, and Sorcerer Mickey at the end just gives it an extra appeal. As far as I know, it's only around on special occasions, like New Year's Eve.
Sorcery in the Sky
Related News
 
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site