Monsters Inc Laugh Floor Comedy Club reviews

Tomorrowland, Magic Kingdom
Reader rating Reader rating 7.7 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 7.7  
"Cool"
Reviewed on Feb 23, 2011 by VDisneyFan18
Rating: 8  
I love going to the Laugh Floor with my family. Its is somtimes has bad jokes, but other times you can get a really good show. I reccomed this for kids.
"Surprisingly great"
Reviewed on Apr 12, 2009 by leafs fan
Rating: 8  
I was going to skip this one because I thought it sounded lame, but the line was relatively short (went the week of Easter with INSANE lines), so we thought we'd give it shot. It was a really nice surpise, I really enjoyed this and laughed quite a bit. Loved how they included the audience.
"Okay...But Not Great"
Reviewed on Feb 16, 2009 by 
Rating: 6  
Disney has lately been getting into the business of "Digital Puppetry", an art form which allows digitally animated characters to interact with aduience member via hidden cast members. It is an interesting and unique technique that occasionally works and occasionally doesn't. Monsters Inc. Laugh Floor Comedy Club is the latter. Replacing the hilarious and clever Timekeeper; MILF, for short, brings a new concept to Tomorrowland. A group of guests are invited to visit Monstropolis via a door and get the chance to join in on the monster's comedy act. The laughter the audience generates is going to be used to power the world the monsters live in. Audience members are picked at random and shown on a big screen while they interact with the monsters that are on the "stage". Most of the jokes rely on who is playing that character and how well they pull it off however you can text your own jokes to the cast members and hope they get chosen. I have personally watched the show several times and was not very impressed. Jokes that are funny the first time usually become very stale the next and at times the show lags on. One good thing I came out MILF with was an appreciation for the digital technique Imagineers use to bring these characters to life with and how well it is executed during the show. All that said, I recommend visiting the show at least once to enjoy it but it is not really worth any repeat visits. I also highly recomend to take your kids to see it if they enjoyed Monsters Inc. Overall it is not an awful attraction but it certainly is far from great.

1st visit- 7/10 stars
Repeat Visits- 4/10 stars
For Kids- 9/10 stars
Overall: 6/10 stars
"Waste of Time"
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2008 by Baron Hardup
Rating: 4  
My daughter actually fell asleep in this. Not worth the wait when you have so many other things to do.
"Funny Funny Ha Ha"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 10  
We were cracking up the entire show! It was very cool having Marty tell 2 of our jokes!
"Hilarious, interactive, whole family can enjoy."
Reviewed on May 27, 2008 by kayeon
Rating: 8  
It was hilarious. It was interactive between monsters and audience. We didn't know what it was all about until we were inside. Monsters should be careful though that some people don't like to be on the spot. You can enjoy once and have a great time but I wouldn't want to go twice.
"A Monstrously Good Time"
Reviewed on May 08, 2008 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 9  
This is the definition of a good-spirited show. It's punny and energetic and it changes every time - if only a little bit. However, if you get the jokes that you texted on a show, and then see it again but your jokes don't get in, you can't help but feel dissapointed.

The technology is troublesome, but it gets better each day as Disney/Pixar work out the kinks in this advanced presentation.
"Great addition to Magic Kingdom"
Reviewed on May 06, 2008 by emba33
Rating: 8  
I was able to check out this ride last week ... and it was a lot of fun. For the grandparents, they liked the cute pre-show (which will fill in those unfamiliar with Monsters Inc) on background for the show. It makes waiting for the show entertaining. The theatre is big, colorful and interactive.

It's family humour here, so not all of the jokes are "knee slappers".

Best of all ... the wait times are typically not bad for this ride ...

/\/\/\/\ Emba 33 /\/\/\/\
"Exceeds expectations"
Reviewed on Feb 17, 2008 by MEEE
Rating: 9  
The Laugh Floor was hilarious, the monsters were great and it actually was interactive. The monsters made fun of guests and had some pretty good comedic moments. Guests can actually text jokes to be used on the show. The place was packed but there wasn't a huge waiting time. The battle between Mike and Roz is probably the best part. The show was quite a bit better than I expected it to be.
"It was hilarious and amazing!"
Reviewed on Nov 20, 2007 by Judy in TX
Rating: 10  
I visited Disney World last week and visited The Laugh Floor three times. Each time it was more amazing than the last. Yes, the routines were similar, but each was different enough to let you know that somehow, someway, the cartoon characters on screen were actually interacting with the audience. If you enjoyed The Laugh Floor, then you will also like Turtle Talk with Crush in The Sea at Epcot. For those who didn't enjoy it, then you probably didn't enjoy the Disney Experience. Sad for you.
"A Monstrously Funny Show"
Reviewed on Oct 01, 2007 by GenerationX
Rating: 8  
As long as Disney continues to carefully screen potential monster comedians, this show will be funny. A couple of the funniest lines could not have been scripted, nor easily planned for. They came from the quick witted minds of the voice talent. I'm still not sure exactly how this show fits into Tomorrowland, but it is more entertaining than its predecessor, which was a good show.
"Other Reviewers Must Be Lacking A Funny Bone"
Reviewed on Aug 06, 2007 by makc
Rating: 9  
This show was hysterical. Many of the others who talked about this sounded like Grumpy; if you're Happy, you should like this show. I wish more of it was "live", but who knows, in a couple years that may happen. I hope so, anyway. But back to the current Comedy Club.
I also give it big kudos for being ORIGINAL. I don't think there's anything else like this on the planet. Admittedly, I'm bumping up the rating from a 9 because of this.
"Good!"
Reviewed on Jun 30, 2007 by starwood
Rating: 7  
The show was excllent, but after doing it 2 more tmes I noticed that the jokes were getting repetitve.
"Top 5"
Reviewed on Apr 02, 2007 by imagiwannabe
Rating: 9  
We had noticed the Monsters, Inc. Laugh Floor while spending our first day in the Magic Kingdom this past week, but passed it by for more "E-ticket"-type rides. Well, our last day at the parks found us in Tomorrowland with time to kill until our FastPass time for Space Mountain rolled around, and we immediately thought of the Monsters, Inc. attraction. We're fairly experienced Disneyphiles, and we noticed this was not on the park map, which left us wondering: Was this simply something we'd missed, an older show that was about to be phased out, or an inside joke by the Imagineers, or what? I didn't learn until I did some searching after we arrived home today that the official opening date for the Laugh Floor was not until April 2nd. Disney had decided to open the doors early starting March 30th, the very day we saw the show, which meant we were among the first park guests to experience the completed version. And I'll have to say I was thoroughly amazed and delighted. The Monsters, Inc. Laugh Floor is set up as a comedy-club style show with the digitally-animated stars of the show actually interacting with the audience in real time. I have worked in broadcasting and publishing for most of my adult life, and so I may have a better appreciation than most of the technology and creativity necessary to pull off this type of presentation, and I'm still amazed. Any Disney attraction should be judged on whether the Imagineers are able to achieve what they've intended, and this certainly does that and more. The review below that ranks this attraction with the adjacent Stitch's Great Escape is way off. The only things that happen on the Stitch thing is that he burps in your face and tickles you once in the dark. Comparisons with Turtle Talk with Crush at Epcot are valid, but even if there's no line for The Seas, it still takes at least a good half an hour to get inside and even reach yet another line for Crush. Sure, the ending to the Monsters, Inc. show may have left you wanting more, but isn't that pretty much the main idea of any presentation? The bottom line is, the Monsters, Inc. Laugh Floor was funny, the audience found it very entertaining, and the technology was cutting edge. My wife and I and our two 'tween daughters all ranked this attraction among our Top 5 for the week in all four parks, we all agree that this is a must see in Tomorrowland!
"A fun new show for the Magic Kingdom, that's always a bit diffrent!"
Reviewed on Mar 17, 2007 by EpcotServo
Rating: 9  
The Laugh Floor Comedy Club is a fun new show at the Magic Kingdom. It has a great waiting area, and theatre. Plus, the show is a bit diffrent every time! It's great that they made a Monsters Inc. ride without having to actully retell the story. It's got brand new monsters, and some very funny people working on the show. Each show is a bit diffrent, so some will be better than others, but I think it's a great idea, and it's always fun seeing a diffrent show every time.
"Waste of time"
Reviewed on Mar 17, 2007 by bgula
Rating: 2  
I have to agree with just about everything that jedimaster said about the show. I saw it on the 15th of March. According to a CM, no more changes to the show are due. For one thing, the wait to get in is too long. Queueing up twice is not a good way to start. I have to admit I did chuckle at some of the jokes for about half the show, but then the show went downhill when Mike's nephew came on. There was nothing funny here at all and even so the cannister was filled and the show ended -- what!? Ending on a down note is not good as it leaves an empty feeling - like why did I just waste my time with this and why would I watch this again? Turtle Talk has repeatability and is FUNNY. This show needs major changes quickly otherwise it's going to turn into another Stitch ride (i.e. now everyone (almost) knows it's lame). Sorry people, Tomorrowland needs something good to come along quickly - and this isn't it.
"It is an 8 out of 10 show"
Reviewed on Mar 17, 2007 by Nana birdie
Rating: 8  
We went to see it yesterday. It was very low-keyed. A cast member was standing at the door and we asked if they were doing the show. He said,"Yes, you will have about a 10 minute wait." I told my husband and 4 year old grandson I wanted to wait as I had heard all the negative stuff and wanted to check it out for myself.

First, you wait in line in the outer theater and the line zig zags so they can probably hold 100 to 120 people. After the first door opens you go down the slanted hallway (just like TimeKeeper) and wait before some more doors. There are TV monitors here and they say you can text in your jokes to the number on the screen. In the show when they used the jokes they told who had submitted them - this was on the video screen. When the door opens you go into the theater. If I remember correctly it is done in red with blue benches. Some of the benches have tables in front of them with lamps on them. It reminded me of a night club. I thought it was very nicely done. I think the lamps are there to give more lightning for the people they select to be on camera.If you want to be on camera or have Mike talk to you - you will need to be sure and sit near the middle of the aisle. The cast member with the mike in his hand never left the middle aisle. We were first in so of course we were on the end. My grandson was disappointed that he didn't get on camera. It reminded me of Crush - same principal. We really enjoyed the show. It was 10 to 12 minutes long. Yes, some of the jokes are corny but it was FUN!!! I think it will be a big hit for the Magic Kingdom just because people like to be involved and on the big screen. I'm glad I enjoyed it. I'm sure they will fine tune it and it will get better and better. I still miss TimeKeeper and wish it was still there but I know time marches on and my grandson definitely knew these characters where he wouldn't have a clue about Time Keeper.
"Needs a Little Work but Still a load of Fun"
Reviewed on Mar 16, 2007 by WEDisney
Rating: 7  
I was privy to a test showing of the new Laugh Floor Comedy Club show at Magic Kingdom. After reading most of the reviews I did not expect much. I was pleasantly surprised that I really enjoyed myself. The same technology that allows Crush, in turtle talk, to talk is at work here. The jokes, although corny and juvenile fit the show perfectly. The kids loved it and the crowds seem to laugh many times. I think the third act needs the most work. They asked for jokes from the audience before the show and it seems like the last comic really had a hard time getting people on his side. There was a lot of downtime in searching for people and jokes in this last act but the other two seemed pretty polished. I would have liked to see Sully or Boo somewhere during the show but I guess everyone has their own favorites. All in all I think the show will be a hit with children and people who have children with them. Every show will be unique in their own way since no one can predict what the audience participation will bring. This gives the show more ride-ability. The theater is a nice change with the benches and will be welcomed on those hot summer days. Other then it not really fitting into the motif of Tomorrowland I really don’t have anything else negative to say. If you haven’t seen it, then get there and see it, just don’t expect an “E” ticket attraction and I am sure you will enjoy yourself.
"A show worth seeing"
Reviewed on Mar 16, 2007 by disnyfan89
Rating: 9  
This is a show I was expecting not to like but I have to say it impressed me greatly! I was expecting everything to be half done but was very surprised to find out how full and rich this show is. It has great themeing and a great script. The only thing that can hurt this show is if you get an off cast member. Other than that I highly recommend this show.
"Cute..Fun Show!"
Reviewed on Mar 15, 2007 by maggiegrace1
Rating: 9  
We got to see this show when we went the first week of March..

I thought it was cute and funny..the audience participation was great and the jokes were corny and silly.

I like the way the theatre is set up and I think it will be a great hit with kids and adults alike..:)
"Fun Show.....still needs Technical bugs to be worked out"
Reviewed on Mar 15, 2007 by MR. DISNEY
Rating: 8  
Dateline: March 6th 2007

We were walking in Tomorrowland, and saw people going into The Laugh Floor Comedy Club. We ran over to get in.

Inside they have posters and TV screens. On the TV was a # for you to text message your name, where you are from, and a joke that they may use in the show. When you get inside you have a chair to sit in and it has AC! When the show started Mike Wascoski (sp?) came out welcomed everyone with some jokes they have Roz on a different screen, and 3 other characters that we don’t know. Between acts in the show they put a spot light on different people in the audience and a funny caption under them. ( My friend’s caption said “This guy is going to buy Curios for everyone after the show.”) They also have audience perception when the character doing his act asks questions with the help of a cast member with a mike. All in all they have a lot of different ways to interact with the audience.

On the technical side the last part of the show Mike’s mouth was moving, but we couldn’t hear what he said.

All together I thought the show was fun …..For kids. I would not pay a cover charge with a two drink minim, but it was fun
"A bad concept, a horrible execution..."
Reviewed on Feb 28, 2007 by jedimaster1227
Rating: 1  
The Laugh Floor Comedy Club, a new staple for the powering of Monstropolis. Well, if laughter is what powers the city, you might want to bring a candle, because there won't be any power coming from this club. The concept of the attraction- to create a comedy club using the monsters from the popular Pixar film (though only two of the original characters appear) that utilizes the Living Character technology found in Turtle Talk with Crush. The experience may sound like it will work but from the time you walk into the queue line, you feel like the Imagineers created a half-baked experience. The queue uses posters to "excite" the guests for the attraction, though the room's theming is minimal and does not match the look or feel of the show itself. Once the queue fills up and the timer hits about 604 (a clock themed like a controller for the door), the doors open so that you may enter the pre-show room. During my preview, the pre-show video was not shown so I cannot judge that, but my hope is that this video provides some explaination as to why they Monster's have opened a comedy club in Tomorrowland of all places. This room looks to be more Monster's related but still lacks in the feeling of true character that the Imagineers normally show in any other attraction's queue line. There are a few inside jokes within this room (including a wall titled, "What the Critics Say," in honor [or rememberance] of the extra time and poor reviews that the attraction recieved during its preliminary testing). Finally after another 15 minutes, we moved on to the theater and walked down towards the plastic looking rows of benchs that covered the showroom. Immediately ahead of you are two screens and a door (levetating so that it may be adjacent to the main [middle] screen). On the first screen on the left is Roz, the club's supervisor. On the main screen is a "stage" where the comedians perform. The door on the right is actually a screen where Mike (from the film) enters and exits through after each comedian's performance. To the right of the door is a laugh cannister, formerly a scream cannister. This is meant to gauge the audience's laughter but at the time filled up regardless of the fact that almost no one in the audience laughed at any of the jokes. For the show aspect of the experience, the monsters singled out different members of the audience to help them tell jokes, picking them out with a spotlight overhead. The comedians themselves were hardly funny or familiar with the characters, making it even harder to relate to the show. There were no in theater effects, nor were there any more senses tapped than our eyes or ears. The show's concept has always been lack and the execution proves this. The show is only worth seeing for the sake of being able to say that you did. After one visit, you won't be desperate to come back...

Dateline: October 1st, 2010- The Monster's Inc. Laugh Floor Comedy Club goes out of business....
Monsters Inc Laugh Floor Comedy Club
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site